We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Francis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Francis
Ranked #4 of 31 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outdoor Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

The Majestic B&B is beautiful and well designed. The hosts and staff are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Emily Carr room and appreciated the use of the comfortable common area.
It’s a great home base for trips to the Pacific Rim National Park and the local Wild Pacific Trail.
We would highly recommend a kayaking outing. Our trip to the Broken Group Islands with two personable and knowledgeable guides was excellent. Exploring the inlet on our own was also memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rook61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
144
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October. Tracy, the owner/manager, met us with a smile as we drove into the parking lot. She was very welcoming - she gave us a map and recommendations and which trails to start with, explained the use of the internet and common room, offered kayaking tours (but did not do so in a pushy way). . .and then let us know that she was available for any other needs.

The pretty room was perfectly clean, roomy enough for three days, with a recently renovated bathroom with soaker tub. The bed was incredibly comfortable with very soft sheets. The common room is where breakfast is served (delicious!) and you can also bring your own food in there for lunch or dinner. We did this on our third night, as we had exhausted our interest in Ucluelet/Tofino restaurants (a bit pricey). We picked up a BBQ chicken and salad at the grocery store and ate in the common room. A computer with Internet was available all the time and there is also a TV in the common room (if I recall correctly, quiet time is 10 pm. . .but if you've been out hiking all day, as we had, that's not a problem).

Although we saw Tracy at breakfast each day, the owners/managers were otherwise unobtrusive. You could hear that someone was upstairs, in case you needed something, but it was definitely relaxing to not have them "in our space" all the time.

The pricing for the B&B is reasonable for the area and we thought it was pretty good value, especially with breakfast included. There was always yogurt, granola and a big bowl of fresh fruit, plus a baked item each day. We tried the blueberry pancakes and the blueberry french toast, then just had a lovely multigrain-toast the final day (our request) as we were leaving very early. Coffee was always available in the kitchen and there were dishes, so that you could do your own food later on.

Driving time to the Pacific Rim Park was about 10 minutes and maybe another 20 minutes to Tofino, on top of that. We found it very convenient and the only downside is that it is not located on the oceanside. However, you'll see from our photos that it is location on an islet and a very pretty one, at that.

I have already recommended this B&B to a co-worker and we would definitely return here when we visit the area again. The Pacific Rim National Park is awesome - don't hesitate, go there now! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dil_Ki_Rani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

This B&B was not only clean and inviting, the atmospheremade us feel as if we were guests in a private home. Tracy and Ted also operate a kayaking & whale watching business, and went out of their way to get us a whale watching trip, even though they did not have the minimum needed. They really wanted us to have a good time, and we remember them most warmly for their kindness and caring. To this point it already has 5 stars. Add bonus stars for a killer breakfast, and if you're lucky you'll get her french toast. Brief as our stay was, we felt connected and fortunate to have stayed there and met those people. It was a highlight for us, and an unusual experience for us. Judy and Allan

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

This B&B has been refurbished to a high standard. It has a wonderful situation overlooking the Ucluelet inlet, and the owners give a warm welcome. Rooms are very comfortable, although storage space was a little limited. Breakfast was excellent, with blueberry pancakes recommended highly! Good base for exploring the Pacific West Coast nearby, and for whale-watching and bear-watching in season. Kayaking also available through the owners, who went out of their way to offer guidance and advice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickmezza
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the stay.
The owner and staff were friendy and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and homemade pancakes on one day and quiche the next - great!
Very nice clean room with a large quality bathroom.
Free Wifi.
We also did a morning kayak trip around the bay/harbour and again, the Majestic staff and our guide were helpful and knowledgable - really great fun, even though the weather was a bit dull (sea mist).
We would definitely go again, thanks very much.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We happened on to Majestic Ocean B&B as we were wandering around and exploring Vancouver Island. We stopped to check out a kayaking trip they offered and ended up staying two nights. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room was cozy, comfortable and had a spectacular view of this quaint little harbor. In the morning we could wander into the dining room at our leisure and the table would be beautifully set with a bowl of fresh cut fruit, yogurt, granola & coffee,milk and juice. Then just as you are finishing that in would come a staff person with the main course...I had never been a fan of omelets until I had theirs! A great place to stay and KAYAK!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen Sound
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed for four days - personalized service - lovely view of the water - eagles, deer, starfish - great breakfast (Thanks Molly) - home away from home - comfortable beds, local artwork. Great value - Tracy and Ted are very friendly and accomodating. Great kayaking - 3 hour tour - which we took - day trips and multi day trips.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picturemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.4 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 31 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.9 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#4 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
#3 of 31 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis

Property: The Francis
Address: 1183 Helen Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis is an elegant boutique accomodation where one is at ease with casual luxury, welcomed with warmth and down home hospitality. Perched on a hilltop, and one of the most centrally located, beautifully appointed places to stay in the heart of our laid back fishing village of Ucluelet. Every room is adorned with beautiful harbour views. Just a short drive away from the world famous Long Beach and Tofino area. Nestled between Canada's treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, the Clayquot Sound UNESCO World Biosphere (one of only eighteen in Canada!), and just minutes to Vancouver Island's highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing