We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outrageous prices, bad experience - ruined the beginning of our vacation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isaiah Tubbs Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outrageous prices, bad experience - ruined the beginning of our vacation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I usually try and provide a balanced review of any place we've stayed and share both the high and low points bearing in mind that a lot of variables are involved in the experience at any property. I'm disappointed to say I can't do that for Isaiah Tubbs, and if they hadn't processed my payment in advance would never have stayed.

We spent a night at the resort about two weeks ago before beginning a one week stay in a house rental and can say that the negative comments by other reviewers were absolutely right - I wish I'd checked this site before booking, but we've stayed in the area for many years and driven by many times so thought we knew what to expect.

We were VERY wrong, and will NEVER return ... the price was excessively high for one night in a cottage, but initially I thought it might be worth it for the extra room and view. Not only was it not worth the money, but after complaining to the front desk about the terrible mattresses when checking out and being told "sorry, we've heard that from other guests" I am appalled that management would not bother to listen to customer complaints - clearly this is not a new issue.

We were in cottage 4, here's the list of issues : the door and lock didn't fit or work well, so it either didn't close properly or (the next morning) trapped us inside the cottage requiring rescue by maintenance; the beds and mattresses were terrible - hard and lumpy, worse than my previous worst hotel mattress experience; the fridge was gross, rusted and old - we only kept drinks in there and it was unpleasant opening it every time; the window screens were coming off at least 3 windows and on a hot day/evening meant we couldn't open the windows to get a breeze; the television set had terrible reception - the few channels we could find were mostly snow and impossible to watch; the lodge restaurant (where we had appetizers on the patio to save time) was very under-serviced - it took us 90 minutes to get 3 appetizers and 3 desserts (to go!) and we paid a very high financial premium for not leaving the grounds for dinner; our cottage phone message light was flashing the next morning but message service was unavailable - front desk staff didn't know this until I reported it and they checked their own mail ... I could go on and on but I think I've made my point.

The final straw was the drunken guests (probably a stag) that were in a couple of cottages and partied until late in the evening in the shared central area; once they left, another group started a bonfire on the beach and had very loud drunken conversations from 3-6AM ... when I finally got up to go and speak to them (I now know much more about their relationships than I ever wanted to!) I discovered we were locked in and had to be rescued. I realize that management cannot be held accountable for the behaviour of guests, but they should have been asked to lower their voices or relocate their party. We left as soon as we could that morning.

These cottages are not rustic - they're decrepit and run down. We have stayed in a wide variety of places across Canada and the U.S. and this sets a new low. For more than the price of an excellent room with a view in a 4 star downtown Toronto hotel they should at least provide a decent mattress and address maintenance issues.

We have been vacationing in the County for many years (since I was a child) and love everything about it. We have stayed in several of the local B&B's, motels and house rentals as well as camped at the Park, so we have a reasonable perspective on the range of accommodations available. We will return to the County with pleasure but never to this resort, the only redeeming thing I can say is that the over-priced food at the lodge was OK. Save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carmel_McMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    98
    65
    85
    118
See reviews for
147
140
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very lovely location, but the cottage was dirty and in dire need of attention. Kitchen counter and taps were falling apart. The sheets on the pullout couch were dirty and had rust on them. We had to by a foam mattress and new sheets for it. The bunk beds in the bedroom were unsafe, one rickety support holding up the top bunk. When we lifted up the picnic table to move it a few feet the seat came off and there was only I plastic outdoor chair provided.
The main building of the resort also looked very rundown. There was an air conditioner in the window, which looked to have mildew all around it and there was a distinct musty smell when we passed by outside.
The priced we paid for this mess was robbery. I've travelled extensively and have never encountered such conditions, even when staying in 3rd world countries in Africa.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main building or the cottages, the newer lodge buildings may be more acceptabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family consisting of grandparents in their 70’s, kids around 40 and grandchildren from 5 to 9 recently spent time in two cottages on the Isaiah Tubbs property. While rustic, the cottages were perfect for energetic children who wanted to sleep in bunk beds, play games outside and have a screened porch for meals and table games. Our children and their parents liked the space on the grounds for playing games like soccer and frisbee. The inclusion of a pass for the beautiful Sandbanks Provincial Park and having a pool on site contributed to a great time in the water. Grandma appreciated the good Correl dishes and pots and pans for making breakfast and lunch. We went to the on-site restaurant for our evening meals where the food was very good quality and our children were welcomed and well catered to by the wait staff. We had so much fun we are thinking of doing it again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in Cottage 5 so I can only comment on the state of this cottage. When we first walked in we were utterly stunned. We now know why they charge the full amount up front. We would have immediately left if it wasn't already paid for. The baseboards looked like they had never been cleaned. We had to cover the pull-out couch with a blanket. The fabric part of the seats of the kitchen chairs were so dirty I had to cover them with towels. When my sister picked up her laptop which had been sitting on the hearth of the fireplace stove it was covered with ants. We had to make a trip into Picton to buy ant traps. Every time we opened a curtain the rod would fall off the window. The hot water tap in the bathroom broke (the water wouldn't turn off) so we had to place a 1 kg jar of peanut butter on the tap to stop it from running. The creaky screen door wouldn't open one day when we were outside so we had to carry the picnic table to the back of the cottage and place it under the kitchen window so I could climb in through the window and open the door from the inside. The mattress on the pull-out was so uncomfortable we had to buy a foam topper - another trip to Picton. On a positive note the staff is extremely friendly and the food in the restaurant is excellent. Unless this resort undergoes some major renovations we won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 days. The resort has a lot to offer, but our room overall was very disappointing, even though it backed right on to the swimming pool. When we arrived, we had to call for someone to come and clean a mass of cobwebs from around the air conditioner. Then, when I went to open the window in the bathroom, it wouldn't move because it had basically rotted so badly the frame was in pieces. There was a wicker table and chairs in the room that was a disgrace. Where the glass top sat on the edge of wicker frame there were lots of small bits and pieces of food and who knows what! Lastly the TV reception (satellite) was minimal and of poor quality. As this was a celebration of my wife's birthday, it was very unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the original farm house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My first posting on Trip advisor, and it has to be a negative one, *sigh*

We booked 2 rooms at the Inn last weekend for a wedding nearby, just for the connivence of the location. The rooms were stuffed and hot when we went in, it was so dark even with al the lights (40 watt?) on, we finally found the switch to turn on the old window type air conditioner then went out for a walk, the ground and set up is pretty good, but very run down, can't imagine how you can walk if it rains, it will be all muddy, luckily the weather was very nice during our stay.

We had dinner there the first night, the servers are friendly and the food is good, but the service was SLOW beyond imagination.

One of our rooms has its back door adjacent to the heated pool, which is nice for the kids, that room (106) has more light, our room (107) only has a small window in the front, it has a second level (really an attic) with another single bed, but the air conditioner blasting right on the head of the person on the bed, both levels remain dark all day. Don't stay at 107!

We didn't expect a 5 star resort, but with the price we paid - roughly $200 a night per room, is it too much to ask for at least a 3 star accommodation? The place has great potential, but everything is old and tired, needs serious renovation to charge people this kind of price. No screen door for the room, mosquitoes followed us right in.

If it's $100 a night, I might give it a 3.5, if not for the private beach with beautiful sunset, it would have been a 1 for $200. Substandard.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We used to have a house trailer on this property till it was converted to Isaiah Tubbs. Love the location, property, sandbanks. This property is pristine and the customer service is wonderful.
We stayed in #116 and 117 and could not believe how spacious and modern and clean both rooms are. Staff are very helpful and if you call for anything it is followed through right away and pleasantly so.

Great resort for kids to run around and safe, fishing is great, my husband and son in law caught pike and bass right offshore. Sandbanks beach is very close and very kid friendly.

We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant on resort and were very happy with both meals.
The service in restaurant was extremely friendly and wonderful.

We are going back in two weeks and this is like going home for us. Have stayed in 5 star resorts and did not have the service we had here.

Have read some reviews and do not understand negative comments about grounds. The property is very well kept and guests have to remember some of the units are cottages and normally they are kept rustic but clean. As I said before we stayed in 116 and 117 and they were very spacious with large Jacuzzi tubs and separate showers and quite up to date.

So we shall be back in two week for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had stayed in a cottage/loft close to lake before but this time we had #116 and #116 and they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
5.9 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
8.1 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
17.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
7.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Tubbs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Tubbs Resort

Property: Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Address: 1642 County Road 12, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaiah Tubbs Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Isaiah Tubbs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaiah Tubbs Hotel Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Resort Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing