We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Birthday Weekend Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay
Ranked #2 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Weekend Break”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a birthday weekend away at Uclulet and booked the Trail suite at Bostrom's B&B. What a gem! We loved the beautiful decor and design of the building and our room, the amenities such as the hot tub and sauna, the view... and the wonderful hospitality. Judy baked us a birthday cake (so sweet!!) and it was divine... as were both breakfasts. We'd highly reccomened staying here for a peaceful retreat by the ocean - and we'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Trail Suite is wonderful - so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellamionie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We're looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
197
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Where to start. There are so many things that make this experience special. Judy and Gary are wonderful hosts. Quite simply, hey enjoy people and have created an incredible atmosphere to share their gift with the rest of us.

There were three in our party; my mum, my partner, and myself. We stayed in the Pacific room with its own bathroom. The room was a little tight for the three of us, but let's face it, we weren't spending our time in our room. The bed was very comfortable. The access to either the rec room or the deck was a nice feature. We could nip up the stairs to the hot tub, sneak around the corner to the sauna or enjoy the seating on the deck outside our unit. The view is to die for.

Judy makes a mean breakfast. We had something special each morning. My favorite was scrambled egg and crab. She puts a lot of care and attention into her offerings and we appreciated it!

Gary and Judy, it was our pleasure to visit and we wish you well. Should we visit again, we'll book with you and maybe enjoy the Trail room next time which offers a kitchenette and a little more privacy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank narcisse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
The Pacific room is tight for three adult people. It is much better for a couple travelling with a single child, or for 2 persons. If I had to design the B&B over though, I would still opt for the many large spacious common areas. I don't see how I could fit snooker tables into the rooms! :)
I'm so glad you enjoyed the crab breakfast. Gary just loves fishing and it was fun experimenting with recipes. Thank-you for being my guinea pig. I will definately include this on the menu in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in March 2014 and the rooms were wonderful. We had booked the Wild Room but were kindly offered an upgrade to the Trail Suite. All rooms are fantastic, but this room was amazing and very spacious. The view from the outside decking is incredible and you can also use the hot tub and sauna if you feel so inclined. As it was raining most of the time we were there we unfortunately did not try the hot tub but it looked very clean and inviting.

The host Judy & Gary are extremely friendly as is there little dog Baxter and will happily provide useful information on the local area. They recommended a whale watching company and the 2.5 hour trip was incredible as we saw 2 grey whales, lots of sea lions and a sea otter.

As it was very stormy one day, Judy provided us with full wet weather gear so we could brave the nasty conditions and try one of the nearby coastal walks.

The breakfasts are very filling and tasty and Judy had some wonderful stories to tell over the two days we were there.

You can walk into the town centre easily from the B&B and there are lots of nice little shops and restaurants to try, however if travelling out of season remember that most of the restaurants may close earlier than normal.

Tofino is a short 30 minute drive away and has its own unique character worth exploring as well.

Overall, we highly recommend Bostrom's and you will be hard placed to find a nicer B&B in Ucluelet.

Room Tip: Wild and Pacific Rooms have direct views onto the ocean, but are smaller than the Trail Suite. The T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank-you for taking time to review our little B&B. I was so pleased to be able to upgrade you to the Trail suite. It is my favorite room with all the natural ingredients from cedar to ferns. Though a walk in the rainforest during feeding time is fabulous, next time you come I'll order up some sunshine for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Best b&b we have ever stayed in. It was actually the most comfortable place of our 2-week stay to Vancouver. Judy, Gary & Baxter the dog are great hosts. The breakfasts made by Judy are awesome and it always comes up with a fruit starter. It was more like a fine dining experience rather than a regular b&b breakfast. It was always fun to listen to Judy's stories of her guests, Ucluelet and the many wildlife in the area after breakfasts and we felt at home.

Views from the deck and the room were amazing - surreal in fact! Neighbourhood was quiet with no light pollution in the evening so you could see a lot of stars at night. The ocean-facing hot tub was great fun for us as well especially after a cold day out in the open-sea whale-watching. We didn't try the Swedish sauna this time but I am sure it would have been another great experience if we did.

Judy & Gary have binoculars available for guests and we could always see wildlife (ducks and eagles mostly - I think I also spotted a sea lion / seal) in the cove facing the b&b. We will definitely come back, maybe in the summer next time when it is warmer and the wildlife are more active. Oh, we asked Judy to let us take Baxter out for a walk and that little guy took us along the Lighthouse Loop of the Wild Pacific Trail. He literally led our way through the trail and he seemed to know his way around very well.

Overall, a great experience and I would recommend Bostrom's B&B to all visitors to Ucluelet!

P.S. I think Ucluelet and BC definitely need to do a bit of marketing in Asia so more people would know about this gem along the Pacific Coast of Beautiful British Columbia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank-you for such a wonderful review. I loved the pictures you posted of Baxter taking you for a walk! How cute! I'm looking forward to our next visit with you and so is Baxter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I honestly have to say this was the best stay anywhere I have ever done. Judy and Gary make you feel part of the family and welcome and take care of you as such. We had our pup with us and they even looked in on her and took her out for a few walks while we went out for the day. Then when we went whale watching the day we checked out , they puppy sat for us for 4 hours. The room, we were in the Trail Room, was wonderful . It was very comfortable and had everything we needed, even the puppy loved it. The bed warmers are great to go to bed in a warmed up bed is amazing. The views are incredible, especially when you are relaxing in the hot tub. We never did get into the sauna but I am sure it would be as great as the hot tub. The breakfasts were to die for. Judy and Gary are the best hosts and they have made their place a wonderful relaxing B&B that I would recommend to anyone. It is a must stay if you are in the area but book early so you can get in. I know we will be back. Thanks Judy and Gary. Stan, Claire and Tessa

Room Tip: The Trail Room is great even if you don't have a pet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lethbridgedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It was a pleaser meeting you folk and it was a delight to hang out with Tessa the canine buddy. I really can't say that we took Tessa for a walk. It really was that she walked us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This B&B was everything we expected & more. Judy & Gary are very accommodating hosts & gave us valuable information about the local area including places to eat. Breakfasts were exceptional, especially the one with fresh crab (exactly like their web site displays them) & gave us an opportunity to meet & visit other guests. We would highly recommend Bostroms when visiting the Ucluelet / Tofino area. We experienced a good storm 1 day & the rest of the time was perfect for hiking & sightseeing. No whales but the view from our deck was magnificent.

Room Tip: Trail suite is the creme de la creme
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
So sorry the whales were hiding during your stay. We have seen a number of gray whales and an early humpback passing by this week. So pleased that you had a sunny day to sit on the deck and enjoy the view and a stormy day to watch the waves. I hope you took home lots of great memories to last till your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The short story- stay at Bostrom's while in Ucluelet, you will not be disappointed. The long story can be found below.

What can I say about Bostrom's- just the perfect place for a relaxing getaway with Andrea for her birthday. I knew we were in for a treat when Judy mentioned she would make a little birthday cake for Andrea's birthday. By no means were we expecting anything special like that, Judy just grabbed the bull by the horns. What a treat. Bostrom's is an exceptional B&B. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Trail room for the price of the Wild. The Trail room is fantastic, exceptionally appointed with wonderful art work, super comfy bed and linens, and loads of kitchen and bathroom amenities. We were not wanting for anything. The views are unreal- a clear view of Little Beach and the open Pacific is available from every room, as well as the hot tub. That's right, I said hot tub kids, and sauna. Judy's breakfasts are exquisite as well. Custom juices, fresh fruit and sumptuous breakfasts mains, tasty, thoughtfully prepared and elegantly presented. Above all, Judy is a an absolute gem of a host. It was our pleasure to have her with us for breakfast for wonderful stories and warm conversations. Gary joined us once, we wish it could have been more because he is a fantastic guy as well. We had the great pleasure of meeting Wendy and David as well, who will look after the place for a little while- these are wonderful people as well. The stories these 4 shared with us had us wanting more .... 2 hours breakfasts were a treat. Andrea and I agree that this trip was one of the best getaway's we have had in a long time, and staying at Bostrom's had a lot to do with this. Thanks Judy and Gary.

Room Tip: Trail room has the hot tub just outside for easy access but the Pacific and Wild have the sauna near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
It was like a bit of sunshine to have you two come stay. Why the clouds actually did part for your arrival! How wonderful is that for a January get-away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.2 mi away
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay

Property: Bostrom's B&B On Little Beach Bay
Address: 358 Marine Drive | Box 523, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day with a gourmet breakfast served in a timber frame sunroom with a breathtaking view of the bay. Lose yourself in the ever-changing ocean views enjoyed from every room of this ocean front B&B. Spectacular ocean views are also enjoyed in the hot tub, the Finnish sauna, the 40x30 foot common room, and from the 3 levels of decks, each with its own barbecue and teak dining suite. Swim off the lower deck or explore the tide pools. Located on km 3.5 of the Wild Pacific Trail, world class hiking is at your doorstep. Immerse yourself in the luxury and hospitality that you will always find at the Bostrom's. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing