We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away B&B in Cherry Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AWAY in the County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AWAY in the County
Ranked #2 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Away B&B in Cherry Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the artist's suite, which was a large and very comfortable. Susan and Glen were great hosts, prepared great breakfasts (with numerous homemade jams and freshly baked muffins), gave us excellent tips on what to do in the area, and even provided a pass to access Sandbanks park/beach (so we didn't have to pay the $16/day fee). The B&B is a newer build, and so while you're staying in the country, it doesn't feel like an old house. As a result our stay was very comfortable. Temperature in the rooms was very good, with a/c and a ceiling fan. The bed was also very comfortable, and we slept really well both nights. The B&B was also tastefully decorated, which is a nice detail.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed our special place here in the County. We try are best to provide our guests with everything they need for a special time away, so that they can concentrate on relaxing and exploring the wonderful wineries and attractions of beautiful Prince Edward County. All the best, Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
136
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Glen and Susan are spectacular hosts and Away is a fabulous B and B. There food is delicious and they were so hospitability. There rooms are meticulously clean and the décor is unique and charming.

I have nothing bad to say about this amazing place! We are already planning our next trip back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jessbbbbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It was great to have you both visit. Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to your return visit one day soon. All the best till then. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My first trip advisor review although i use it often. Away is just perfect. From the hospitality, to the antique decor in a modern farmhouse setting, to the dog, to the little printed menus with breakfast and fresh eggs. We will be back yearly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialkdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. We appreciate that our clients often have busy, hectic lives and we are happy to offer them a relaxed atmosphere where they can rejuvenate. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed in many B&Bs around the world and this is by far the best. The rooms are spacious, uncluttered, bright and very clean ... and had the most comfortable bed ever. I stayed in the Gardner's room and the view was beautiful. The back of the home gives on to a lake and the sunset was stunning. All the room have their own 'character' and each is as beautiful as the next. I have already booked 3 more weekends this summer. Susan, Glenn and Oscar will be tired of seeing me by the fall.

I, of course, have to comment on the breakfast... Glenn is the chef and a mighty chef he is. You start with coffee and muffins. The muffins are served with a choice of homemade jams. I cut my muffin in 4 just so I could taste all of the jams.The first morning, I chose the omelet. It was filled with avocado, bacon and sour cream and served with a small salad ... so tasty. The second morning I had the eggs benedict ... Please watch the video on their website ... it tastes as good as it looks!!!

Everything was perfect ... Susan and Glenn are wonderful hosts ... attentive but not invasive ... calm and relaxed ...

Often websites are 'embellished' but the Away in the County website is a TRUE reflection of the actual home ... not just the setting but also the character and ambiance.

Thank you so much for an incredible weekend ... looking forward to staying at Away B&B again in July and August.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadLessTraveled-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that all the effort we put into providing a warm and inviting environment for our guests is appreciated. We truly want AWAY in the County to be your special time AWAY from it all! Thanks again and we look forward to your return visits over the coming Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at Away on the County for 2 nights, hours after I proposed to my girlfriend now fiancé! The weekend could not have been more perfect. The house was beautifully renovated with three large suites. The water was visible from every room! 'Away' is a 10 minute drive from anywhere you would want to go in the county but still manages to be secluded. Susan and Glen were the perfect hosts - rooms were spotless, breakfast was fresh and substantial and they were very knowledgeable about the area. I plan on making a trip to 'Away' an annual event!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We were so very happy to be part of such a joyous occasion. Many of our guests find AWAY to be the perfect spot to celebrate those very special moments. We congratulate you once again on your engagement and wish you only the very best for the future, which we hope will include one day a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I hesitated to write this review out of fear that others will discover this hidden gem in Prince Edward County.

Susan and David's property is situated on the edge of a lake - a very short drive just outside of Picton. No matter which room you stay in you will have a wonderful view.

Bedrooms have a modern country decor and private bathrooms with accompanying Paul Mitchell Tea Tree shampoo and conditioner for those of us who like to forget the essentials.

Each morning I awoke to the sounds of birds and the smell of freshly baked scones or muffins. You will be offered an option of sweet or savoury breakfast options which is pretty much the most stressful decision you'll make during your stay. As a bonus, Susan and Glen appeased my coffee addiction - it's the little things that matter :)

In the event that you arrive in Prince Edward county and are confounded by the number of places to eat and wineries to attend, Susan and David will put you on the right path and won't lead you astray.

The wi-fi coverage is great and allows you to sit out on the deck and read your iPad as you recover from all the wine tasting. Stay out long enough on the deck and you'll see stars, which is a totally foreign concept for those of us who live in a city.

If you're being pressed by your significant other to escape for a weekend- a trip to Away in the County is what I call in my business "a quick win."

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a clawfoot tub if you're into that kinda thing....Really you can't go w...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. At AWAY we try and stay on top of new events, new winery openings, shops, farm stands and restaurants, the list is endless, so that we may guide you better in your tours of this wonderful area of Ontario. We appreciate that your time is limited sometimes and we want you to have the best possible visit. After assessing our guests likes we help them establish a self guided tour, complete with maps and postcards of places to visit. And at the end of the day or over the following day's breakfast, we look forward to hearing about their experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a great time at Away in the County. I have never been to this part of Ontario before so I did not know what to expect. First of all, the B&B is located on a quiet road. The surroundings are tranquil and calm. A great place to stay if you want to literally get AWAY from the city. Susan greeted us when we first arrived and immediately made us feel at home. We stayed in the Gardener's Room. It was spacious and a great view of the lake. The decorations in the room were wonderful. We liked the antique furniture and the paintings. Glen's breakfasts were delicious. The fresh muffins with an assortment of jams were amazing. We visited a couple of wineries in PEC, and went for a walk on Sand Banks beach. We went in early May, and the weather was a bit cold to enjoy the deck. Excellent place to go to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Gardener's Room is the most spacious. Also, it has a large tub for taking baths, and a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time AWAY. We try our best to ensure our B&B offers a quiet thoughtful oasis for our city guests so that they can relax and enjoy a well deserved break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing