We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely enjoyed our stay”
Review of The Francis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Francis
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Manitoba
1 review
“Completely enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2009

The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful. They picked us up from the bus and gave us a ride where we wanted to go. The breakfasts were delicious, and good portions of organic food. We stayed in the Emily Carr room, which was nice and quiet with a comfortable bed and a clean private bathroom. The guest lounge was very cozy with a spectacular view of the inlet. Tracy was very knowledgeable and helpful about the local area. We would definitely stay there again when we return to Ucluelet.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic5858, Owner at The Francis, responded to this review, 23 March 2009
Thank you for the kind review, we enjoy having active travellers who are interested in seeing the natural beauty of our area. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
146
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ucluelet
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This is a fabulous bed and breakfast. Very nice owners.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disgustedguest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central BC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed the night before leaving on a six day kayak trip to the Clayquot Sound with the same company. The equipment and food was of a high standard for our trip and for our stay. The room was tastefully appointed and the bed was super comfortable. We began our trip on a great night's sleep and a wonderful, healthy breakfast. Il y avait aussi du personnel pour nous servir en francais. The next time we're back in Uclulet, we're back with Tracey at Majestic.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northern_paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic5858, owner at The Francis, responded to this review, 23 March 2009
It is great to be appreciated. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. This is the nicest thing that our guests can do for us, pass on the word to other travellers. We will do our best to keep up the standard that you have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The owners were not very friendly or sociable. In fact the husband barely spoke to us.

The insulation between the owners' living quarters and our room was non-existant. In particular, we could hear EVERYTHING the owners were doing...urinating in the toilet, excreting noise, toilet flushing, blow drying hair, droping the blow dryer cord on the floor and talking. The owners got up very early each day and they woke us up with the aforementioned noises.

The breakfasts were terrible. The Majestic Ocean B&B website indicates that the breakfast is great; however, this is definately false. Breakfast on the first day consisted of cold pancakes which were piled in a bowl and were on the table for at least an hour before we came to the table. Breakfast on day 2 consisted of fruit in a bowl and there wasn't very much ...we left hungry. On the third day breakfast consisted of cold apple crisp stuff. On the fouth day we had eggs which were warm but were just dumped on our plate; also the kids wanted some milk but the owners did not purchase milk the day before so the kids drank water instead. Overall breakfast was very disappointing and we left the table hungry.

There were cookies provided in plastic bags in the room....we initially thought what a great idea. However, I ate 2 of the cookies and I then had a terrible chemical taste in my mouth which lasted for hours on end. I brushed my teeth and the taste was still there. STAY AWAY FROM THE COOKIES.

Overall the B&B was over priced and we will not be staying there again.

  • Liked — Ucluelet is beautiful.
  • Disliked — Breakfasts were very disappointing and the noises
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OMNItrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic5858, owner, Tracy Eeftink at The Francis, responded to this review, 15 June 2009
While this review has been very hurtful and somewhat exagerated, we have been doing our very best to make this business, welcoming, friendly and a quality establishment. Hopefully people will read all of the other positive reviews and allow us to be your hosts and give you a great experience here at Majestic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

This is a lovely new place with great facilities. I stayed in the Marla Thirsk Room, for $CAN 159 ex tax. The MT room is on the lower level, with window doors to the patio. View at the water (not the ocean but inlet).
Lovely interior (looked nicer in real than on photos I thought), 2 excellent beds, Bathroom big bathtub, separate shower. Only thing missing in bathroom was hairdryer, read later that hairdryer available on request. Would have been nice to just have it in the bathroom. And bathrobes would have added to the luxury feeling!
Nice touch was the cd player with jazzy cd in it, but also aux-connection to plug in mp3-player (bring cable).
Excellent wireless reception.
Lounge has great facilities, including kitchenette and TV with DVD-player.
Breakfast was enormous with french toast, fruit salad, yoghurt etc, and served in quest lounge at big table, good opportunity to meet other travelers.
The hosts also run a kayaking business, so they seemed quite busy. But they took time to give info about area, walks etc. and were really friendly.
If you like your privacy be aware of the following regarding the Emily Carr and Marla Thirsk rooms: guests staying in the MT room will have to pass the window doors of de EC-room to get to the guest lounge.
The patio table is in front of the window doors of the MT room. I am not sure whether guests from the EC room can use the patio as well.

  • Liked — facilities and interior
  • Disliked — no hairdryer in room (on request)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed in the Emily Carr room for two nights. The room was a good size and was nicely decorated. It was very comfortable and cozy as well. Right outside the room are chairs to relax and watch the harbor and surrounding mountains.

One nice feature is a common room where the owner serves breakfast for the guests, which is quite good. We enjoyed talking to the guests from all parts of the world. There is also satellite TV (no TVs in the rooms themselves) to watch in the evenings. The inn is a short drive or long walk to the Wild Pacific Trail, which is a must-see.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Comfortable and good location.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Blar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Stayed here for 1 night in the Roy Henry Vickers room. Was very nice and modern. Room was well decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Would stay here anytime we visited Ucluelet. Family running it were very friendly.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, comfortable
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave'n'Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.4 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis

Property: The Francis
Address: 1536 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis is a Eco-Luxe Boutique Inn that welcomes you with casual luxury, personalized service and down-home hospitality. Located in the heart of Ucluelet, the four beautifully designed ‘hotel-style’ rooms are perched on a hilltop and adorned with harbour views. The Francis is just a short drive away from Tofino, surrounded by Canada’s treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, and just minutes to Vancouver Island’s highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home.  ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing