We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good meal at reasonable prices with freindly service”
Review of Williams Family Diner - CLOSED

Williams Family Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Good meal at reasonable prices with freindly service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Williams is a small diner in Picton which makes very good food with good ingredients. Burgers were excellent and lentil soup, homemade with interesting ingredients. Service was very good. We would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    52
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ameliasburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A welcome addition”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you have a meeting in Picton and are looking for a place to carry on the conversation over a casual lunch, the choice is limited -- especially on a Monday. So I was pleasantly surprised when a group member suggested the Williams Family Diner. It is conveniently located just off Main Street with parking alongside -- a bonus in this town. The decor is simple but the tables are placed so that one can talk with some measure of privacy. Our server was excellent -- friendly and efficient. And our food was delicious. On a recommendation, I tried the grilled cheese with balsamic roasted tomatoes. Grilled cheese is not something I would usually order in a restaurant but I was glad that I did so here. Served panini style, its lightly crunchy exterior gave way to tasty melt of three cheeses topped by thin slices of grilled tomato. The sandwich was accompanied by a slice of dill pickle and a small serving of crisp coleslaw. In addition, with each meal, there was the choice of soup, green salad, or french fries.

The menu is varied and daily specials are posted. An ideal spot with a menu that would appeal to all, this is a welcome addition to the Picton restaurant scene.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good quality, good price, large quanitites”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nothing fancy but solid food and great prices.

The menus is a bit of a grab bag which means pretty much anyone should be able to find something to enjoy.

Ideal for vacationers or families!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandomString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brats and mash...”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Okay, if you're into decor and fine dining, this is not for you. We loved this family diner, which reminded us of PEI, the dunes, and fish & chips.The diner, located across from the Giant Tiger in Piction, serves a very interesting and surprising mix of dishes: fish & chips (special of the day when we were there), brats and mash, pad thai, ginger chicken, and regular diner fare. Both my brats and mash and my husband's club sandwich were well above-par for this type of restaurant. And in spite of the noon-hour rush, our server was friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The five stars are for the service, the family-friendly atmosphere and the no frills goodness”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I'm just sorry I didn't get her name because our waitress was as good as it gets. Attentive, friendly, charming but never too much. Toronto could use about 3,000 of her.

Food is really good for the price. Upscale diner fare that is well above average without getting all tricky and overly complex about it - a great break from the hoity toity restaurants that abound in the area.

Also, the play area for kids was great. Our two-year old loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMOsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Williams Family Diner also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing