We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandbanks Beach Resort
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place is absolutely incredible! Great owners, quiet neighbours, gorgeous beach that I couldn't get enough of!! Extremely clean grounds & washrooms (showers included). Awesome fishing. My dad, mom, brother, sister and I caught tons of bass and a few pike. Just a few minutes away from Ontario Provincial Park, restaurants, mini-golf, SAND DUNES and souvenir shops!
Right when we pulled in, Tim (the owner) showed us 2 sites; both clean, quiet and peaceful (and close to the park & beach). In the little office, they had ice, tons of pamphlets and even marshmallows =D. Tim showed us the lake, also and we saw one of his workers cleaning the boat launch! The beach was amazing with a deck completed with lounge chairs and hammocks, over looking the sand dunes & trees.
All in all, it was a great vacation with lovely people! Thanks, Tim!!!!!!
-The Gundlachs, Montreal, QC

Room Tip: All of the sites are amazing!!!! Quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhiannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We (2 adults and 3 teenagers) stayed #8 cottage for 3 nights in July. It had 3 good size bed rooms, 2 were on main floor (one had a bunk bed and a single bed, other one had a queen bed) and 1 downstairs (I believe it was a double bed). There were main bathroom (main floor) and extra shower (downstairs). There were rec room downstairs which had 3 pull out couches and living room upstairs and a nice sun room. The kichen was full equipped and spacious.
The private beach was right behind the backyard. The lake view and sunset view from the cottage was beautiful! The owner, Tim was very friendly and helpful.
It took only 1 min. by a car to Sandbank beach day use area (you can easily get there by bicycle), and less than 5 min. to Outlet beach day use area. Great location!!
Only concern we had about the cottage was bed matresses. Some of them were old and not so comfortable to sleep. Other than that, everything was great!
We definitely go back again. Thank you for Tim and his team for the hard work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunshine485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have been coming to Sandbanks Beach Resort for over 25 years. And I also know of people and families that make this a regular yearly vacation. The location is bar none one of the most beautiful places in Ontario !
The owners/hosts are wonderful and do their best to accommodate almost every request which I am sure can be quite a challenge to do considering the volume of guests they have weekly.
As for the review from Fran/Franny??? Omg lol. Complete crap. All of it.
Surely she must be confused. Maybe inhaled too much bug spray or something.
I assume her issues go beyond her stay wherever that was.
If you want a family vacation on a wonderful area with your accommodations right on the beach, some of the best fishing around, gorgeous sunsets, and gracious hosts - do yourself a favour and check out Sandbanks Beach Resort.
You will be nothing but happy you did!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunny289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location! Absolutely cost a ton of money with ignorant owners. No noise is allowed at any time of day! Rules rules rules! Not even a real toilet cottages smell like septic...gross
DO NOT GO HERE IF YOURE LOOKING FOR A VACATION seriously... More rules than grade school we felt demeaned and awful Terrible family vacation

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Franny124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyDaysTraveller, Owner at Sandbanks Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

As the owner I am rather confused by this review since we have had no guests by the name of Fran or Frannie. We do have rules for quiet after 11 pm which pleases 99.9 % of our guests so we continue to insist on quiet hours after 11. If this person did actually stay at our resort (which is highly unlikely) then they did not like the quiet after 11 requirement and they chose to make disparaging remarks about our rentals that were unfounded and unnecessary.
Our guests are made aware on booking and again on arrival about our quiet after 11 requirement to assure that all guests are respected and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 2 night in a 4 bedroom cottage at Sandbanks Beach resort for a wedding, very nice location, very quiet, owners very friendly and helpful. All there rentals the customer has to bring there own towels, Sheets, dish towels, and you have to clean the cottage before you leave, garbage you have to separate garbage from recycling materials that have be disposed off in the proper containers on your way out. They provide a BBQ with propane you can use, they have fire pits but you have to buy the wood. All in all it is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angele68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Close to the end of May, my husband and I had booked a campground at Sandbanks Provincial Park. We were going with a group of people. We were expecting the weather to be nice and warm, however when we checked the temperatures the day before it was expected to be -1 on our first night of camping. My husband did a little research online and came by Tim's information. He gave him a call and was able to book a trailer for one night. This was amazing considering we were booking the day before. We were expected to get there around 6pm however did not arrive until 11pm. Tim was very accommodating and every time we called he assured us that it's not a problem and to just give him a call when we get there and he will come meet us and show us to our trailer. When we got there we actually ended up booking a second night also. We also got to meet Tim's wife. They were two of the friendliest people we have met. Despite the time, they told us about the area, things we can do and places we should see. When they took as to the trailer, it was very clean and quite specious. It had everything you might need to have a very comfortable weekend away from the busy city life.

Overall, both my husband and I had an amazing time and got to escape the cold nights while still enjoying Sandbanks and the beautiful surroundings. We would definitely recommend using Tim's services.

Salwan & Denitsa

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denitsa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

The place is very clean beautiful and close to the Sandbanks Park as well as the dunes which is a major attraction in the area.
The owners Tim and his wife were very helpful and supportive.
A must visit place and highly recommended for your vacation to Prince Edward county, picton or Sandbanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kunal_Shreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.5 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
439 reviews
8.7 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
148 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
19.6 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 8 in Belleville
496 reviews
19.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Beach Resort

Address: 1818 County Road 12 | R.R. #1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £121 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandbanks Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Sandbanks Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Beach Resort Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing