We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hayes Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mapiya Retreat(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queen's Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
81
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarzipanmodern amenitiescomfortable bedrain headdefinitely plan to returnperfect balancewarm receptionlocal ingredientswaupoos wineryprince edward countygreat hostshistorical buildingrain showerbeautiful bathroomstayed two nightscounty roadlast minute booking
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It has been a month and a half since we visited and we still find ourselves saying that our trip to Hayes Inn was the highlight of our summer and we have recommended it to everyone we know who are visiting PEC.

The beautifully renovated inn is the perfect balance between the heritage, vintage feel of a country inn and the luxurious, well appointed, modern feel of a boutique hotel. There is no one there when you check-in but the process is very easy and it is fun to have some time on your own to explore the beautiful inn and its grounds. It was really perfect.

The highlight though (as if the comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom weren't enough) was the hospitality that we received. Steve was very friendly, extremely helpful when we were planning our day around the county and an AMAZING chef! Our breakfasts were amazing (we are now of the opinion that breakfast appetizers should be commonplace!). We also really appreciated the emphasis on local ingredients.

The inn is also well-situated in the county - nothing is very far away but after a day of following crowds in big buses from winery to winery we really appreciated being able to retreat back to our private corner of the island and enjoy a glass of wine/beer (on the house).

We have both travelled extensively and I myself work in a renowned country inn and all in all we agreed that our stay at Hayes Inn exceeded our expectations and was among the best inns that we have stayed it - especially for the price! Hayes Inn is a great choice for young couples looking for an independent, quiet getaway while still being pampered. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The room with the King bed was quiet, looking out into trees but was a little warm at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This lovingly restored inn dates from 1838, but the amenities that make it feel like a boutique hotel, including a walk-in shower, "Face" toiletries, and a comfortable bed. Indulge yourself. It's around the corner from a winery, pick-your-own blueberries and Lake Ontario. The gourmet breakfast was served by the charming chef himself, Steve. We were able to go bicycling, using this lovely location as our base.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzSimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I almost don't want to put a review up saying how fabulous this place is because we want to keep this gem to ourselves! :) We stayed at Hayes Inn only for one night while on our way back from Quebec city. The experience was fantastic! The inn itself is old and quaint, but it has been renovated to perfection. It only has 4 rooms, so it is quiet and intimate. There is a main salon area with games and a dvd selection. We arrived and found we could help ourselves to freshly baked goodies and a beer or wine. The rooms are comfortable with a very comfortable bed...the bathroom is newly renovated with a huge shower. It was clean and bright, and there is a tv in the room as well.

Finally, Steve the chef and manager made the experience so enjoyable. He is a trained chef, and provided one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. We wished we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely be back again to enjoy the county and this lovely inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Hayes Inn recently with our three year old son and the experience was terrific. Here is an historic home restored and updated with every convenience, perched above a quiet road overlooking the Prince Edward County shoreline; just wonderful. Close to attractions, vineyards, restaurants, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquil life in the County. Our host Steve was sensational, cooking exquisite breakfasts, and providing an overall helpful and upbeat tone to our stay. He really cares about his guests and it shows. We can't wait to return for another County getaway. We highly recommend this Inn as a top notch experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Hayes Inn last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Inn itself has retained its original charm while offering many modern comforts in the guest rooms (good lighting, a fantastic walk-in shower, flat screen TV and very comfortable beds). We were travelling with our 7 year old son and had ample space for a roll-away bed in our room. Other reviewers have praised Innkeeper, Steve Chaves, and I would join in that chorus of rave reviews. In addition to being a wonderful host, Steve is a fabulous cook and terrific resource about things to do in the County. The breakfasts were original and outstanding and, as a special treat, we had Steve prepare a blind tasting menu with local produce on Saturday night. We brought our own wines and were swooning over the 5 courses that Steve presented - it was an outstanding meal and we really felt we enjoyed the specialties of the County. The Hayes Inn really is a quiet country Inn and a great base for exploring Prince Edward County. We'll be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayflemng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews