We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just perfect.”
Review of AWAY in the County

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AWAY in the County
Ranked #2 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything was just perfect.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great conversations, great food, great view and great hosts. We even got muffins to go home with, what more can you ask?

The only advice I'd make is maybe have a mini bar /stand upstair with tea kettle, cups, glasses, coffee and tea..etc. Many B&B we stayed had this feature and it comes very handy later at night.

Thanks for everything Susan, Glenn and Oscar!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank informationdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at AWAY! We appreciate how vaualbe your time AWAY is and try and assist in making all our guest's stay memorable in some way. Thank you also for the tip as we do try and meet all our guest's needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A very late, but needed review. We had a weekend getaway here, and it was fantastic. The whole house is very beautifully decorated, and tastefully displays Susan and Glen's artistry and craftsmanship. We loved our stay there, had a beautiful view from our room. The breakfast was delicious. Susan and Glen were lovely hosts, more than willing to help us plan our days. They provided a great balance of friendliness but also gave us the privacy we were looking for. I would love to visit in better weather where we could enjoy the property more, and enjoy breakfast in the screened in room. An amazing place to get away from it all. Thank you Susan and Glen for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We loved the Gardeners room-and a beautiful bathroom too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFAS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is never to late to let us know how you enjoyed your visit. We do try to balance attentiveness with respecting our guest's privacy and we are glad that we met your expectations in this area. We do hope you will consider visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Susan and Glen made our visit outstanding with their well designed house which is a joy to
stay in. Then you add in the gourmet breakfast, wine glasses in the room, space in the guest frig for chilling the wine, picnic blanket and basket, superb linens, handmade lavender soap, and
so many more small details. All this with the backdrop of beautiful Prince Edward County seen from every window.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We designed our place with simplicity in mind, while still trying to make sure we offer those little things to ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at AWAY in the County during a weekend getaway to celebrate her birthday this year. Susan and Glen were excellent, easy-going hosts and provided us with a lot of great suggestions for places to eat and things to see around the County, sites and restaurants we probably would have missed otherwise. Breakfasts were delicious and our room (the Artist's Room) was beautiful and comfortable. We hope to visit again during warmer months so that we can enjoy their gorgeous outdoor space that backs out on to Lake Ontario. We highly recommend AWAY in the County!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We do try our best to keep on top of new places to visit and the best places to dine in the County. We want your stay to be as wonderful as possible and enjoy doing the research to ensure this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My two daughters and I all live in Toronto, but seldom have an opportunity to meet without their delightful children, who do tend to monopolize the conversation. Christina spent three hours researching places to stay in the County, and chose Away for us to celebrate our collective birthdays. It is a perfect choice for a special occasion. Andrea appreciated the gluten free breakfast, with cornmeal muffins and omelette made with eggs from Susan and Glen's henhouse. Away is close to the famous Outlet beach-- five minutes-- and about ten minutes from Picton. Across East Lake is a great art gallery, the Mad Dog, where Susan and other local artists display their work. Susan and Glen have a lot of experience with design, and it shows in the layout of their home, which takes full advantage of the views over East Lake, from their marble patio, upstairs balcony, or screened porch. Each room is tastefully decorated with collectibles, art and antiques. They are very thoughtful hosts; what a nice touch to come home to a game of Scrabble outside our door, just in case we were at a loss for what to do. As it turned out, we spent several hours in bed with the wonderful collection of books on the County. Susan even cranked out some gramophone music for us. Don't miss this gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenleaf80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A beautifully handmade house where you will find artful decor with mid-century modern accents. I searched for the perfect place for a girls weekend getaway and but was finding a lot of 'country-style' B&Bs with old grandma-style furniture complete with doilies and china tea cups. Not our thing at all. When I found this place online and looked at the website, I was completely smitten. Couldn't wait. Well, I have to say, it lived up to my expectations and my friends were equally impressed with the house, the rooms, the food, the grounds and of course, Susan and Glen (and Oscar, the dog), who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our two nights in the County were so enjoyable that we immediately booked for the following year. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Artists' Room is the biggest and is closest to the outdoor deck. It gives you the most priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Away for 2 nights recently and had a wonderful experience. Susan and Glen were gracious hosts.

Only 10 min away from town, we were able to explore the wineries while exploring the town of Picton. The breakfasts were INCREDIBLE with lots of yummy options - they were kind enough to take in any dietary restrictions so we never felt limited in our options.
Susan and Glen are lovely hosts and are always on target with their recommendations on wineries and local restaurants.
I would highly recommend this B&B, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TIWP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
104 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
458 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing