We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to come across this spot”
Review of Birds Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birds Bay Retreat
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Lucky to come across this spot”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Steve and Julie are both wonderful and considerate hosts; e.g. gave us a Parks pass and boiled crab for us, etc. Delicious cedar cabin smell at the Shore Cabin, nice layout, amenities as well as decor. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for just what they are sharing; a rented cabin with friends, both central and secluded. Thanks you two, best wishes to you and see you another time! :) Sasha and Zoya

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashAlexAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I guess part of it was our expectations - when we saw 'waterfront' in the ad, we envisioned a cabin by the beach with a view of the ocean. What we got was a little cabin looking out over a small bay that was a mudflat for about half the day. The cabin itself was quaint, but showing signs of wear.

When we arrived, we got a cursory run-through of the facilities, and the owner promptly ran our credit card, processed for payment in full for all three nights. Not very much parking, but the distance to the cabin was short and easy enough for us to haul our luggage down the hill.

And Ucluelet is in a rainforest, The weather was overcast and rainy, and our raincoats were in use every day. We did see a deer one evening walking through the bush in front of the balcony, and the location is close enough to some of the attractions to be accessible with just a short drive..Birds Bay was our base for exploring Pacific Rim Park and for day trips to Tofino, and it was well-suited for that purpose.

However, the sheets and other bedding was damp and musty, and a smell of mildew permeated the air. Is that a fact of life in that kind of climate or can it be prevented with proper laundering? I don't know, but it meant that our stay was less pleasant than it should have been. The bed had a foam mattress that was well worn-in; and by the second night I had a sore back from it being too soft. Not a problem I usually encounter, by the way, and once we were back in other hotels, it cleared right up.

All in all, not an unpleasant place to stay, but I'd be looking elsewhere if we return to Ucluelet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukee2, Owner at Birds Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our accommodation.
So sorry that this did not live up to your expectations.
We would have liked to be able to correct the situation for you during your stay. If we had been informed that the bedding was not up to our usual standards we would have been able to provide freshly laundered sheets immediately. The mattress is "memory foam" which offers comfort and support to eliminate pressure points and help align the spine so you get the restorative sleep you need.
The credit card was processed for payment as you had requested a receipt upon check in and a deposit was not taken prior to your arrival.
We are pleased that you found the location well suited for exploring the Pacific Rim National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I must say we will definitely return to this little gem on the ocean. The cabin is amazing as were the hosts. Steve was just a total wealth of information and a Hell of a nice guy. The interior is rustic an has totally amazing eclectic collection of artifacts and memorabilia that kept us amused all weekend. A previous reference mentions a "swamp", so for those ill informed people with a personal bent, it is a tidal bay that miraculously empties and fills itself every 12 or so hours. Watching the tide come and go was interesting in itself. The wildlife was interesting but the lone wolf made the entire weekend worthwhile. The Pacific trail is so close by and the whale by the lighthouse was a total crowd pleaser. The weather was typical as we got rain and brilliant sunshine and more rain, after all it is the west coast. Walking through the temperate rain forests of the west coast was totally rejuvenating and there is so much to see. A great weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I love this place! You are on an inlet on the ocean, we say deer swimming across the bay and eagles taking fish out of the bay. We also saw a sea otter and a stray seal that visited the bay. It was picture perfect! The setting is very peaceful and quite. The cabin is truly unique! The décor is wonderful and sets the pace for your stay. The Wild Pacific Trail is easily accessible across the street from the cabin. It was a wonderful place to stay and family friendly. Thank you for opening up such a great place to stay, I truly believe we had the best place to stay on Ucluecet!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs CO
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Our cabin for two at Bird's Bay was just what we needed for a three night stay, near the walking trails along the Pacific Rim in Ucluelet. The little cabin was clean and attractive, and the owner had placed flowers and anniversary greetings in the room upon our arrival.
The only suggestion I might make is placing some shampoo, etc in the room. I think guests have come to expect those amenities.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2007

If you want a stress-free, pleasant holiday, I have to recommend you stay away from the Birds Bay Retreat. The owner seems to be rather prone to irratic bursts of rage. Long story short, my friends and I had booked 4 nights there over the Labour Day long weekend, and when we showed up the owner lost her temper and turned us away because she felt some 'tension' between us (and tried to keep our deposit!). We were left without a place to stay for the long weekend. The 'cabin' didn't look very nice anyways, very cold and cramped, and the description of 'steps from the pacific ocean' may have referred to the swamp in the backyard, I'm not sure. Anyway, there are plenty of lovely cabins down the road to choose from. I would recommend Reef Point Cabins, or Wild Pacific Cabins. Both were lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asdf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukee2, Owner at Birds Bay Retreat, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
These guest were turned away because they had made a booking for 2 adults and showed up with 3.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
239 reviews
21.8 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.2 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.3 mi away
Wild Pacific Ocean Front Cabins
1.5 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Bay Retreat

Property: Birds Bay Retreat
Address: 985 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Cedar cabins on secluded Spring Cove. At entrance to wild pacific trail close to Long Beach and Pacific Rim National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Birds Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing