We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Have Been Better!”
Review of AWAY in the County

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AWAY in the County
Ranked #2 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ancaster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could Not Have Been Better!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From booking the weekend, to arrival and our stay, our hosts Susan, Glen and their great dog Oscar could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

AWAY is so special. The view of the lake as the sunsets or as you wake up in the morning is magical. The rooms are beautifully and eclectically furnished, the bathrooms spa-like and the layout of the house perfectly suited to their business. I wish my bed at home could be as comfortable and inviting...

The hosts thought of every detail. Cold water, tea, coffee, free flowers, dining and touring advice were available whenever we wanted or needed it.

AWAY is strategically located that it feels central to not just the wineries but also amazing places to stop for artisan cheeses, heirloom vegetables, delicious meals and beautiful scenery.

I could not recommend AWAY more. Who wants to go home... I just want to stay AWAY!

Room Tip: All rooms are very special. i would have been happy to stay in any of them. The Gardener's roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KareyH126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the glowing review. We agree AWAY is located in a special spot and we are so happy to share it with others. We try and make sure we have covered your every need so that you can concentrate on relaxing and reconnecting with nature and each other. All the best , Susan & Glen (& Oscar)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Attention to detail is what sets AWAY apart from the rest. From bottled water in the guest fridge to packaging a couple of muffins for the road. Susan and Glen are warm, knowledgeable and attentive hosts (without being intrusive). The B&B wing is gorgeous and showcases many of Susan's paintings. What a treat to get to see Susan's studio. Glen's breakfasts were definitely a highlight. The screened porch was a most enjoyable place to play a few board games before bed and watch the sunset over East Lake. AWAY has set the bar high. I think that we are now going to be B&B snobs (tee, hee!) We've already recommended AWAY to at least a half a dozen friends!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Each is special in its own way. We stayed in the Artist's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamFunLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We agree that it is those little things that are sometimes the most important part you appreciate when you are travelling AWAY from home. We are pleased that it was those little things that enhanced your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon. All the best, Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thank you Susan and Glenn and Oscar. We had a grand weekend visiting with you. The other reviews portray this perfectly. And while many B&Bs get the big things right, it's the small things that truly set you apart--like the muffins for our journey home. Add to that the excitement of a young couple getting engaged--who could ask for anything more? Many, many thanks for making our get-away weekend delightful. See you soon. R&R

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaOceans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We hae been so fortunate to have had the privilege of celebrating in the engagement celebrations of a few of our guests. We wish you both the very best in your future together. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The House, the rooms, the bathrooms, the scenery, the breakfast, the artwork, the attention to detail, the hospitality, the chickens, Oscar the dog: all were incredible. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful romantic getaway. Thanks Susan and Glen!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expresswayne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking such lovely photos. We are pleased you enjoyed the lovely Gardener's room for your romantic get-AWAY. AWAY is a lovely spot to relax and reconnect as many of our guests have found. We hope you can visit again one day. All the best Susan and Glen (Oscar and his chicks).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an amazing time at Away. The breakfast was delicious and the sunsets absolutely stunning. It was definitely worth travelling all the way from Japan to stay there. Many thanks to Susan, Glenn and Oscar for their kindness and hospitality during our stay. We hope we can visit you again sometime in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It was a wonderful treat to have you both visit from such a far away land as Japan. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us exploring the eastern countryside of Ontario. It was a pleasure to see our home and land through your eyes. We wish you all the best in all your travels. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the artist's suite, which was a large and very comfortable. Susan and Glen were great hosts, prepared great breakfasts (with numerous homemade jams and freshly baked muffins), gave us excellent tips on what to do in the area, and even provided a pass to access Sandbanks park/beach (so we didn't have to pay the $16/day fee). The B&B is a newer build, and so while you're staying in the country, it doesn't feel like an old house. As a result our stay was very comfortable. Temperature in the rooms was very good, with a/c and a ceiling fan. The bed was also very comfortable, and we slept really well both nights. The B&B was also tastefully decorated, which is a nice detail.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed our special place here in the County. We try are best to provide our guests with everything they need for a special time away, so that they can concentrate on relaxing and exploring the wonderful wineries and attractions of beautiful Prince Edward County. All the best, Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Glen and Susan are spectacular hosts and Away is a fabulous B and B. There food is delicious and they were so hospitability. There rooms are meticulously clean and the décor is unique and charming.

I have nothing bad to say about this amazing place! We are already planning our next trip back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jessbbbbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It was great to have you both visit. Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to your return visit one day soon. All the best till then. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
104 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
458 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing