We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in the fireplace room which was very quaint and spacious. We eat out a lot and the dinner was second to none. Edward, the owner, talked with us a number of times and was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Excellent location. Small concern, we could hear a water pump or some mechanical device cycling on and off during the night which was a minor irritation. The Victorian atmosphere definitely provided a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    60
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
230
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland Landing, Ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The autumn mid-week special (dinner, breakfast, picnic lunch, coupons for wine tastings and local farm stand) brought us to the Merrill Inn during a first visit to Prince Edward County. We were not disappointed. This is a lovely spot for a quick romantic getaway--amazing dinner, lovely inn and owners and staff that paid attention to every detail. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I just spent a night at the Merrill Inn. It was my Christmas present to him. It was a wonderful time. We only spent one night at the Merrill Inn but it seemed like we were on a really nice holiday. The Inn is fabulous and you can really tell that the owners really are passionate about it and have put a lot of time into detail. As a result there is a real warm feeling when you arrive. The staff is wonderful....very friendly, very professional and very informative. The rooms are well appointed.....they have thought of everything.......soaps, hand lotion, shampoos etc. The food is fabulous...very well presented and the service is friendly yet professional. All in all, we had a wonderful time and we are suggesting that our daughter and her husband celebrate their 5th anniversary at the Merrill Inn. We certainly look forward to a return visit and hopefully next time it will be for a longer time. The Merrill Inn is a real gem!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I and our little two month old stayed at the Merrill Inn in Picton for two nights for a weekend getaway in late summer. And while we had our concerns about bringing along a very young child to the Inn, owners Edward and Amy and their wonderful and dedicated staff quickly put our concerns to rest! We enjoyed a sumptuous hot breakfast which members of the Merril staff kindly delivered to us on the first day, giving us the freedom to let our little one sleep in a longer.

Our room was an elegant and spacious suite located on the first floor, close to parking at the front, which made it easy to transport our stroller in and out of the Inn. And in the evening, Edward was kind enough to set up a private table upstairs from the restaurant where we were able to enjoy an incredible dinner experience, while keeping an eye on our little one!

Not to mention, the fantastic litle Merrill Inn Gift Shop where we bought those incredible jams and preserves we enjoyed from our delicious meals. As other reviewers have mentioned, the attention to details in decor, food and service are exceptional. The owner and the wonderful and dedicated staff, excellent chef, truly know how how to run a business. We plan to come back many more times and recommend the Inn to our friends and family. This is an incredible place for a getaway, even for families!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Prince Edward County is beautiful local for a weekend away... An emerging wine region, for good reason! The Merrill Inn is the sort boutique hotel works in all ways. And, the restaurant was quite brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank west-toronto-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Merrill Inn in Picton for one night this summer. Our room was rather small, but clean and nicely decorated. What blew us away was the food. Dinner was included in our package, and it was incredible! Everything was tasty, fresh, and beautifully prepared. I had the beef tenderloin: the meat was tender, the vegetables crisp, and the seasoning just right. The salad and dessert were also first rate. Some of the food items that diners enjoy in the restaurant are available for sale in the gift shop. Will definitely be returning. The inn and the town are charming. Perfect place for a short getaway.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 711Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We bought the overnight package which included a three course dinner, a full breakfast , a packed picnic lunch and 3 free wine tasting at neighbouring wineries. What a fabulous time we had.
The inn has an old world charm to it with its decor, yet provides modern amenities (e.g fully airconditioned, tv, phones, free wi-fi etc.). Loved the lavender toiletries provided.
The inn is situated in amongst lovely greenery with a beautiful garden yet near enough to the quaint town to explore a wide varitety of interesting shops and art galleries.
The meals provided were delicious. Had the best crab cake outside of New Orleans, with a tender rack of lamb done with a delectable sauce. The wide array of appealing entrees made it difficult to choose from and would draw one back to try something new the next time. What impresses one here is the attention to details in decor, food and service. Upon arrival, there were homemade cookies and tea in the foyeur and at bed time there were cookies in the room with a note to have a good night's rest and the weather forecast for the next day. The owner and his staff, with an excellent chef, obviously know how to run a successful business. We will definitely tell others about this place and revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Property: Merrill Inn
Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing