We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant Inn, attractive and comfortable, attentive hosts and service, delicious dining, Merrill Inn does not disaappoint”
Review of Merrill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“elegant Inn, attractive and comfortable, attentive hosts and service, delicious dining, Merrill Inn does not disaappoint”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My husband and I visited this Inn for a winter getaway to Prince Edward County. The Merrill Inn was a wonderful choice and we truly enjoyed everything about our stay with Edward and his excellent staff. The Inn is beautiful and historic without being stuffy or overdone. The decorating is tasteful and features excellent consignment artwork by local artists which was a nice touch. The dining experience was a memorable highlight of our stay as the food and wine choices were outstanding. Our room was spacious and very well appointed. The featured County wine tasting in the late afternoon (with County cheeses to accompany) was a gracious welcome. All in all a very lovely stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    60
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
230
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My wife and I visited the Merrill Inn for the third time in the last couple of years. We know that when we go there we will be attended to in a professional yet friendly fashion. Not only do we enjoy the atmosphere at the Inn, but the rooms are very attractive and comfortable. The beds are terrific and we always sleep very well. On this visit, we especially enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast. I highly recommend that you partake of their current, 'Countrylicious" menu and follow Edwards advice on the wine. It is a very enjoyable place to stay. We will be back, again and again.

\John and Chris, Whitby, Ontario

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Comfortable inn, good base for exploring Picton and the Prince Edward County. The food was great, service was great, no real complaints except the shower could use a new shower head. Really nice if you enjoy antiques and quilts. I would recommend going to the area in the summer though, there seems to be alot more to do, we enjoyed ourselves though.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandNadene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We visited the Merrill Inn to celebrate Valentine's day. It was our first of hopefully many visits to this large, old, well decorated and welcoming Inn. There was a wine tasting, accompanied by a platter of local cheeses, held in the afternoon in the main lounge. Wonderful touch, and we were able to chat with some of the guests.
It was the dinner in the onsite restaurant (not sure if it has a name), that sealed the deal. We are hard markers when it comes to food. If we dine out, we expect food to be prepared from scratch. The food was indeed that, coupled with very attentive service. The dining room is small, but they have managed to place the tables so that every diner has some privacy in conversation. Oh, also, there is no annoying, overly loud music blaring. As you can see, it was a most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosslessfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We arrived for a mid-winter get away I booked as a Christmas present for my wife. This was our first experience with the inn. We enjoyed everything- reception, dinner, our room, breakfast in the morning etc. The owner and staff were all friendly and helpfull. They provided good suggestions on places to visit. Their ideas for local wine pairings with our meal were spot on. Our dinner was excellent. The presentation was appealing with a taste equal to that or better. Breakfast was simple and enjoyable.
The whole experience was great- very good value for our money. Thank you Edward. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Elegant, well-appointed, comfortable room with fireplace and new upholstery very well-done. Appealing living room - antiques and local art. This is an inn that shows it is part of and supporting the local community all year.

Welcoming, knowledgeable, friendly owner and staff in the office and in the restaurant.

Excellent chef and restaurant.

Well-located inn in a very interesting area of Ontario.

A return visit that was everything one could want in an inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KraftOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellford, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Merrill Inn on three separate occasions and have been overwhelmed each time by the atmosphere, food and service. We are consistently warmly greeted. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms have all been very comfortable and tastefully decorated. And the food has been consistently excellent.

We would highly recommend the Merrill Inn if you are looking for a spot to stay and dine in Prince Edward County.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpeikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Inn

Property: Merrill Inn
Address: 343 Main Street East, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Merrill Hotel Picton
Merrill Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing