We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we found this place”

Harrington House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harrington House B&B
Ranked #38 of 44 Picton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad we found this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

A buddy and I came to Prince Edward County for 3 days of cycling and relaxation. We we chose the Harrington House- despite the few negative reviews, and we are very glad that we did. First off, it is in a good location, a 5 minute walk to most restaurants in Piction. It has a lovely back yard for relaxing in, with a large, clean swimming pool, great big hot tub, and a relaxing gazebo- a perfect place to rejuvenate after a long day. Nona and Brooke are wonderful hosts, accomodating, generous, funny, and full of excellent travel advice, if you ask them. Brooke helped us route our daily rides, pointing out a few hidden places of interest that we would have missed if not for him.

The breakfasts are outstanding. They left us well fuelled for the days adventures.

Our room was nothing fancy, but it had everything we needed comfortable, clean and quiet with plenty of space.

I definitely recommend the Harrington House if you are considering a B&B for your next vacation.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Throttleclutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife, two children and I have stayed here several times. Very lovely place. Breakfast is awesome. Nice pool and backyard. Location is walking distance to downtown and very quiet. The greatest thing is the hosts. Brooke and Nona are wonderful people who make you feel welcome and, if you are interested, will talk your ear off.

As a plus, they provide free sandbanks day passes which saves you a good amount if you plan to go to the beach.

Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augtravelcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Harrington house over the July Long weekend.

The room was very quaint and clean, a 6'' TV with vhs, my husband and I had seperate beds.. The pool had not been cleaned and the washroom was terribly small.

However, the owners made our stay unforgetable. Breakfast was good, they supplied passes for sandbanks and suggested a wine route that we really enjoyed. Brooke stories were entertaining.

We spent Canada day in picton and we loved it. Although we felt we had gone back in time about 20 years...it was a fantastic holiday. We would do it again in a heart beat.

The B&B is in walking distance of the main street.

These people are genuily nice individuals who were interested in making our holiday a great one.

We had a good time. We will be going back to picton next year..

I rated the B&B average but would recommend for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Nona and Brooke are fantastic hosts that welcome you open arms and hearts into their beautiful home. My sister and I loved the personalised attention and fantastic insights into the Prince Edward County region. The room was clean and comfortable- we felt like kids again, sleeping in single beds and sharing a bedroom. Each morning we had elaborate breakfasts and hilarious conversations about Canada and Australia. They shared our wicked sense of humour and outlook on life. We were halfway through our 7 week USA and Canada holiday and had stayed at so many 5 star hotels and boutique resorts that we became disillusioned with the impersonal hype- Harrington House is a home away from home! Nina their kind and gentle dog would nuzzle up to us every morning and welcome us when we got home- she was a great comfort as we were missing our furkids back home. We originaly planned to stay for 2 nights but we ended up staying for 4. They even helped us with finding accomodation with another of their friends in Toronto. Nona, Brooke and Nina made our stay in Prince Edward Island the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We found out about this house through the help of the lovely lady at the Picton Visitor help centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 3 great nights at this b & b. We were in the Snowy Owl room with a bathroom across the hall. Nonetheless, this was not an inconvenience since we were the only ones using it. The other 3 rooms have ensuites. The location is perfect, a short walk (albeit with hills) to downtown Picton. As others have mentioned, the backyard and pool were restful, refreshing and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious. Each morning brought a fresh treat from Nona's kitchen along with a huge fresh fruit salad, yogurt, toast, jams, juice, and an endless stream of coffee from Brooke. Brooke also provided detailed directions to every possible site in the region with helpful hints as to what to look for and what to avoid. I don't think we could have found a better location or better hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2travelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We arrived early (noon) for a 2 night stay & were warmly welcomed (by a note) to check in our Red Cardinal suite. We got to peek at all 4 rooms; all are beautiful, spotless & welcoming...the Blue Heron is the largest. The Snowy Owl, the room with 2 twin beds, is the only room that does not have an ensuite bathroom. The air conditioning is controlled by window air conditioners in each room; our room was delightfully cool on what was an extremely hot weekend. What do I love about this Inn? 5 minute walk (along beautiful, treed streets) to Claramount Spa (wonderful massage!), to downtown Picton, and to wonderful walking trails, free passes to Sandbanks (entrance is normally $16!. We took a beautiful sunset stroll). Guests have their own entrance & area with fridge, coffee maker etc. and get to walk through a beautiful lounge area to a backyard oasis with lush greenery, hot tub & pool. Other than at breakfast time (which was really good) we rarely saw our hosts (we never felt like we were bothering them; such as for our late night swim/hot tub) and, as opposed to a previous review, they never 'bothered' us at all. My only complaint (really minor), the rooms have really small tvs & ours was missing the remote...but who goes to a B&B for that?!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lIvel0velaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

They cancelled our reservation two days before we were set to arrive. We had the room booked for a week prior.

They left us without a place to stay at the last minute!

Enough said!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.5 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Edwardian House Bed and Breakfast
10.9 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House B&B

Property: Harrington House B&B
Address: 71 Union St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Harrington House B&B Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing