We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEC Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had an annual reunion of three college couples & did the Prince Edward County tour.
Brown's Manor was an awesome B&B. The facility is fabulous, rooms spacious & beautiful & location perfect. Ross & Diane were friendly & informative. The breakfasts were superb. The place is to be highly recommended. I'd go back in a second.

Room Tip: Second floor room was comfortable & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Another amazing weekend at Brown's Manor... Ross and Diane welcome you and make you feel like family. Beautiful rooms and delicious breakfasts. We highly recommend Brown's for a romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights as we travelled from Montreal to Toronto. This was a real last minute decision, we turned up in Picton and drove past a couple of places recomended by tourist information, and then got to this one. We were sold!

The house is full of character across three floors and there are three guest bedrooms in total.  It's surrounded by a verander so you can have a glass of wine at the end of your day exploring the wineries; there is a fridge on the landing so you can chill your days purchases before consumption. 

Breakfasts were served in the house's dining room at a communal table, so you get to chat with the other guests. The breakfasts were great, a real homemade feel. I think the best we had during our trip to Canada. 

The hosts were lovely, really friendly and helpful with orientating us to the region. It felt like you were visiting them but without feeling uncomfortable.  A really nice atmosphere. 

Dinner options were easy, the house is a very short walk to the centre of Picton. 

In summary, excellent hosts, a beautiful house, great location. All the ingredients for a wonderful stay. 

Room Tip: There are three guest rooms, two kings and a twin. One of the kings and the twin are on the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a great trip to the county, and our accommodations at Brown's Manor were beyond our expectations. Diane and Ross were great hosts, their breakfasts fabulous, and their century home impeccable. Our room was spacious, and we felt very comfortable. A very inviting home with inviting hosts.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Ross and Diane are superb hosts and work hard at creating an unparalleled experience for their guests. My husband and I just got home from a weekend at Brown’s Manor and we can’t wait to return.

While many of the things I mention may be insignificant to others, I’m a detail-oriented person and I found that our stay at Brown’s Manor exceeded my rather high expectations. These small and considerate touches show to anyone, detailed or not, how much thought and care Ross and Diane Lindsay put into their B&B.

THE HOUSE
First, I know other reviewers have commented on their beautiful, perfectly-maintained home from the 1900s. I’m personally not “into” antiques. However, their tasteful, carefully thought-out colour schemes, draperies, wallpapers, furnishings and décor throughout could possibly change my mind about this. We’ve stayed in century homes before and they were definitely old houses. But Brown’s Manor has been refurbished lovingly, kept up meticulously, and cleaned religiously! Seriously, I’ve never been to a cleaner B&B before (they ask guests to remove their shoes when indoors -- you could eat off the floors they’re so spotless)!

Brown’s Manor is conveniently located down the block and around the corner from the Main Street in Picton, where all the shops, restos, theatre, etc. are located. We parked our car at Brown’s and never moved it once over the weekend. You can also walk to the water from the Manor – it’s just down the block.

OUR ROOM
We stayed in the Colonial Room on the second floor, with a very lovely, spacious ensuite. The furniture, the wallpapers, the artwork all showed off the Lindsays’ impeccable taste. There was almost more drawer space in this room than what I have at home, plus ample closet space with flocked hangers and two soft, plush bathrobes tucked inside. What a great surprise! There was also an oversized full-length mirror on the closet door, plus a dresser mirror. These I often find lacking in B&Bs.

My husband and I were set on sleeping in a king bed and that immediately limited our B&B choices. What we weren’t expecting were the high-quality linens (Who irons pillowcases these days?! How luxurious!), choice of pillow styles and the most comfortable mattress we’ve ever slept on. Unfortunately, Diane told us the manufacturer stopped making that model or we’d be purchasing one for our home.

The ensuite included a modern, one-piece shower stall with its own light and a gorgeous, wide-ledge pedestal sink, perfect for perching his-and-hers toiletries on either side (plus there was a glass shelving unit next to the sink for other toiletries). Again, it was clear that the proprietors carefully thought out every convenience: thick, amply-sized towels; a hook for hanging your toiletries bag; a pull-out magnifying hand-mirror and a hair dryer mounted on either side of the sink.

There was also a TV in the room (we didn’t use it) and a bottle of water with water glasses, wine glasses and corkscrew on the dresser. For your convenience, there’s a full-size shared refrigerator on the third floor, and the self-serve tea/coffee area in the dining room is available 24/7 if you want a hot beverage.

THE FOOD
Our breakfasts were consistent with the efforts made throughout the B&B. Each day we were first treated to fresh-made fruit salad, Greek yogurt and homemade granola. On the first day, this was followed by slices of back bacon roast, scrambled eggs and potatoes with toast. Do you think they served us store-bought jam? Of course not -- we got Diane’s homemade blueberry/Grand Marnier preserves! The next day our main consisted of waffle wedges, maple syrup and piped rosettes of whipped cream, sided with sausage. Your meal is served at 9 a.m. and while we were the only guests that weekend, normally everyone is seated for 9 so that guests can eat at the same time. It’s the considerate way to feed everyone without keeping folks waiting for latecomers.

THE PROPERTY
Sadly, we visited Brown’s Manor at a time of year when snow was still lingering, so we weren’t able to witness the gardening skills of Ross. We will definitely be back to check out his green thumb, as we’ve heard that wedding parties have even requested to have their photos taken in the yard. I’m sure it’s a lovely place to sip coffee, a glass of wine, or watch the fireflies dance over the flowers.

There is a cozy sitting area downstairs for guest use, furnished with comfy armchairs, a loveseat and the most colourful Tiffany-style lamp. We read, listened to music and did computer work one evening here. Other thoughtful touches for guests: umbrellas for borrowing, and when you bring your bikes, you can lock them up in the garage. Ross, being an avid cyclist, is more than happy to help you plan a route.

YOUR HOSTS
In fact, Ross and Diane would be more than happy to help you out in any way. They are knowledgeable about the history of the area, all the local shops and sightseeing, and will even make your dinner reservations for you. They know everyone in town and made our resos at Portabella, then confirmed by placing a sticky note on our door. I’m sure that had something to do with us having the best seat in the house, a cozy nook for two by the front window. Ross and Diane work diligently and go the second mile to ensure you have a stellar, memorable visit to their home, as well as to Prince Edward County.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helga_Little_Horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a great stay with Diane and Ross. They made us feel very comfortable and just like home. Our chats were very pleasant. They were very flexible in their services and availability of the house. The room was beautiful and they have done a great job renovating throughout the house. We highly recommend the Brown's Manor to anyone considering a stay in Picton or vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripsITake2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I wanted to have a special birthday and decided to celebrate in Picton. It was my second stay at Brown’s Manor and the perfect choice. Diane and Ross are incredible hosts. The house is beautiful and when you step inside, it warms the soul. They welcomed us into their home and from the moment we stepped into Brown’s Manor, I knew it would be another memorable stay. The room was spacious with a large ensuite, both were spotless. Diane looked after our dinner reservations and Ross mapped out a route which gave us a good look at the diversity of the area. From farms, quaint shops, restaurants and wineries, it was all encompassing. Breakfast featured local products, a great reflection on the passion that they have for the area and its’ agriculture. We highly recommend Brown’s Manor. It truly is a five star experience. It is within walking distance of downtown Picton, a charming town with lots of character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
148 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
10.7 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Johnson St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Edward County designated Heritage House with three elegant bedrooms available for guests. Tastefully furnished and very spacious, all with large ensuite bath. A leisurely 5 min. stroll to the picturesque Picton Main St., for theatre, shopping and fine dining. Two blocks away from the Crystal Palace and Yacht Club. We offer a relaxed atmosphere both outdoors on the homes' signature wrap around veranda and gardens or in our indoor turn-of-the-century common areas. Enjoy a full breakfast made with the finest of County products, served in the sunny dining room. 15 Minutes from some of Canada's best beaches including Sandbanks Provincial Park. Beach package available: parking pass, beach chairs, towels and cooler, on a first come basis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brown's Manor Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing