We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Years Experience”
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I visit Picton several times a year to see my mother in a seniors residence. As it was New Years we decided to stay at the Merrill Inn. Our original New Years Eve plans fell through and The Merrill Inn went out of their way to accomodate us at the last minute for dinner which was amazing. Each course was a wonderful taste experience. Edward was a perfect host and our waitress at dinner was charming and friendly. The next day we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. When visiting Prince Edward County I would definitely recommend the Merrill Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottagegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

My husband and I love visiting wineries and attending food and wine pairing events. We had heard good things about Prince Edward County and decided to spend our anniversary there touring the area and tasting what the region had to offer. We were very pleasantly surprised. We booked our two night stay at Merrill Inn based on the reviews we found on the internet. The Inn had a small town quaintness to its structure (the rooms are small but very clean - no large HD flat screens), but the food and the owner, Edward, imbued high end flavour that you would find in any downtown Mark McEwan establishment. Prince Edward County proved worthy of the reputation it was developing - Huff and Clousson wineries were both selected by top chefs, chosen for Gold Medal Plate challenges, to pair with their award-winning dishes. The cheese in this region is fantastic as well. Not all restaurants honour the same calibre of quality (avoid Isaih Tubbs!). We spent our weekend leisurely exploring the many vineyards, had a spa treatment at Claramounts (fantastic!) and picnic lunch at Clousson (provided by Merrill). We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay at the Merrill Inn, on the suggestion of friends (we usually visit Picton and enjoy a stay at the Waring House, but thought a change would be nice). Upon arriving, we entered our room, disheartened that it was adjacent to the front door, staircase and common living room. I was disappointed (we had hoped for an inkling of privacy) but figured that it would be alright. The constant opening of the front door, and the cold air and light coming in underneath our door (which was right beside the bed) did not help ease my disappointment. Alas, I was determined to enjoy the weekend, and put a towel into the crack in the bottom of the door.

But this is NOT why I am marking this hotel as terrible. Truly the reason comes from the service that was provided. During our stay a situation occurred that should have been dealt with in a very different manner. The owner addressed an issue that had occurred (I pinned the decorative curtain panels in our room together, when I couldn't get to sleep due to the spotlight shining in our window) at our dinner table . I was chastised for having done this, and told the cost of the curtains and that if any damage was done (it wasn't), that they would have to charge me the $7,000 that the curtains cost. The dinner facility is VERY small -- and the two tables adjacent to us heard this whole conversation. Needless to say, our dinner experience was not very enjoyable after this. The way I was spoken to was as if I was a child being reprimanded for making trouble. I was completely embarrassed, and felt sheepish -- the way one would feel after a scolding. I couldn't believe that he had brought this up at the dinner table -- and that it was even an issue.

The situation was resolved (the staff pinned the curtains closed that night), but the fact that the issue wasn't addressed in a much more customer friendly manner will keep me FAR away from the Merrill Inn (i.e. come to our room to talk to us -- or even better -- pin the curtains shut and leave a nice note for us).

I have told my story (which is hard to write with any eloquence or effectiveness here) to many and they were appalled that one of Ontario's Finest Inns didn't provide a more customer friendly approach to this issue.

Food was fantastic, and I did enjoy it, despite the fact that I fought back tears throughout the amuse-bouche and appetizer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BeViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We have stayed at the Merrill Inn a number of times. It is a really nice spot. The staff are wonderful.
We were there for the "Countylicious" dining package. The meal was wonderful with most of the menu from within Prince Edward County. We would recommend the restaurant to anyone who likes good food.
The inn is located within an easy walk to the shops of downtown Picton. It is a wonderful area of unique little shops. If you stay for more than one night there are some other nice restaurants close by.
The rooms are nicely done and have been upgraded. This is an historic property and the rooms so the history bery icely.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

My husband and I decided to take a break and spend a couple of days in Prince Edward County. The Countylicious food and wine event was taking place and the Merrill Inn offered a tempting package. We were warmly welcomed at the Inn which is a lovely old Victorian house in impeccable condition and with all kinds of beautiful wooden lace and interior finishings. It is not fusty or over-formal. Our room on the ground floor was elegant, spacious, comfortable and clean, The common living room is very pleasant and features a delightful doll house hand-made by the innkeepers over many years.

The meals, served in a smallish, modern, comfortable dining room were outstanding. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and two excellent dinners over which we were able to taste almost the entire Countylicious menu. Everything was great. Special mention goes to the pickerel fritters, the tourtiere and the profiteroles with banana gelato. All this was accompanied by friendly, attentive, professional service.

Prince Edward County is interesting and picturesque, even in November, with its wineries, cheese factories, villages and the town of Picton with its lovely old houses and lively main street.

We're already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Merrill Inn in Picton, Ontario, has excellent cuisine, wonderful rooms, a warm and professional staff, and a beautiful location in small town Canada. It is not surprising that its 2 owners have had experience working in senior positions with some of the finest hotels and hotel chains in North America.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGraham_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My new wife and I spent 3 nights at the Merrill Inn and quite enjoyed the experience. Edward and Amy were perfect hosts and the food was amazing. Our room was on the top floor at the front and was spacious and clean. If you are elderly, the stairs are steep from the second to third floor, so choose a first or second floor room. We visited a number of quaint villages in the area and enjoyed the wineries and galleries. We will definitely visit again and highly recommend this Inn to anyone traveling this area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splagggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
159 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing