We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Tucked behind the church, the Manse is a gem! Lovely wraparound porch, sitting area by the waterfall and pool/hot tub. Rooms were very comfortable with nice seating areas for games and reading. Food was to die for! We had tasty smoked ribs and a salmon tartar appetizer that was delicious. Breakfast was poached eggs with a smoked tomato sauce, and awesome bacon. Chris and Kathleen were fabulous hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagelifeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
125
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently had a small wedding here over a summer weekend, and we couldn't have asked for anything nicer (and easier). Kathleen and Chris thought of everything and helped us plan a relaxing and beautiful time with our family. It all went so smoothly. We could relax, swim in the pool, hang out with our family, and eat the wonderful meals they prepared. We can't recommend it highly enough.

We rented out the entire place for the weekend, but we will definitely be back just to enjoy a room. The place is beautiful, and the location is a block from the main street but we found it very quiet. We got to see all the rooms over the weekend, and they are all very nice - tastefully decorated, comfortable, and with great showers!

The food was a highlight. Chris is an amazing chef who uses local ingredients in delicious and creative ways. Definitely get the dinner as well as the breakfast if it's an option.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their own balconeys, which are really nice. However, there's a great wra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an absolutely fabulous weekend in Picton, largely thanks to Kathleen and Chris for being such warm hosts and the beautiful Inn. Absolutely stunning, serene, wonderful in every way.
Upon arriving, Chris showed us to our rooms and set us up with a glass each of bubbly sparkling wine. (part of the romance package). We enjoyed the hot-tub for an hour, drinking our wine followed by a cocktail...can life get better? Chris recommended a local casual hangout spot for supper which was literally 100m walk away! in the morning, after an early run, we enjoyed Chris' poached eggs and home-made granola - YUMMM! Picnic was provided for us to take the beach.....what a pleasant surprise! Beautiful cold-cuts, cheese platter of local county made cheeses, home-made gluten free crakers (the best ever!)....we felt so spoilt eating that on the beach surrounded by people eating chips and pop!!! Back to the Inn for our evening meal cooked by Chris! He didn't disappoint. The bbq ribs were delicious as well as the bbq shrimps and those braised carrots were fabulous! But the bumbleberry pie was out of this world! I could have eaten a second!!!
All in all, Kathleen and Chris were exemplary hosts. Thank you for all the wine tour advice! We ended up with 2 cases back to Montreal! Thank you for making us feel like we were the only guests there!
We stayed in room 7 which was on the 3rd floor, quiet and a bit out of the way. Nice views of the gardens and pool area! Bathroom is a bit small but shower was heavenly and the decor made up for the size!
Can't wait to book a repeat visit!
Enjoy the rest of the season!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Enjoyed our first visit to The Manse this past week, based on recommendation of friends. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Manse is a beautiful building with clean, cozy, charming rooms. The shower is awesome, though the bathroom is a bit tight overall. Chris and Kathleen are wonderful hosts. Chris's food is exceptional, if you can you really should enjoy at least one dinner there and make sure you have the bacon with breakfast. Yummy. Yummy. Yummy.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the room(s) with the balcony as friends were also staying at the Inn at the same t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_C_D_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went back for our second trip to The Manse with friends and we booked the second story rooms with balcony. It was a good choice since the weather was great. Once again the dinner was outstanding and breakfasts were very tasty. Kathleen and Chris once again were exceptional hosts. Thanks for the great week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiseJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in May. The Manse exceeded our expectations in every possible way. The rooms were impeccably clean, modern, and cozy, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. Even the bathroom was very luxurious (and the shower heads <:::: were super cool!) Kathleen and Chris went out of their way to ensure that everything was to our liking. Chris’ cooking was out of this world – it truly blew us away! Definitely try his cured bacon! And the beef tenderloin was superb. Also, don’t be afraid to ask Kathleen about all the best wineries in the region – she will not lead you astray!

We would not hesitate to recommend the Manse to absolutely anybody looking for a relaxing getaway. Especially a romantic one. We will certainly be back. We cannot express enough how much we enjoyed our time at The Manse.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony! It was nice to drink our coffee out there in the morning!d
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaInToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I had the amazing opportunity to stay at The Manse during a cold winter weekend. We knew the hotel would be beautiful from the pictures, but we were stunned at the details. The décor and structural details of the rooms and common areas were beautiful. We had a chance to utilize the hot tub for a fantastic sunset dip and then enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace and then continue to relax again in the living room.

While the beautiful hotel was everything we expected, we were incredibly impressed with the hospitality and meals. The manager and chef team, Kathleen and Chris, went above and beyond to provide an incredible meal and stay. Kathleen arranged an afternoon winery tour for us, and while we hadn't planned to eat at The Manse that evening, Kathleen and Chris made room for us despite having a number of other guests for dinner. If you do nothing else in Picton, HAVE DINNER AT THE MANSE! The food was absolutely amazing and everything was sourced locally as much as possible. Plus, the atmosphere was amazing and Kathleen and Chris didn't miss a single chance to elevate our evening in every way with wine suggestions and personalized service. My husband and I both work in the financial core of Toronto and have had many meals at upscale restaurants and this was better than many of those meals in both quality of food and service.

We really loved our entire stay and look forward to staying again in the summertime. The Manse is a wonderful new addition to Picton and a must visit when in Prince Edward county.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeF0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.9 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
456 reviews
10.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
103 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa

Property: The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa
Address: 10 Chapel St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse Boutique Inn is a completely renovated 107yr old building. Modern finishes, high quality amenities and a commitment to our guests allow us to stand out in Picton.The Manse is a b&b style Inn with a dedicated couple innkeeper/chef to host your stay. We pride ourselves on a private intimate experience at The Manse.A note to unregistered guests, we are open to the public from 10am - 5pm, so that all of our attention is placed upon our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing