We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation/dining package”
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Warm, elegant period building. Comfortable rooms and common areas. Lots of stairs! The packages including meals are excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Comfortable bed, quiet, clean, friendly. Delicious breakfast, but even better dinner! Unbelieveably tasty. Best gnocchi I've ever had in my life. Very convenient location on the main street, easy to get to.

Lots of local wineries to visit. Try the local cheeses and organic food.

And of course Sandbanks is such a beautiful beach. Just like being on the ocean - blue water, white tops, soft, white, powdery sand.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aireya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

On our recent stay at the Merrill Inn, I found the entire experience delightful, from the warm welcome and orientation to the beautiful and comfortable room to the unforgettable dinner at the restaurant in the evening. The service was perfect and Edward's warmth and wine recommendations were very much appreciated. And the food was just exquisite, full of flavour, and expertly prepared and beautiful to look at. The inn was fun to walk around and I loved the art on the walls. The gourmet breakfast was delicious, as was the packed lunch. All in all, a great stay in Picton but much too short.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherraleeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

What a wonderful weekend spent celebrating my 50th, along with my twin sister and our husbands! The Inn won me over from the moment I stepped through the doors. Loved the charming character, the quirkiness that a century house has to offer, the bedrooms were lovely, the beds soooo comfortable, and the attention to detail was perfect, gorgeous soaps and creams etc. Very clean rooms, which made me happy as I am a bit fussy that way. :) Loved the fact we could open the large victorian windows fully.

The dining room is very well set up, and the decor lovely. Very comfortable seating, Food was simply unbelievable, my husband said it "was the one of the most delicious meals he has had' The lamb was scrumptious!! Everything from the initial greeting by the Inn's owner, to lovely hometown ciders to start, appetizers, and beautiful wines, made for a perfect dinner. The chef is outstanding. We loved it so much, we managed to squeeze in for Saturday nights dinner as well. Breakfast was included in our package, and well worth getting, not only delicious, but ample food, and lovely coffee and espresso. The service was exceptional.

We had never been to Picton area before, and fell in love with the place. The entire town is very proud of what they have, and it is evident in the attention to care of the sweet little homes along the street. The main street has some fantastic shops, and yet we did not get to them all as we spent our days cycling through the vineyards and cheese factories. So much to see and do, we need to come back soon, and our planning to do so in October to see the fall colours as we ride across the undulating countryside.

I find it hard to think of a negative point to the weekend spent at Merrill Inn. We booked the third floor rooms and they were perfect for the two couples, loved overlooking the neighbourhood. If you do not like stairs, this level is not for you, but they have plenty of main floor rooms.

Thank you Amy and Edward for putting so much of yourself into your Inn, our weekend was truly wonderful. N and M.

Room Tip: Always prefer the top floor myself, Loved the quirky steps to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Merrill Inn from August 14th-17th as a little getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We found the Inn to be charming, welcoming and absolutely everything we were hoping for. We had booked at the last minute, so ended up switching rooms partway through our visit, but the Inn staff took care of moving our luggage and settling us in while we were out. Both rooms were comfortable and clean. Edward, the owner, greeted us when we arrived and was a great source of recommendations for dining out and wineries to visit in the area. He was also helpful suggesting wine to go with our anniversary dinner which we enjoyed at the restaurant. It was absolutely delicious. The Merrill Inn location is ideal, as it's an easy walk into the main area of Picton, but just around the corner and set back from the street. We had considered several different Inns in the area when booking and after being there for a few days we were confident we'd picked the right spot! We will recommend the Merrill Inn to our friends and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We just spent five nights at the wonderful Merrill Inn. The facility exudes Victorian charm. The staff are highly competent, attentive and knowledgeable about the beaches, wineries and other attractions in the area. The quality of the meals and service is well above what one might expect in a small inn. The Prince Edward County Jazz Festival was on, which added tremendously to our stay. All in all, this was a wonderful way to spend a relaxing few days. We have already booked our next visit!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

There was mold in the AC unit and it didn't work very well, the towels were very old,the room was tiny for $200,the Innkeeper was very accommodating and the restaurant was great.Overall the place is getting tired,needs paint,needs the weeds removed from the lawn and walk.The "Finest Inns" advertising must be a paid site. We wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carver007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrillinn, Owner at Merrill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments although we were very surprised by them. We would like to comment on the Inn looking tired as the entire building was just painted 3 weeks ago. The room is a smaller room as was explained at the time of booking the reservation. The rate was $179 which included a full sumptuous breakfast. Regarding the air conditioner in your room, this is a new digital unit that was not set for the coolest setting, but was adjusted as soon as it was brought to our attention and upon inspection,It did not have mould in it. The lawn is well maintained with a couple of weeds that we take care of on an on-going basis. We take great pride in being a member of Ontario's Finest Inns as this is a well respected association with stringent guidelines and is under constant scrutiny for guest quality assurance. The inn is also top rated by Tripadvisor which we are proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
158 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 8 in Belleville
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing