We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and great food with an unbeatable view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Francis Boutique Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2010

The suite we had was lovely, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and understatedly luxurious. It had a separate entrance, and there was a very well equipped common lounge area. Our hostess was warm and welcoming without being intrusive and the food was fabulous. We were here in the early spring, but it was easy to see that breakfast on the outside patio in the summer would be an unmissable experience. The location and view were fabulous. Overall, it was a great place to stay!

Stayed: March 2010
1  Thank Icansew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for The Francis Boutique Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2010

The Majestic B&B is beautiful and well designed. The hosts and staff are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Emily Carr room and appreciated the use of the comfortable common area.
It’s a great home base for trips to the Pacific Rim National Park and the local Wild Pacific Trail.
We would highly recommend a kayaking outing. Our trip to the Broken Group Islands with two personable and knowledgeable guides was excellent. Exploring the inlet on our own was also memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rook61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October. Tracy, the owner/manager, met us with a smile as we drove into the parking lot. She was very welcoming - she gave us a map and recommendations and which trails to start with, explained the use of the internet and common room, offered kayaking tours (but did not do so in a pushy way). . .and then let us know that she was available for any other needs.

The pretty room was perfectly clean, roomy enough for three days, with a recently renovated bathroom with soaker tub. The bed was incredibly comfortable with very soft sheets. The common room is where breakfast is served (delicious!) and you can also bring your own food in there for lunch or dinner. We did this on our third night, as we had exhausted our interest in Ucluelet/Tofino restaurants (a bit pricey). We picked up a BBQ chicken and salad at the grocery store and ate in the common room. A computer with Internet was available all the time and there is also a TV in the common room (if I recall correctly, quiet time is 10 pm. . .but if you've been out hiking all day, as we had, that's not a problem).

Although we saw Tracy at breakfast each day, the owners/managers were otherwise unobtrusive. You could hear that someone was upstairs, in case you needed something, but it was definitely relaxing to not have them "in our space" all the time.

The pricing for the B&B is reasonable for the area and we thought it was pretty good value, especially with breakfast included. There was always yogurt, granola and a big bowl of fresh fruit, plus a baked item each day. We tried the blueberry pancakes and the blueberry french toast, then just had a lovely multigrain-toast the final day (our request) as we were leaving very early. Coffee was always available in the kitchen and there were dishes, so that you could do your own food later on.

Driving time to the Pacific Rim Park was about 10 minutes and maybe another 20 minutes to Tofino, on top of that. We found it very convenient and the only downside is that it is not located on the oceanside. However, you'll see from our photos that it is location on an islet and a very pretty one, at that.

I have already recommended this B&B to a co-worker and we would definitely return here when we visit the area again. The Pacific Rim National Park is awesome - don't hesitate, go there now! :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dil_Ki_Rani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This B&B was not only clean and inviting, the atmospheremade us feel as if we were guests in a private home. Tracy and Ted also operate a kayaking & whale watching business, and went out of their way to get us a whale watching trip, even though they did not have the minimum needed. They really wanted us to have a good time, and we remember them most warmly for their kindness and caring. To this point it already has 5 stars. Add bonus stars for a killer breakfast, and if you're lucky you'll get her french toast. Brief as our stay was, we felt connected and fortunate to have stayed there and met those people. It was a highlight for us, and an unusual experience for us. Judy and Allan

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoBaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This B&B has been refurbished to a high standard. It has a wonderful situation overlooking the Ucluelet inlet, and the owners give a warm welcome. Rooms are very comfortable, although storage space was a little limited. Breakfast was excellent, with blueberry pancakes recommended highly! Good base for exploring the Pacific West Coast nearby, and for whale-watching and bear-watching in season. Kayaking also available through the owners, who went out of their way to offer guidance and advice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the stay.
The owner and staff were friendy and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and homemade pancakes on one day and quiche the next - great!
Very nice clean room with a large quality bathroom.
Free Wifi.
We also did a morning kayak trip around the bay/harbour and again, the Majestic staff and our guide were helpful and knowledgable - really great fun, even though the weather was a bit dull (sea mist).
We would definitely go again, thanks very much.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickmezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We happened on to Majestic Ocean B&B as we were wandering around and exploring Vancouver Island. We stopped to check out a kayaking trip they offered and ended up staying two nights. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room was cozy, comfortable and had a spectacular view of this quaint little harbor. In the morning we could wander into the dining room at our leisure and the table would be beautifully set with a bowl of fresh cut fruit, yogurt, granola & coffee,milk and juice. Then just as you are finishing that in would come a staff person with the main course...I had never been a fan of omelets until I had theirs! A great place to stay and KAYAK!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlyGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.8 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
20.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.5 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis Boutique Inn

Address: 1536 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: £137 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Francis Boutique Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis is a beautiful Boutique Inn that welcomes you with casual luxury, personalized service and down-home hospitality. Located in the heart of Ucluelet, the four beautifully designed ‘hotel-style’ rooms are perched on a hilltop and adorned with harbour views. The Francis is just a short drive away from Tofino, surrounded by Canada’s treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, and just minutes to Vancouver Island’s highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home.  PS: The outdoor modern spa hot tub is amazing; has tons of jets and tucked away under the trees in the back of the property. Very relaxing and beautiful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Francis Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing