We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views and flavourful fares”

Lake on the Mountain
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and flavourful fares”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lake on the mountain still maintains its magic over the years with a wonderful view over the treetops from Price Edward County's highest elevated area. Wonderful establishments for lunch and dinner have opened up here as well including the established Inn and the little gem called The Miller House. A must see and eat experience for families and couples. Stay for the sunset if you can as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WineGuy8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    151
    70
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you happen to be driving by the Lake on the Mountain, then by all means you should stop and get out and have a quick look. There is an interpretive panel that explains the mystery of the lake with a seemingly absent source of water. We expected to find some hiking/walking trails, but there are none. So, again, if you're in the area, you should stop and have a look. Otherwise, don't go out of your way to make a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner and I booked a four day trip to get out of the city and spend some relaxing time in a beautiful setting. We chose the Treehouse because it was just outside of our budget, and we were celebrating our anniversary, so we thought it would be a special treat. One of the main reasons we decided to splurge was that the view from the Treehouse was beautiful, and you have your own screen covered porch off the front looking out onto the lake. The area and the lakes are beautiful, as well as the resort is definitely in a great location.

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was a bobcat tractor parked in front of our screen covered porch. Once inside the porch, the bobcat obstructed the view greatly, there was no way to avoid looking at it. On our first day, we asked if it could be removed but were told that it was holding in place a new dock. It would be moved on our second day. We thought that would be the end of it, but by the end of our second day the bobcat was still in the same spot. I went to speak to the owner, and when we discussed the issue, the woman was very rude to us. She commented that she "didn't know where we were from, but in the country we have these things called tractors". And refused to budge on the issue, repeatedly rolled her eyes and talked down to us. When we asked if we could be discounted, as we were not coming all this way to spend $110/night to stare at a tractor (when where we "come from" had plenty of tractors in plain sight), she was very standoffish.

Since we drove four hours to get there, and since it was our anniversary, we decided to stay as we didn't want to shuffle around and find someplace new. They made it clear that if we were to change cottages that we would have to pay the full price, and we would not get any sort of deal. It became a very uncomfortable environment to be in. We regret staying the whole weekend now. The way they dealt with us was terrible, they never apologized or expressed any sort of customer service. If this is what people are to expect when they come to Lake on the Mountain resort, they should include some pictures of tractors in front of their cottages on their website.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Frank79B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“wet and windy but great landscape”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The winter's snow was melting so it made it slushy but still it was worth seeing. The water level was high and there is a small boardwalk for viewing and a car park across the street which also has great views of Lake Ontario and Picton Bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank prevfromPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We take all our company to see this unique site and enjoy the view from the cliff. The restaurant at the inn has the best poutine. Take the time to take the free ferry and visit picton and area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake on the Mountain also viewed

 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Lake on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing