We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Little for Too Much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Too Little for Too Much”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

One night at this location felt like a giant rip off. Last minute to find something in the area. One night in a 'beach villa' ended up being over $300. We decided to enjoy the restaurant but the menu was average at best and we couldn't enjoy the patio as there was a wedding party so we left. The fire pits that were shared were already 'taken' by other families. The villa should have its own pit at least for the price you pay!! The beach was nice but for one night this just wasn't worth it. The only good thing at Isiah Tubbs was a giant tub in the midst of our living area. Seriously.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    108
    72
    90
    122
See reviews for
163
148
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just spent two nights here with my company. As we have to "double up" on rooms was not looking forward to it, I was surprised that my colleague and I had a "suite that had two rooms and a sitting room. My room was sparsely furnished, dim and musty - the blinds were very hard to open and the window with the air conditioner in had a piece of plywood where the glass should have been! My colleague's room was a lot nicer with a TV in it and a king size bed. The bathroom was big but could do with updating, almost fell in the bathroom when getting out of the shower as tub is so high off of the floor - need a sign to advise!

The location is fantastic, the grounds are well kept - Staff are very nice and helpful - but as people have said it could do with an update.

I would go back with my husband and give it a try next summer as I love the location, and maybe they would have updated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineStR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Stirling, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lots of positives about this place. The grounds, the location, the restaurant. Really liked the pub and the deck overlooking the water. However, the rooms are terribly dated, and a very much overpriced. Although this is mentioned time and time again, it looks like ownership doesn't care.
A little calcium on your gravel roads wouldn't hurt in keeping the dust down either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivansine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very run down property. The location is lovely, right on the lake, but unfortunately wasted with this resort. The rooms were dark, musty and mouldy. The walls and floors so thin we were awoken numerous times by the neighbours simply moving around upstairs and beside us.
To make matters worse it is extremely overpriced.
The restaurant was not bad however and had lovely views of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 7tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just got home from there today. I'm not the type to stay at a place like this, I prefer 4-5 star hotels so I kind of lowered the bar of expectations. It did however exceed my expectations. As mentioned before if they invested some money into reno's it could go along way. I do believe the prices are on the high side. We paid $230 a night for a Jacuzzi sweet over the labour day weekend. I'd say it's worth 150-170 but we waited till the last minute.

Compared to the other resorts I'd say it's a good size. Remember your paying for the location and a lot of those resorts/hotel keep that camp feel to it. We got lucky and had a nice Jacuzzi room which worked out perfect as it was on the ground floor and had a door to walk out to the pool. Which was fun one drunken night watching tv in the Jacuzzi and than jumping in the pool as there weren't hours for the outdoor pool. For future vistors don't ruin that by becoming drunk and loud at night and making them post pool hours.

There was also free bags of ice available daily and a free guest pass to the park which will save you $16. I never tried the restaurant, we actually found this really cute craft brewery and restaurant just pass picton that was amazing.

The last night we grabbed a 6 pack and sat down near the waterfront and just watched the shooting stars. Overall it's a decent resort and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBlanchard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went to the restaurant of this hotel to get some dinner, since it had been recommended to us and it was close to our B&B.
The first waitress was nice, took our order, told us there was no problem to have the food take-away (which was very welcome) and told us it would take about 30 minutes to prepare.
So we went for a walk and when we came back, a different waitress was there and she didn't acknowledge us at all, she just kept chatting with a friend that was there.
After waiting for a while, we bypassed her and asked for our meal to the bar tender.
We took it to the B&B and... surprise!
My pulled pork sandwich had become an order of pulled pork poutines and the two orders of quesadillas were missing the sour cream.
We called the restaurant and explained what had happened: altough they apologized, they didn't offer us to exchange the wrong meal or to deliver it to us (we were staying quite close to the resort).
They only offered us a 20% discount on our next order (which of course, we didn't use and also, it was a standard offer they had for coupons we were given to by our B&B).
To sum up: bad service and, on top of that, the quality of the food wasn't even good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just had a weekend here. Peak season, last minute booking. We paid $450 a night for the Lodge 2 location, midway between the pool and the lake. We had 4 adults and 4 children in there. it was tight but you can make do. For the money it worked but believe me, you are not getting luxury or high end space. Everything is old and could use a makeover, but proximity to Sandbanks and the provincial park is great and they give you a day pass too which was great. Staff were nice and very helpful - Dave at the Knoll restaurant was a great guy who knows how to wait table and take care of the guests. It's a good base but don't expect much from the facility.

Room Tip: Lodge one is closer to the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Myles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
8.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
19.1 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
453 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Tubbs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Tubbs Resort

Property: Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Address: 1642 County Road 12, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaiah Tubbs Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Isaiah Tubbs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaiah Tubbs Hotel Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Resort Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing