We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best...”
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I stayed for the Summer Break package as I had already stayed here with 5 other women for the Girls' Getaway and had found the Merrill Inn to be so wonderful. My husband was very pleased with his experience as well. Our very pretty room had 2 easy chairs so we were both able to sit and relax after our drive from Stowe. It was also nice to be able to put our perishables into the communal fridge. Then we had the most scrumptious dinner in their restaurant. Every mouthful was delectable. Our breakfast the next morning was also good. (The smoothies are yummy.) Off to the winery for our picnic lunch (made at the Inn) and our stay at Merrill Inn was complete. Edward, the host, is very personable and runs a very nice establishment. Staying here could get addictive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShineshineOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2009

My wife and I just returned from spending four days and three nights at the Merrill. The Inn had wonderful and friendly staff, and a top notch chef who provided an excellent meal on our final night.

We spent our time touring the various wineries, cheese makers and artist shops in the Prince Edward County region. The Merrill staff was extremely helpful in pointing us were to go, and who to talk with to have an excellent experience while in the area.

I would most heartily recommend the Merrill Inn to anyone wanting to have a most magical get away in Ontario. Cheers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edge_519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I just got home from spending a couple of days at the Merrill Inn in Picton and cannot say enough good things about it. My room was amazing, the staff always courteous and helpful, the food spectacular... I could go on and on. The hospitality was second to none. I look forward to staying at the Merrill Inn again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargGTA_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have been staying at the Merrill Inn for a few years now and it is always a wonderful experience. The relaxing charm really captures the welcoming spirit of the County with cozy, comfortable accommodation. The food is always excellent, featuring local produce, with a well chosen selection of both local and imported wines. But the biggest factor in making our stay enjoyable is the excellent service; the attentive hosts and their cheerful and accomplished staff go out of their way to ensure that you will have an enjoyable visit to the region.
We look forward to returning to the Merrill Inn again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Having eaten a fabulous meal at the Merrill Inn while staying nearby at a good friend's cottage, we decided to celebrate our anniversary this year with dinner and an overnight stay at the Merrill Inn. The dinner did not disappoint and the breakfast the following morning on the back terrace was charming. The food and service were spectacular! The room itself was another matter. We booked the suite and upon being shown to our accommodation, it was hard to hide our disappointment. It was nothing more than average. The room itself was spacious, but hardly a 'suite'. Any dictionary definition will tell you that a 'suite' is made up of more than one room. This was one room with a sofa and a bed that was pushed into the corner against a window. The air conditioner was located in that window and had to be turned off at bedtime or risk a cold blast of air all night on the spouse unlucky enough to get that side of the bed. The tiny bathroom was adequate, but you risked scalding yourself in the shower if anyone in one of the adjacent rooms used the water at the same time. Several times I squealed and had to step back until the water temperature righted itself. In addition, the repair to the toilet roll holder was poorly done. No one bothered to patch the holes left from the old one, just slapped a board up and attached the new one. Having paid almost $300 for the room, it was a bit disappointing. Several times I thought of my own home that overlooks a lake and wondered what I was doing here. That's not to say that the Merrill Inn doesn't have potential, it does. If it could ever live up to it's restaurant's reputation, it would be an irresistible combination!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneBeaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The last time I stayed in htis area I stayed at the Isaiah Tubbs Inn. It was horrible. One of their staff mambers jokingly suggested I stay at the Merrill Inn, as she felt it was worse than the Isaiah Tubbs. Well, she was wrong!

The Merrill Inn is clean, comfortable, has a friendy staff and great food! My room was very clesn, no bugs like they have at Isaiah Tubbs. The bed was comfortable, the linens looked fairly new, there were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the heater worked perfectly.

The breakfast and dinner I had at the Merrill Inn was first rate! Waitstaff were friendly, prompt, and looked like they really enjoyed their jobs. The people at reception were also friendly. Their service skills are miles above the skill of the staff at Isaiah Tubbs. The entire hotel should be proud of it's staff. I have been traveling for over 30 years as a speaker and sales trainer, I know what it takes to provide top-notch service. The staff at The Merrill Inn is one of the best hotel staffs I have seen in my years of traveling. Next time I am in the area I will be staying there, and I will be referring my colleagues and friends to stay there as well.

Well done Merrill Iinn!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowlyseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

As B&B operators ourselves, we're always looking for Inns that live up to our high standards and the Merrill Inn surpassed our expectations. The Inn itself is beautiful and the rooms are impressive but it is the food that sets the Merrill Inn apart. It has an excellent dining room serving both breakfasts and dinners featuring locally grown and produced foods. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided treat tips of where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ExperiencePEI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
17.7 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 8 in Belleville
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing