We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Long Weekend”

Harrington House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harrington House B&B
Ranked #37 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Harrington house over the July Long weekend.

The room was very quaint and clean, a 6'' TV with vhs, my husband and I had seperate beds.. The pool had not been cleaned and the washroom was terribly small.

However, the owners made our stay unforgetable. Breakfast was good, they supplied passes for sandbanks and suggested a wine route that we really enjoyed. Brooke stories were entertaining.

We spent Canada day in picton and we loved it. Although we felt we had gone back in time about 20 years...it was a fantastic holiday. We would do it again in a heart beat.

The B&B is in walking distance of the main street.

These people are genuily nice individuals who were interested in making our holiday a great one.

We had a good time. We will be going back to picton next year..

I rated the B&B average but would recommend for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Nona and Brooke are fantastic hosts that welcome you open arms and hearts into their beautiful home. My sister and I loved the personalised attention and fantastic insights into the Prince Edward County region. The room was clean and comfortable- we felt like kids again, sleeping in single beds and sharing a bedroom. Each morning we had elaborate breakfasts and hilarious conversations about Canada and Australia. They shared our wicked sense of humour and outlook on life. We were halfway through our 7 week USA and Canada holiday and had stayed at so many 5 star hotels and boutique resorts that we became disillusioned with the impersonal hype- Harrington House is a home away from home! Nina their kind and gentle dog would nuzzle up to us every morning and welcome us when we got home- she was a great comfort as we were missing our furkids back home. We originaly planned to stay for 2 nights but we ended up staying for 4. They even helped us with finding accomodation with another of their friends in Toronto. Nona, Brooke and Nina made our stay in Prince Edward Island the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We found out about this house through the help of the lovely lady at the Picton Visitor help centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 3 great nights at this b & b. We were in the Snowy Owl room with a bathroom across the hall. Nonetheless, this was not an inconvenience since we were the only ones using it. The other 3 rooms have ensuites. The location is perfect, a short walk (albeit with hills) to downtown Picton. As others have mentioned, the backyard and pool were restful, refreshing and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious. Each morning brought a fresh treat from Nona's kitchen along with a huge fresh fruit salad, yogurt, toast, jams, juice, and an endless stream of coffee from Brooke. Brooke also provided detailed directions to every possible site in the region with helpful hints as to what to look for and what to avoid. I don't think we could have found a better location or better hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvs2travelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We arrived early (noon) for a 2 night stay & were warmly welcomed (by a note) to check in our Red Cardinal suite. We got to peek at all 4 rooms; all are beautiful, spotless & welcoming...the Blue Heron is the largest. The Snowy Owl, the room with 2 twin beds, is the only room that does not have an ensuite bathroom. The air conditioning is controlled by window air conditioners in each room; our room was delightfully cool on what was an extremely hot weekend. What do I love about this Inn? 5 minute walk (along beautiful, treed streets) to Claramount Spa (wonderful massage!), to downtown Picton, and to wonderful walking trails, free passes to Sandbanks (entrance is normally $16!. We took a beautiful sunset stroll). Guests have their own entrance & area with fridge, coffee maker etc. and get to walk through a beautiful lounge area to a backyard oasis with lush greenery, hot tub & pool. Other than at breakfast time (which was really good) we rarely saw our hosts (we never felt like we were bothering them; such as for our late night swim/hot tub) and, as opposed to a previous review, they never 'bothered' us at all. My only complaint (really minor), the rooms have really small tvs & ours was missing the remote...but who goes to a B&B for that?!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lIvel0velaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

They cancelled our reservation two days before we were set to arrive. We had the room booked for a week prior.

They left us without a place to stay at the last minute!

Enough said!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I had such a wonderful stay at the Harrington House B&B. The room was very comfortable and quite. The bed had a super mattress on it, and we both had an amazing sleep. Before breakfast I went for a quick walk to beautiful downtown historic Picton. The location is perfect. It is close to everything but not noisy or busy.

The breakfast was fantastic. Nona was up at 5:30 and made the most wonder scones that we have ever had. We has three choices of juice, fresh fruit and cereal, french toast with fruit and whipped butter and sausages, and superb cups of coffee.

The real treat of course is the host and hostess. They are lovely, caring people, funny and fabulous story tellers and listeners. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great. Most have en-suites. Room 3 does not, but a private bathroom just for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bacon-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Having stayed w/ hosts Brooke and Nona many times, I must thoroughly disagree with the 2 previous negative reviews. This historic (1800's) house is within walking distance of downtown Picton, and a close drive to the beaches (Sand Banks Park). All bedroom have ensuite baths, the breakfasts are outstanding (fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, homemade granola plus a cooked breakfast after all that!), the pool is lovely and the backyard quiet and peaceful. Hosts Brooke and Nona will go out of their way to map any sights you would like to visit, yet they are discreet enough to have you come and go as you please. So you feel comfortable in their home, not a visitor. They are friendly, entertaining and wonderful hosts. I think the 2 previous reviewers should have stayed home as it seems nothing would please them.

We have been here many times and feel like Brooke and Nona are our helpful, Picton friends.

M & R McLeod

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
5.2 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merland Park Cottages
Merland Park Cottages
#6 of 14 in Picton
55 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sandbanks Beach Resort
Sandbanks Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Picton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House B&B

Address: 71 Union St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £61 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Harrington House B&B Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing