We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee ever!”
Review of Miss Lily's Cafe

Miss Lily's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: coffee shop and book store
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee ever!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I just had a coffee here...I really was having a coffee craving. I got a small and wished I'd got the largest size possible. So tasty, fresh and lovely. Will definitely return. Best coffee I've had in a long time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great homemade food and baking”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had pea soup and an egg salad sandwich that were perfectly complemented by Ceylon tea. Service is friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, well preprared food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This café (beside its praiseworthy association with a bookstore) is typical of the cafés that spring up in zones being gentrified (you know: old building left "en son jus", organic food, shelves with fair-trade goods, cute mugs, cook's aprons, esoteric balsamic vinegar). You get your own food from the counter.
It makes for a great lunch place, and also, which is less common in North America, a place where you can enjoy their great home blend coffee while reading newspapers or books, or even work. which patrons certainly were doing when we visited.
The food is excellent, the list of lunch dishes is short but original, and the tables spaced sufficiently far apart that, if you are careful, your conversation will not disturb the readers.
Caution though: there seems to be a dress code for gentlemen: mandatory goatee, preferably salt and pepper, white is OK; then EITHER: T shirt celebrating a cultural event, or a distant beach (Thailand, Chile), shorts( this was the 1stday of June), sandals. OR: open neck short sleeve, button-down collar fine checkered shirt, cuffed shorts, light coloured socks, loafers.
In both cases, one reads the Globe and Mail inside pages (Arts, Business, Books). In June, you can park your 1995 BMW 3series convertible close by on the street, which you will not be able to do during "the season", which Picton now has.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPC1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best coffee in town. Period.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

If you're looking to relax And enjoy the best coffee and sweet goodies in a very pleasent atmosphere come on in!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delightful cafe!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This cafe is so cozy and welcoming inside, with quaint seating at the front, and more couches and armchairs in the back. The coffee is wonderful - tastes freshly ground. I had a french roast on my first visit, and a delicious cappachino my second visit. Lots of sweet treats to choose from - I can recommend the ginger molasses cookie! Another nice feature is that the cafe is connected to the bookstore next door. They also offer some breakfast and lunch items. Service was friendly and so were the other customers. Highly recommend stopping in!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Lily's Cafe also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Miss Lily's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing