We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother / daughter weekend”
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was a lovely place to stay in Picton. The hosts were excellent, the dinner superb and proximity to sights and sounds of prince Edward County was perfect. Our suite at the top of the house was aesthetically lovely with lots of room for the 3 of us. However, the living room area was really hot while the bedroom was cool. I slept in the sitting room on the pull out which was very comfy. The heat was brutal though. The 3 flights of stairs was a bit much when carrying our luggage and it discouraged having a morning coffee in our room before breakfast. That being said the house itself is excellent - good plumbing, good beds etc. The dinner by reservation was definitely a winner. I would again stay at this place but on the top floor.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are difficult unless you are healthy and used to multiple flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I went for my birthday to take advantage of the Countylicious package they offered. The room was lovely, the cuisine was superb, staff was very friendly, and the service was excellent! I highly recommend staying at the Merrill Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I spent one night at this quiet Old Inn, in Picton with 3 girlfriends to celebrate a birthday. We had a pleasant drive from Toronto and enjoyed lunch and some window shopping in Picton before we checked in.
Our room was fine, clean enough but certainly not chic or up to date. It was homey.
This was the only room available when we booked so we slept 2 in each double bed. We actually slept well!
We reserved a table for dinner at the inn and ate breakfast in that small dining room as well.
The food was nice, the waiter and waitress were not. We all felt like they were doing us a favour by waiting on our table. .We were really surprised at their unfriendly, unhelpful manner

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie101-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at the Merrill Inn with a group of 9 women in June 2013. We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in two rooms on the second floor, one room on the first floor and the suite on the 3rd floor. All of the rooms were lovely. The suite, which has a small sitting room, was recommended to us as we were a large group and it was a great place to hang out and chat after dinner. The atmosphere and charm of this historic house are wonderful and it has been updated to have all of the modern amenities. The breakfasts were amazing with local cheeses and fresh berries from the region. Chef Sullivan made us a delicious dinner our second night there. All of the staff at the Inn are terrific. Very helpful, friendly and welcoming. We all had a very memorable experience. Definitely a great place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Merrill Inn is a lovely B&B in Picton, in a great location to access the surrounding wineries and sights. The Inn itself is a great older home with lots of character and well-appointed rooms. However, the rooms are nothing really fancy; the size of the rooms are a bit smaller and the bathrooms are showing their age. This doesn't really detract from the charm of the place, but I just want to let people know what to expect. The staff is amazing and the experience of staying there is wonderful.

The restaurant is the real gem at the Merrill Inn. The food is fantastic, paired with local wines, and my wife and I enjoyed it very much. If you are going to stay at the Inn, you would be crazy not to reserve a table for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived in the evening without notice and were made to feel very welcome by the owner and the staff. We were provided with an excellent room - the most characterful room we stayed in during our time in Canada. Our evening meal and breakfast the next morning were both faultless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Windibank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the Merrill Inn with my three sisters on a girls weekend. We bought a package that included two nights accommodation, breakfast both mornings, a picnic lunch, and dinner on one of the evenings of our stay.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. They were beautifully decorated with antiques and plush pillows. The bathroom provided lavender toiletries that smelled wonderful. Our room was cleaned promptly by friendly housekeeping staff.

Every meal we had was great. Breakfast consists of a continental buffet with fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc. They also feature one hot item, and you can ask for eggs any way you like. The picnic lunch was a choice of a sandwich with veggies or fruit or granola bar etc. Having the picnic lunch came in very handy during our wine tour.

Our dinner allowed us to eat off the regular menu, or order from the promotional "Taste of the County" special which was going on. We all ordered off the regular menu and had the wine pairings (which was an additional fee.) I had the signature salad, the beef tenderloin and the pie feature which was apple and pear. All three corses were delicious, appropriately portioned and served by a courteous, knowledgeable server.

My only negative comment would be that the restaurant is a little small, so when you get up to use the washroom, get items from the breakfast buffet, etc. you have to maneuver around the tables and servers, so you feel like you are always on top of other people.

We had a wonderful weekend at The Merrill, and I would be happy to return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAK_2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
148 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 8 in Belleville
496 reviews
18.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing