We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful pampered stay”
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful pampered stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

There's nothing more lovely than a pampered stay at a heritage inn that's been totally updated. The staff is warm , friendly, extremely helpful and treats you better than family. We stayed here years ago when we lived in Toronto and it is just as lovely 8 years later.

The restaurant served by far the best dinner of our Two week tour frm Hslifax to Montreal & Toronto.

Only challenge was with connectivity to WFI. Hit or miss. But otherwise an awesome stay. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    62
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
236
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Merrill Inn in beautiful Prince Edward County and in every aspect it was a wonderful escapade. The Inn is very well located, on Picton's main street, within walking distances of the boutiques if one wishes to shop a bit, and a few kilometers from Sandbanks Provincial Park, Lake on the Mountain and a few others PEC attractions. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, although I had some concerns with the first room we were offered in view of the noise coming from the old AC that kept it comfortable on a very hot and very humid day. But our host immediately offered to upgrade us to a more quiet room (the AC being in the bathroom) on the third floor (quite a few stairs to manage but it wasn't a problem for us). The Inn includes a restaurant operated by a very good chef, Michael Sullivan, and we had an excellent diner there on our first night, even though the location of the restaurant (in the basement) left us doubtful at first. I can truly recommend a stay at the Merrill Inn to enjoy the beauties of Prince Edward County.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneducanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A lovely county Inn - on the house of a former Judge.

Beautiful environment; lovely rooms - except for very tiny TV's and rattling Ac's.

Tiny winding stairways, no elevators - much like Amsterdam hotels.

Not highly accessible for activity-limited/seniors.

Excellent restaurant run by Chef Sullivan - the duck with blueberries was superb. The veal very good as well.

Matching Prince Edward County wines with each course if ordered.

Some were excellent (Grange Pinot Gris) - most others were pedestrian/disappointing..

But a good place to taste regional wines.

Regional wine tour passes provided for free - along with excellent box lunch.

Staff were friendly and accommodating, and full of information about the region.

Definitely would return.

Room Tip: If activity limited / senior ask for a room on the ground floor. Steep, narrow winding staircases/ n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYNAMICREGGAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to the Merrill Inn with friends who had stayed there preciously, they highly recommended it. I couldn't agree more! The inn is a wonderfully restored Victorian home with great attention to detail. The food was fabulous and the staff were friendly, professional and fun. The inn is walking distance to Main Street making it the perfect location for strolling or touring the wineries. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I can't thank Edward enough for the outstanding service we received during our daughter's wedding weekend. He accommodated our every request graciously and with great patience. ( we changed numbers constantly! ) The meals were fabulous and all our guests thoroughly enjoyed the Merrill Inn.The location was perfect for all our outings including a short walk to Main Street.
Highly recommend if you are visiting the county to stay here!

Room Tip: all different and all lovely...great web site, so go on line and choose your own depending on your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Inn offers a great getaway for couples who want to visit the Prince Edward County. The rooms are pretty small as are the bathrooms, but they are cozy, quiet and clean. There is an excellent full course breakfast offered each morning. The Inn also runs a dining room and reservations are recommended as it is small and very popular. The area has a lot of attractions, including winery visits and provincial parks that offer great beaches. Staff at the Merrill Inn are very friendly and can help you choose an itinerary. Note that the Inn also offers a lot of specials including discounts on the rooms at last minute, so check online and enquire.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street as this hotel is located on a main street in town. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you appreciate century homes and vintage charm, this is the place. We were in a suite on the top floor and it was so lovely. It had a wonderful sitting area.
Each night there was a wine and cheese in the main room and the reception desk was so helpful.
The restaurant in the basement is fantastic for dinner and breakfast. Even better, you don't have to leave the building!
If you have accessibility issues, the stairs are quite steep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
75 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Property: Merrill Inn
Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing