We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem along the Loyalist Highway”

Lake on the Mountain
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little gem along the Loyalist Highway”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great lake and great views. Interesting geology. Looks like a place to spend a few days, rent a bike and enjoy some reading.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bygeorgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    153
    70
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Beautiful lookout point”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is the smallest provincial park that I've ever been to and it's free! There are about a dozen of parking spaces and washrooms. In addition to the lookout to the mysterious lake, across from the main road, there is also a lookout point where you can see the bay and the ferry. There are interpretive signs that talk about the origin of the lake as well as the history of the area. There are some benches and picnic tables. Most people would spend 15 minutes max.

There is a restaurant next door which has the same unobstructed view of the bay. It was full when we were there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique View”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This place made me wish I had an ultra-wide angle lens for my camera. Just so I could capture the awesomeness of seeing Lake Ontario 100 ft below me, and this giant like right beside me all in one view. Definitely a MUST visit if you're in PEC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strange but true”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a Canadian oddity, and unlike Magnetic Hill in New Brunswick, it's a genuine mystery. How does a lake get on top of a hill? Not much to do but read the explanatory sign and keep turning around to look at Lake Ontario far below on the other side of the road, but it's worth a stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
271 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“unique”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A most unusual geological formation of an elevated water storage. Even today scientists cannot fully explain how this water enters the high lake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachsideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake on the Mountain also viewed

 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Lake on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing