We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My first posting on Trip advisor, and it has to be a negative one, *sigh*

We booked 2 rooms at the Inn last weekend for a wedding nearby, just for the connivence of the location. The rooms were stuffed and hot when we went in, it was so dark even with al the lights (40 watt?) on, we finally found the switch to turn on the old window type air conditioner then went out for a walk, the ground and set up is pretty good, but very run down, can't imagine how you can walk if it rains, it will be all muddy, luckily the weather was very nice during our stay.

We had dinner there the first night, the servers are friendly and the food is good, but the service was SLOW beyond imagination.

One of our rooms has its back door adjacent to the heated pool, which is nice for the kids, that room (106) has more light, our room (107) only has a small window in the front, it has a second level (really an attic) with another single bed, but the air conditioner blasting right on the head of the person on the bed, both levels remain dark all day. Don't stay at 107!

We didn't expect a 5 star resort, but with the price we paid - roughly $200 a night per room, is it too much to ask for at least a 3 star accommodation? The place has great potential, but everything is old and tired, needs serious renovation to charge people this kind of price. No screen door for the room, mosquitoes followed us right in.

If it's $100 a night, I might give it a 3.5, if not for the private beach with beautiful sunset, it would have been a 1 for $200. Substandard.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    98
    66
    87
    119
See reviews for
148
141
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We used to have a house trailer on this property till it was converted to Isaiah Tubbs. Love the location, property, sandbanks. This property is pristine and the customer service is wonderful.
We stayed in #116 and 117 and could not believe how spacious and modern and clean both rooms are. Staff are very helpful and if you call for anything it is followed through right away and pleasantly so.

Great resort for kids to run around and safe, fishing is great, my husband and son in law caught pike and bass right offshore. Sandbanks beach is very close and very kid friendly.

We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant on resort and were very happy with both meals.
The service in restaurant was extremely friendly and wonderful.

We are going back in two weeks and this is like going home for us. Have stayed in 5 star resorts and did not have the service we had here.

Have read some reviews and do not understand negative comments about grounds. The property is very well kept and guests have to remember some of the units are cottages and normally they are kept rustic but clean. As I said before we stayed in 116 and 117 and they were very spacious with large Jacuzzi tubs and separate showers and quite up to date.

So we shall be back in two week for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had stayed in a cottage/loft close to lake before but this time we had #116 and #116 and they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this resort in mid June. While the resort itself is quite acceptable, the bed we had the first night squeaked so I woke my wife up every time I moved. We got another room the next night which was better. The breakfasts were good, the dinner was also good but we had roast beef which was like beef flavoured chewing gum. The surrounding area with its art studios, wineries combined with Lake Ontario and the Bay of Quinte is very beautiful.

Room Tip: Get separate beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a property that I would have liked to have stayed in a decade, or two ago. However, time has not been kind to it. From an outsiders perspective it looks very much like the owners have been taking all of their profits and investing little to nothing back into the property.

Our room was small and smelly. The bed was rock hard. The pillows were lumpy. Then there were the mosquitoes.

On a positive note, the view from the patio at the restaurant was lovely indeed. Just make sure you finish before sun down (or I should say mosquito up). Food was average and overpriced.

All in all disappointing. Not terrible, but disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iveyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights June 27th and 29th, 2014. This resort is in very bad shape, our rooms were dirty, the grounds and beach are not kept. They charged our credit card the full amount 2 weeks before our stay, stating that it is their policy to charge in full for stays booked during the Canada Day long weekend. They said it was more convenient for the guest to do so....riiiiiight.
We booked 2 rooms in the Annex, but we immediately requested to be moved because the rooms smelt like tar. They agreed to move us to the Inn, but not without stating that the price would be considerably more expensive than an Annex room…
At the Inn rooms our mattresses were very old and didn’t have protectors. The air conditioners were full of mold, and most of the light bulbs were burnt-out.

The rooms did not have actual coffee cups; I suppose drinking coffee in a paper cup not design for hot beverages is part of the experience…

The property has 2 ponds that serve as mosquito incubators, and the guests are the bug food.

The staff at the reception were rude and unhelpful.

The restaurant served pub style food, service was a good at dinner. Breakfast buffet was terrible and the service was none existent.

The pool area is clean, but there is a hole covered by a metal plate. My son slipped and fell while walking over it.

For the amount they charge, which is the same as the Westin in Montreal, we expected more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I hadn't checked Trip Advisor before booking. The poor rating is accurate in this case. We travel several times a year locally and internationally and for the most part have positive experiences. We reserved a deluxe jacuzzi room with fireplace, King bed & pullout couch. Technically yes there was a tub and fireplace but the bed looked like a double bed. When I mentioned this at the front desk, the clerk told me others have complained as well but it was a Queen size as they measured it with measuring tape. The explained reason for getting the "Queen" instead of King size was that some rooms come with a Queen bed and the person reserving was new and the codes were confusing. End of story. The room was very dated (think trickling shower nozzle, rusted sink, grungy 60's faucet) and the carpet looked like something you shouldn't walk on with bare feet. No linens were provided for the pullout couch (like the carpet it didn't inspire sitting on). The buildings had peeling paint. The food in the dining room at the Restaurant on the Knoll was a welcome highlight (5 star) with the exception of one garden salad (we ate dinner there twice) which was well past the expiration date (think mouldy leaves in every fork full). We won't be going back to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Extremely disappointed in room, very tired , musty, hole in ceiling covered by duct tape. this poor resort has had no upkeep, it is well past it's prime. Not suitable for elderly people as many rooms have shower in the loft (no light in shower) peeling wallpaper, cracked, dirty sinks, mouldy, worn furniture, not worth the money! Cigarette burns in carpet, nasty stuff floated out of the chugging a/c, I think it was mould? Cracked tiles, looks like a 5 year old caulked the bathroom sink, overall very dank, dreary and disappointing, REFUSED to refund us even though we viewed 5 rooms, none of which I would care to stay in, in the end forced to stay, didn't use showers, too creeped out, do not recommend.

Room Tip: The only way you should stay here is if you manage to get the beach houses, otherwise, YIKES. Way ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saketm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
8.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandbanks Beach Resort
Sandbanks Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Tubbs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Tubbs Resort

Property: Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Address: 1642 County Road 12, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaiah Tubbs Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Isaiah Tubbs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaiah Tubbs Hotel Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Resort Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing