We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not stay as gluten free status over-rated”
Review of Miss Lily's Cafe

Miss Lily's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: coffee shop and book store
toronto
Level Contributor
175 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Did not stay as gluten free status over-rated”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This review might be somewhat unfair as we did not stay to sample the coffees or food as one of us is gluten intolerant. Reading reviews and the website, we thought there would eb abundant choice of gluten free options for bfast-there were NOT. Just some cookies and treats, not even a muffin. Hence we chose not to stay. We don't know if others had greater choice but our experience was little to no gluten free options, contrary to what seemed to be advertised.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
406 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Overnight visit to Prince Edward County”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stopped in for dessert - enjoyed great tasting coffees and teas, and wonderful home made cookies (both peanut butter & oatmeal raisin), and yummy butter tarts with very flaky crusts and sweet filling. Delicious! Plus, afterwards, you can wander about Books & Company looking at all the interesting books and gift ware. Great place to stop, browse, and have a treat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Country Cafe”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Small, quaint, clean and friendly. Located on Main Street Picton toward the east end of town just before the fork in the road. I love sitting at one of the little tables in the old store front window looking out onto Main Street, leisurely watching the world pass by.
Yesterday afternoon I decided to drop by for a latte/peanut butter cookie and read the local paper. The latte and cookie were delicious and the paper does not come out until today. Oh well.
The service is great even if it is only counter service and the atmosphere is nice, you cannot go wrong spending an hour or so here. Drop by for a coffee, tea, sandwich or baked goods. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photogirl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where half of Picton meets”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Miss Lilys has become the place where half of Picton appears to meet. It has a real cafe atmosphere where you're welcome to sit for a while, talk with friends, read the paper, lor og on the internet. As a local person I find I will run into several people I know if I sit there for long enough to enjoy one of their excellent cappuccinos. I also enjoy the tasty (but wholesome) sandwiches and soups and it is my favourite lunch spot in Picton.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyOmnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Bright, cheery, classy, except for the service!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A charming French-influenced cafe, with modern, clean decor and a good selection of light food, baked goods, and coffee options. Prices are fairly good for a tourist town. Where Miss Lily's falls short, however, is the service. Counter service only, and it's hardly attentive or friendly. Customers must jump up to fetch their orders at the counter, and signage throughout the place feels a bit chastizing. However, it's not enough to wreck the cheery and light ambiance over all. PS: Adjacent bookstore is a great place to spend an hour and some cash!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McMarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Lily's Cafe also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Miss Lily's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing