We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pied a terre in Prince Edward County” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AWAY in the County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AWAY in the County
Ranked #2 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic pied a terre in Prince Edward County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Given what we had heard, our expectations were high even before we arrived at Away in the County. They were exceeded in every way. Susan and Glen are thoughtful and attentive hosts who anticipate the needs of their guests: quaint picnic baskets provided for our use should the spirit move us, passes to Sandbanks, lovely toiletries, wine glasses and a corkscrew. Then there were all the special touches: a welcome card featuring Susan's art work, a vase of flowers from the garden, an enthusiastic and friendly greeting from Oscar, the resident basset hound. Glen's hollandaise sauce has been praised in other reviews. The praise is well deserved. It rivals any we've tasted. The muffins deserve equal recognition. And you can have as many as you want. Susan's artwork adds to the ambiance of each room and captures the essence of the countryside. In fact, each room is a work of art in itself with just the right number of decorative touches hand picked to suit the theme of the room. Many thanks to Susan and Glen for making our two day stay memorable. We'll be back for longer soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. At AWAY we try and anticipate the individual needs of our guests and do the best we can to accommodate them. We are happy to hear that the extra touches we provide met with your approval and assisted in making your stay such a positive one. Your feedback is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
136
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you have the opportunity to stay here don't even think twice about it. Don't waste time comparing it to other B&B's/inns/boutique hotels because everything about 'Away in the County' is 5 star.

Susan and Glen have thought of it all to make your stay care free and relaxed; including picnic baskets in your room that you can use, beach towels and picnic blankets, wines glasses and a corkscrew, convenient fridge, deck, patio and dock by the lake for chilling. The bedrooms are beautiful and comfortable as are the luxurious on suite bathrooms. Add to that their honest and helpful recommendations on restaurants, wineries, antique shops and beach spots.

Not to mention breakfast was a highlight of each day! Fresh, nutritious and delicious. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that our guest's time is often limited so we are happy to hear that our honest recommendations and suggestions assisted in making sure your time AWAY was pleasurable. We do hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with this entire experience. The Inn is even more beautiful than the lovely website illustrates, our hosts, Susan and Glen were warm and welcoming, the food was delicious, local and fresh, fantastic coffee (and that's really important to me!), the beds extremely comfortable, wonderful views, outstanding art and decor, etc. etc. Honestly, I can't say enough about this place. Oh, and then there's Oscar, the friendly basset who adds even more charm to the stay. We came to the island for a wedding, but hope to return just to spend more time exploring and relaxing.

Room Tip: King sized beds are not easy to find in B & B's. This one just happened to be in the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 590anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and photos you posted. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the effort we go to make your stay a memorable one. Oscar also appreciates the accolades and is starting to develop a real fan club.
We hope you will consider visiting us again if you ever find yourself out our way.

All the best.
Susan & Glen Wallis (& Oscar)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Susan and Glen have created an oasis of tranquility and sophisticated relaxation on the quiet shores if East Lake! After staying at many different properties throughout the County over the past few years, Away in the County has set a new standard of excellence. Visiting during the Terrior Wine Festival weekend, we enjoyed spectacular service and a the best B & B breakfast ever. In spite of our group's rather eclectic dietary requests, (lactose free, vegetarian, wheat free, etc), our hosts made certain everyone was happy!
Away in the County is our new favourite place to stay in PEC.
Thank you Susan, Glen and Oscar!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We try our very best to ensure the needs of our guests are met especially when it comes to dietary restrictions, food allergies and even food dislikes. Glen our resident chef is happy to modify our daily changing menu to meet our client's needs.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward having you as our guests again in the future.

Susan & Glen (& Oscar of course)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My in-laws surprised my husband and I with a weekend to Away as a wedding gift. We had never been to a "B&B" before and had our own thoughts on how the experience would be. We were both pleasantly surprised! Away in the county was beautiful. The newly renovated farmhouse was stunning! Our bedroom was very spacious, and clean. The view from our bedroom was breath taking. The owners Glen and Susan were very down to earth, polite, and accommodating. They helped us plan our weekend, even made our dinner reservations. All of their recommendations turned out to be as good as they had suggested.
Breakfast was delicious! There was a different menu every morning which included local and homegrown food. Glen was a great cook. Susan's artwork is displayed throughout the farmhouse. It was perfect and we fell in love instantly with many of the paintings.
We would definatley go back again and recommend it to all of our family in friends.
If you are looking to get away; go to Away in the county!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
We are so happy at AWAY that your honeymoon gift of accomodation in our Gardener's room turned out so well!
Many of our guests choose AWAY as a place to celebrate those special moments like bithdays, anniversaries and now even honeymoons.
We try our best to ensure your time away is pleasant and make a point of staying on top of new restaurants, chefs, events, wines etc so that we may suggest to you the best experiences of Prince Edward County.
Thank you and all the best to you both.
Susan & Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Forget any traditional B&B comparisons, Away rivals most of the boutique hotels we have visited to date. It is that refined and aesthetic and comfortable!

My fiancé booked this weekend as a surprise getaway for my birthday. My first birthday card of the day was waiting in my room at Away from Susan and Glen, followed by a personalize "Happy Birthday" on my menu the next morning. Hopefully this gives some indication of the personalized hospitality that one will experience here.

With only 3 bedrooms and a gorgeous property right on East Lake, every room has its own bathroom and picturesque view. Super cozy beds, abundant amenities, enviable wall art and brilliant furnishings (most of which has been build by Glen!), this was by far the best stay that we have had in a long time, anywhere.

Susan and Glen were the sweetest hosts, so welcoming and relaxed. Susan offered everything from activity recommendations to helping seek out dinner reservations for us. After a long action-packed day of wine tasting, antiquing and venturing out on the Sandbanks we were so happy to relax for a while back at our home away from home.

Breakfast was amazing, no need for lunch later. There are always two main breakfast choices and homemade muffins hot out of the oven. Of course the eggs benny was delicious but if you happen to have any food envy or a hankering for the sweet morning option, Glen will likely whip you up a taste of that dish too!

We had such a perfect weekend in PEC, I am not sure I can do the area and Away In The County enough justice with this review. So go for a visit and see for yourself!

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Alyssa:

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Nothing makes us happier than to know our guests enjoyed their time at AWAY! We were so very pleased that your fiance choose AWAY as part of your birthday celebrations. As many of our guests who come to celebrate birthdays, anniversaires and other special occassions, we try our very best to ensure that the stay is a memorable one. Thanks again for the great review and we hope you will visit AWAY again one day.

Susan & Glen Wallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Some friends recently stayed at this B&B and I was invited for breakfast the next morning (my wife and I are part time residents in the County). For a couple of former city slickers, Glen and Susan sure did their homework: I was allowed to snoop around after breakfast and get a good look at everything. Their place has the substance and professionalism of an Inn, with the personal touch of a B&B. It's extremely well thought out and executed - plus Glen is no slouch in the kitchen (and yes the coffee is very good, a must have for a Toronto coffee shop snob like myself). In addition to a great setting right on East Lake, this place is nicely positioned for convenient day trips to Sandbanks, or one of the three villages for lunch and shopping.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing