We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn with boutique amenities”
Review of Hayes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hayes Inn
Ranked #9 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This lovingly restored inn dates from 1838, but the amenities that make it feel like a boutique hotel, including a walk-in shower, "Face" toiletries, and a comfortable bed. Indulge yourself. It's around the corner from a winery, pick-your-own blueberries and Lake Ontario. The gourmet breakfast was served by the charming chef himself, Steve. We were able to go bicycling, using this lovely location as our base.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzSimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I almost don't want to put a review up saying how fabulous this place is because we want to keep this gem to ourselves! :) We stayed at Hayes Inn only for one night while on our way back from Quebec city. The experience was fantastic! The inn itself is old and quaint, but it has been renovated to perfection. It only has 4 rooms, so it is quiet and intimate. There is a main salon area with games and a dvd selection. We arrived and found we could help ourselves to freshly baked goodies and a beer or wine. The rooms are comfortable with a very comfortable bed...the bathroom is newly renovated with a huge shower. It was clean and bright, and there is a tv in the room as well.

Finally, Steve the chef and manager made the experience so enjoyable. He is a trained chef, and provided one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. We wished we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely be back again to enjoy the county and this lovely inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Hayes Inn recently with our three year old son and the experience was terrific. Here is an historic home restored and updated with every convenience, perched above a quiet road overlooking the Prince Edward County shoreline; just wonderful. Close to attractions, vineyards, restaurants, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquil life in the County. Our host Steve was sensational, cooking exquisite breakfasts, and providing an overall helpful and upbeat tone to our stay. He really cares about his guests and it shows. We can't wait to return for another County getaway. We highly recommend this Inn as a top notch experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Hayes Inn last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Inn itself has retained its original charm while offering many modern comforts in the guest rooms (good lighting, a fantastic walk-in shower, flat screen TV and very comfortable beds). We were travelling with our 7 year old son and had ample space for a roll-away bed in our room. Other reviewers have praised Innkeeper, Steve Chaves, and I would join in that chorus of rave reviews. In addition to being a wonderful host, Steve is a fabulous cook and terrific resource about things to do in the County. The breakfasts were original and outstanding and, as a special treat, we had Steve prepare a blind tasting menu with local produce on Saturday night. We brought our own wines and were swooning over the 5 courses that Steve presented - it was an outstanding meal and we really felt we enjoyed the specialties of the County. The Hayes Inn really is a quiet country Inn and a great base for exploring Prince Edward County. We'll be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayflemng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This inn has old world charm with all the modern amenities. The rooms and ensuite are beautifully appointed with modern fixtures, great lighting, windows that open to the sounds of nature and soft breezes, gorgeous linens and towels but the real gem is Steve. His hospitality made our stay so enjoyable and his breakfasts were definitely memorable. We have never had such scrumptious breakfasts before, which included picture perfect appetizers for breakfast. He accommodated my gluten and dairy free requests beautifully and everything was so delicious.The plates were always like a work of art. In addition at the end of a day of biking we were treated to more tasty treats (both gluten-free and regular) and complimentary beverages (wine from local winery). Steve always had a friendly smile and easy going charm and he was wonderful at helping us navigate our way around the county. Finding the Hayes Inn was definitely the highlight of our stay in the county.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jksouth_5447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I love this place. Comfy beds, great shower, free wine and drinks, nice ambiance. What more could you ask for.

Steve the innkeeper is not only a great chef, but a great guy.

We're now absolutely spoiled -- we're never going anywhere else in the county as long as Steve is at Hayes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The perfect getaway in an idyllic setting, the Hayes Inn delights at every turn. Upon arrival we enjoyed exploring this beautifully-restored old home, from the cozy lounge equipped with easy chairs, a library and a satellite-TV; to the dining room and breakfast nook; to the charming gardens, which even feature a wooden swing hanging from a tree branch. The host, Steve, a trained chef, made us feel right at home in this tastefully-appointed boutique B&B by welcoming us with a complimentary glass of wine from the region's vineyards and spoiling us with gourmet breakfasts both mornings of our stay. We can't say enough about the quality of the food -- just the breakfast alone made the trip from Ottawa worthwhile. Our lovely queen room was decorated to fit the grandeur of the old home, yet with all the modern amenities you'd find in a top-end hotel. The Inn even offers free wi-fi and a selection of DVDs that you can watch snuggled up in your room. Best suited for folks looking for a break from the city and who enjoy being woken up to the sound of birds chirping and the smell of fresh coffee before facing a day of winery-tripping.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capital_Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
8.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
5.8 mi away
The June Motel
The June Motel
#7 of 41 in Picton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Inn

Address: 2319 County Road 8 | N. Marysburgh Ward, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £124 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hayes Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing