We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Hayes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hayes Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

A boutique B&B. clean beautiful modern rooms. This place is for people who like the classic yet modern take. If you personally don't like the typical B&B experience which sometimes can feel like a grandma house - this place is for you, it's beautiful and you get the privacy you want as you check yourself in.

Breakfast included was a 5/5, my boyfriend and I are definite "foodies", and this breakfast was perfect. Steve the inn keeper is a chef, and there's no better breakfast you'll find.

Steve was extremely helpful explaining about the county and recommending different wineries.

This place couldn't have been any better, except for the location which is a bit far from the specific wineries we wanted but there were plenty others nearby and that's why it was a 3/5. But that's not the Inn's fault of course and we had a car so no big deal to drive around anyways.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank washingtongoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Hayes Inn is special. We experienced excellent hospitality, charming rooms and excellent food. in a renovated 1838 inn. The nineteenth century ambiance was maintained while modern amenities gave every comfort. The large bathroom and comfortable bed in an immaculate room made for a very enjoyable stay. Our host Steve, an outstanding chef, started our day off with one of the best breakfasts we have ever eaten. If you are heading to Piction this is "the" place to stay.

Room Tip: All four rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavigne285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We feel we found something very special here and can't wait to go back. The setting is bucolic, the room was charming and the bed was easily the most comfortable I've every slept in. I would love to have a bathroom just like the ensuite especially the spacious shower with the large rain head and glass door. Our friendly and talented host/chef Steve spoiled us with his excellent breakfasts. Make sure you check out the restored painted scenes on panels in the dining room, original to the inn, a treasure for sure. Unfortunately the dry summer had had taken quite a toll on the garden but nonethless we enjoyed a lovely boxed lunch purchased in Picton comfortably seated in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I were in Picton for a wedding and stayed at Hayes Inn. We found the bedroom to be tastefully furnished, with a large, modern bathroom attached. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very clean. The breakfast the next morning is one of the better breakfasts we have ever eaten. Steve Chaves took very good care of us, and is an excellent chef! Everything about our stay was top notch, and we will definitely stay here again when next in the Picton area. Thank you, Steve, for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAAKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Beautiful house - very tastefully renovated 19th century hotel, very quiet, serene, light and clean, with AC
Welcoming host and amenities - bar with fruit and cookies, local wine and beer, and non-alcoholic beverages; host Steve is an excellent cook and produces two warm courses for breakfast, a savory and a sweet course, along with a choice of traditional cereals and fruits.

Beautiful setting - we enjoyed biking around Prince Edward County visiting the beautiful shorelines and other landscape attractions, farms, vineyards, cheese factory and little towns.

Conclusion: you won't regret your stay at Hayes Inn.

Room Tip: We really liked the King room, because it had windows toward two building walls, which made it very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As the others have said this is a different kind of B&B. We unexpectedly met Steve when we arrived so we got a personal introduction to the house. Cookies, muffins, tea, wine and beer were all on offer. Steve's breakfasts are incredible. We woke to a view of the trees and birds singing outside of our second floor window. The first morning we had a breakfast appetizer of a small piece of french toast, yogurt, granola and plums. Then came the egg second course. We couldn't eat lunch until mid afternoon. That evening we headed down the road for to Wauposs Estates Winery. Returning felt like coming home - to music and a glass of wine. The second morning we had the egg dish first (the best poached eggs I've ever had!) and breakfast dessert - Portugese Malasadas or donuts. Really wonderful! The rooms aren't large but the bathrooms are very nicely done and very clean. Having the place to ourselves in the evening was very special. If you go don't forget to take a closer look at the painted panels in the breakfast room. They are original to this 1830s inn. This is really the best B&B ever!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It's really not quite an inn -- as it's far too personal to be an inn, so don't expect stuffy inn service. Instead, consider this to be the best that the County has to offer. Great breakfasts, with an amuse bouche, and carefully prepared and presented dishes by Steve Chaves, who is also a chef passionate about his work. The rooms are lovely, and sparse in keeping with the heritage home this is, and is entirely appropriate. This isn't like staying with your aunt or grandmother Best things -- evenings there are quiet, great music, small snacks of fruits, with a wide choice of beverages. We've been going to out to the County for years, and we've stayed at countless B&Bs. This is the best without question.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
8.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
439 reviews
6.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
148 reviews
22.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
16.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Inn

Address: 2319 County Road 8 | N. Marysburgh Ward, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £124 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hayes Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing