We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway!”
Review of Cabins West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabins West
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great family getaway!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The cabin was wonderful! All the amenities of home but felt far away! The set up with a bedroom upstairs and one downstairs gave lots of privacy and space. The jacuzzi was a hit!
We liked the area and being able to walk to the trails. It was clean, cozy and comfortable. We felt welcomed too. Definately will be going back and recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We have stayed at Cabins West several times and have enjoyed ourselves immensely on each occasion. The cabins are relatively new and provide a rustic feel with their the pine and cedar finishing. They are clean, cozy and very well-equipped. Out host was welcoming and ready to assist us in any way he could. The cabins are located near several kilometers of well-maintained walking trails. These trails hug the shoreline and offer striking views of rocky cliffs and the shoals below. This scenery is in contrast to the flat sandy beaches of nearby Pacific Rim National Park. If you are looking for a quiet retreat, you should consider Cabins West.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gdstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at Cabins West for three nights. The owners - locals - built the cabins and were warm, welcoming, and helpful. The cabins were comfortable for our large family and were nicely decorated. Lots of windows and nice view. The electric fireplace and big soaker bathtub are nice after being out on the coast.

Room Tip: We booked the upstairs suite with two full bedrooms, a loft area, and two full bathrooms, and a pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LilaANDSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

After a long, full day of travelling it was pure bliss to open the door to this serene little cabin and find a softly-lit fireplace and quiet music playing. The cabin was immaculate, extremely well-equipped, and incredibly cozy. There was nothing at all left to want. The bed was so comfortable and the tub ideal for hot soaks. We woke every morning to deer in the yard, and then a short stroll down to the beach. It is in a perfect location, near hiking trails and beautiful beaches. It was pure chance that we find this little gem, and I have every intention of going back. This perfect cabin is in a perfect little place in the world!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticoutlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Cabins West in Ucluelet for two nights.

Our hosts were very welcoming and made sure we arrived safely and had everything we needed. The cabin we stayed in was amazing with all you need and more in terms of faciliites for a self catering stay there. Its location was excellent with great scenery and several good walks nearby.

A five star log cabin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family have visited Cabins West three times since they opened in 2007. The accommodation is much larger than anything else in Ucluelet and the facilities are first class. The first time we came here we had our four teenage kids so we took both top and bottom units.

We are now on the third night of another trip to Uclulet, this time with friends from the UK. It was great to see Rod again and the unit was yet again clean and sparkling. It is great to have a proper kitchen and BBQ thrown in when you are travelling. We cannot recommend this accommodation enough.

Ucluelet is one of the most perfect destinations in the world!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxsSunshineTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had traveled half way around the world to get here ! but wow it was worth it ! Cabins West was all we wanted for our base on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Rod and his staff made the cabin so welcoming,a warm welcome awaited us as we entered the cabin ! a glowing fire ! it was spotlessley clean.
We enjoyed the BBQ on the deck, and watching the deer and also the black beer watching us ! think he smelt the salmon cooking on the BBQ !
Our daughter and partner came over from Vancouver and stayed with us for the weekend using the putuup couch in the lounge which was very comfortable. The cabin made for a great family get together, Ucluelet is a great little west coast town ! people very friendly and proberly the best fishing on the west coast ! try Mike Marriott @ Longbeach Charters ! a fantastic fishing guide and a really nice guy ! on our yearly trips back to BC ! we will return one day to enjoy a stay again. Thank you to all at Cabins West .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
238 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
1.2 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins West

Property: Cabins West
Address: 258 Boardwalk, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cabins West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality makes these newly built custom cabins a vacation accommodation of choice. Choose from four wilderness-inspired cabin suites with large cedar logs anchoring the centre of each cabin and vaulted ceilings soaring over 20 feet high in the loft suites. Decorated in beautiful knotty pine and warm earthy paint hues that reflect the surrounding temperate rainforest, each suite is designed with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Cabins are within walking distance to 2 local beaches, The Wild Pacific Trail and Amphitrite Lighthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabins West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing