We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need a facelift”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edgewater Family Campground
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Need a facelift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

When we first arrived to our campsite I was impressed with our campsite which was large area,surrounded by trees and covered with grass but unfortunately we soon discovered that this place needed a major facelift. The beach seemed ok but we decided to go to Sandbanks which was 15 minutes way and it was alot better. The kids playgound was there but the equipment was minimal and needed to be worked on.Now the washrooms....I wasn't expecting a 5 star washroom but aleast one that doesn't have cracked mildewed tile, exposed pipes and roting wood frames around the shower stalls. The floors were muddy and wet especiallly in the shower stales, where you had to do some serious yoga moves to keep your pant bottoms from getting soaked. They need to clean the washroom more often and throughly because it seems everytime I had to go there it always looked dirty. Overall it had a nice camping area but their facilities needed a major overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank simonetate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
24
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

If you are looking for a breath of fresh air, somewhere to let loose and relax .. get rid of the stresses of working, being in the city or...just day to day life, are you looking for a vacation getaway, or even just for the day, let me tell you...you need to plant your flip flops and sandles on the beaches of 'Edgewater'!!

If you have been fortunate enough to experience Edgewater Trailer Park and Campground on this little "Gem of an Island" known as "Sheba Island" you know exactly what I am talking about!
If you have not experienced this wonderful playground.. it is a definate must for you and your family to check out this summer!!

Situated in beautiful Prince Edward County on Sheba Island on West Lake ..Edgewater Family Camping Resort and Water Park..is the place to be on a hot summer day!!

With views and access to the Sandbanks Provincial Park, famous for it's amazing "Sand Dunes", beautiful white sand beaches and..... Sunsets to die for!!

This fun relaxing, wonderland is a family run business with so much going on...Trailer Park for seasonal campers, camp grounds with water and hydro hook up for the "Die Hard" summer campers, an amazing Water park for the kids where you can also picnic for the day, rent jet skis or a pontoon boat to relax on the beautiful "Warm waters" of West Lake!

Best of all if you get hooked which i know you will...and want to make it a yearly adventure, to become part of the summer community there are also Cottage Rentals available at:

http://www.princeedwardcountyvacation.com/

... and if that's not enough there is an amazing "Kids Camp" for your little ones where they will be so well cared for that you will have nothing to do but relax and enjoy the serenity of this amazing place!!

Check it out on Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Westlake-Watersports-Kids-Camp/227667970581672?fref=ts

..Wow,,,,so much to do you really can't not take the time to come and visit...once you do I guarantee you that you will make it "The" place to be on a beautiful hot summer day!! So go ahead and check out the links attached..

The trailer park ..on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Edgewater-Family-Camping-Resort/367824059997209

The Park Site: http://www.edgewatertrailerpark.com/

and....

For the whole family ..you have to check this out!!!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/westlakedestination/

and to really get the whole effect check out the video link on youtube...make sure your kids are watching and if you don't have kids this will definately bring out the "kid in you"!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16MVDec4-XY&feature=share

My husband and I have been here in this park for 4 years now and I have to say when we leave the city for the first trip back after a very long winter i can feel the stress level lowering the closer I get to our "Second home"!

This is no ordinary place, it is a place where people come together all looking for the same thing ..relaxation, sun, sand, and a breath of fresh air.....!!!!

Hope to see you this summer....after all ...how can you resist!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OceanboundCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We are going back again this summer, the kids don't stop talking about the fun they had at this Family Camping Resort. They are hoping that a new family of owls has taken up residence in the area where we tented last summer. So cute, and if you sat still they would come down and sit on the picnic table and watch you. The are looking forward to attending the West Lake Willy Water Park that operates on the beach and I might just surprise them with a short jet-ski ride this summer. You can take the jet-ski over to the Sand Dunes and play over there for a while and the ride is only 2 or 3 min. We've been thinking of graduating to a tent trailer and might ask if Edgewater would let us leave it there on our favorite site for the whole summer....so much easier to leave it there and we our site would be guaranteed. We love it there, we're hooked if they will have us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

It's a jem of a Park......we were here last summer and have booked already for this one. There is so much for the family to do here. The kids were kept busy playing on the water toys at West Lake Willy Waterpark which is a business on the beach of the Edgewater Park. We are only 5 minutes away from the Sandbanks Prov Park and you can see the World Famous Sand Dunes from the shores of the trailer park. We brought the kids bikes and they used them each day when they were not on the beach. It's a very friendly place and family oriented so were assured of a great time. My wife is now talking about getting a trailer to place here for all the summers to come and I'm thinking that we just might do that. If you haven't tried this Park, then you are missing out on a great time with your family. Evenings around the campfire are the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Holy Moly !!! My Kids have been bugging me to make our summer reservations again at Edgewater Family Camping Resort....... They Had so much fun last year with the new friends they made and they keep asking me if we can camp closer to the lodge because the absolutely loved the ice cream they had at the park........ anyways my kids have never been more excited about summer since we stayed at edgewater...... i am looking forward to visiting the waterpark again and i am sure my kids are.......its a long car ride but as a single mom it is well worth it for my kids...... Edgewater bound!!

Room Tip: Book Early They Fill up Fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We discovered Edgewater Family Camping last summer and it will be on our 2013 vacation agenda for sure. The kids played most of the day at their Waterpark for a very small fee and fell into bed willingly after the evening campfire. We found this campground very family oriented and it had a warm friendly atmosphere. Next summer we will booking for a full week and likely will try to make it there at least a couple of times. The kids are already asking if there are plans for next year.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Our Family has been camping at Sandbanks Provincial Park for the last 7 years and we discovered Westlake Willy Waterpark This year and made several visits. The Kids absolutely loved the Waterpark and we are going to change our vacation plans in 2013. We quickly toured the Campground and were very pleased with all that it offers and its close distance to the dunes, which would be nice to tour via a pontoon boat. My wife loves the idea of leaving the kids at the summer watersports Day Camp for the day and doing some adult things. Looking forward to our family vacation in Prince Edward County 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
8.1 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
16.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbanks Beach Resort
Sandbanks Beach Resort
#8 of 11 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Family Campground

Property: Edgewater Family Campground
Address: 191 Winns Dr, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family camping on West Lake, 5 minute drive from the Famous Sandbanks Provincial Park. West Lake Willy Waterpark and boat rental business on our beach. Some serviced sites for small trailers/pop up units and lots of unserviced sites for a great family tenting experience. Seasonal sites available. Come STAY & PLAY at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Family Campground Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing