We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean, delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Picton in this summer en route from Niagara to Montreal. The staff made you feel at home immediately, and we were travelling with two small children, and were made to feel as welcome as could be! The kids (and my husband and I) loved the spacious, beautiful, extremely clean, and comfortable room. It was immediately relaxing, and the fact that the Inn is walking distance to many restaurants, and a lovely bookstore there on the main street, made it all the nicer! We plan to return (sans kids) and try to do some of the wineries next time! The breakfast was amazing!!! I keep meaning to email asking for the blueberry pancake recipe!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    60
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
230
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited PEC for a 3 day wine tour. The Merrill Inn was by far the best hotel/Inn experience we had...If you are a foodie, this is the IT place in Picton. Would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. You are centrally located and most vineyards are 15-20 minutes away. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: wifi is available on the 1st and 2nd floors...the 3rd floor rooms struggle with connectivity
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rRobJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were in the area visiting friends and decided to spend a day in the county visiting some wineries, we didn't make a reservation anywhere for the night, we were hoping to find a place to stay just like the Merrill Inn. We were lucky enough to get a room for the night. The room 103, was just beautiful, it was everything we wanted and more. The hotel is walking distance to downtown and the surrounding buildings and houses were just spectacular and a pleasure to see during an evening walk. Breakfast was divine on the outside patio, with beautifully landscaped grounds.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and had a lovely dinner and breakfast. Our room was nice, with an outside sitting area, but the A/C was a little loud. If this inn was not on a main road, I would have given it a 5/5. Staff was super friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room at the back, far from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a small hotel, although it is, actually, very spacious. Tastefully and sympathetically decorated Victorian house in an appealing town. We were from the UK visiting relations in the area. This gave us no opportunity of trying the restaurant here, but in terms of the hotel itself, I would suggest that you might go some distance out of your itinerary to visit it. Service is excellent. We stayed in the top floor suite, which can provide flexible sleeping up to 6 persons. Immaculate. The elderly may be challenged by the architect's original design for top-floor access, but I would struggle to find any negative criticism.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelcelt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I can't say enough good about this Inn. We were in Picton celebrating a birthday and stayed at the Merrill Inn for one night. Visually beautiful with well appointed rooms, clean and comfortable with a bed that gave us a great nights sleep. All this was topped off by a dinner that was fabulous from start to finish... with the final touch of Tyler bringing our espresso and cognac up to the spacious well appointed living room. Some of the room's art caused us to stop by the artist studio the next day during our tour of local winery's recommended by the Inn. Oh and they provided us with a delicious picnic lunch. Great place, Great staff, Great food. What more could one ask for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawarthapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were in 103 for 3 nights! The inn is very very central for walks, shopping and cycling, the staff was awesome, the picnic lunch and dinner and breakfasts all great! The room was quiet and clean, the beds comfortable. They are happy to have cyclists as Prince Edward County is one great big bike ride!!! about 5 of 7 bike routes in PEC start from the hotel area and come back so it is a cyclist's dream! It was a pleasure to stay here!

Room Tip: Pick 103 or 101 on first floor or go to second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Property: Merrill Inn
Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing