We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWAY better experience than any other bed and breakfast..pure delight.”
Review of AWAY in the County

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AWAY in the County
Ranked #3 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWAY better experience than any other bed and breakfast..pure delight.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our experience was beyond our expectations. From the moment we arrived to the freshly baked muffins to enjoy on our way back home, we felt welcomed. AWAY is one of those special places where you immediately feel like you are part of the family (minus the annoying family members). Oscar (and Glen) were gracious hosts and the breakfasts made by Glen were super delicious. The images on their website are exactly as they protray. Each room (decorated according to three loves: art, carpentry and gardening) is warm, welcoming, comfortable, clean and spacious. Whatever you do, don't stay away. You will not be disappointed. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your gracious review. We are so happy we exceeded your expectations. We try our best to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. Paying attentions to the details is our specialty. This way you can concentrate on relaxing and unwinding. We look forward to having back one day soon. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
141
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Away in the County is a lovely B&B built and furnished by hosts Susan and Glen. Guest rooms are large, airy, neat and comfortable. Susan’s impressive artwork is featured throughout the home and blends well with the architecture and landscape. Breakfasts were delicious, and featured freshly made muffins, local eggs, tomatoes and herbs from their garden. Glen and Susan steered us to out of the way wineries and great restaurants. The bed in our room (the Artist’s Room) was one of the most comfortable I've slept in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGD291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Manager at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. We try our best to ensure your visit is as welcoming and comfortable as possible. We take pride in keeping on top of new and exciting places to visit that perhaps aren't listed on the tourist maps to enhance you time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

From the moment they welcomed us to the moment they sent us on our way with still-warm muffins, Susan and Glen provided the utmost in hospitality.

Before we even saw our room, Susan had helped lock down a last-minute reservation at a popular local restaurant. The building is a beautifully decorated renovated masterpiece. Past the dining room and screened porch, we were led upstairs to the Gardener's Room. This giant piece of heaven was complete with king-size bed, a huge bath with separate shower and soaker tub, and a huge picture window overlooking the property.

The grounds are beautiful. The chickens are friendly, and provide eggs for breakfast. The lakeside deck with fireplace was a beautiful place to unwind.

We watched sunset from our bed and ate dinner under the stars on the second floor deck.

The breakfasts were sumptuous. We couldn't get enough of the muffins. Seriously. Fresh. Baked. Muffins. And homemade jams. Glen and Susan are modern day breakfast wizards.

The hosts had no shortage of suggested activities and were kind enough to lend a pass for Sandbanks park. This ensured a beautiful and painless day at the beach.

Oscar the Bassett hound needs a shout out, as he was a wonderful host and tour guide around the grounds.

Will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family.

Room Tip: Book the Gardener's room, unless it's a weekend I plan on being there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterXofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your insightful review.
We are so happy you enjoyed our approach to hosting you during your visit to Prince Edward County. We try and think of everything to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We are happy to assist where we can with dining reservations as we want your experience to be #1 where ever you go in the County. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

First I would like to say that I just adore the name of this B&B. I also loved their web site.

Mostly however I really enjoyed our stay. It was the total opposite of our last two B&Bs since it was recently built and the decor was ultra modern, fresh and every niche was intriguing.

Oscar their Bassat Hound was always present to make sure our stay was perfect. The hosts Susan and Glen are friendly, kind and went out of their way to make your stay special. They are both artists and their home reflects their art and life’s pleasures. I especially appreciated music played on a gramophone.

We received a welcome note hand written on a card made by Susan with one of her paintings printed on it. They always called us by our first names (memory plus).

The breakfast choices were mouth watering and Glen is a spectacular chef.

I would highly recommend taking time away from your life to stay and relax at Away in the Country. Best reserved far in advance!

If you like chickens, theirs are the friendliest.the view from our room was beautiful.

Room Tip: They have one large room - Ask for it because it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Peter thank you for your lovely review.
We put alot of effort into the designing of AWAY taking full advantge of the fantastic view of East Lake. We are happy you enjoyed our creative approach and look forward to welcoming you back one day. Alos glad you enjoyed the music on the gramaphone as much as we do. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the garden room (huge & gorgeous)! As soon as we arrived it felt warm and welcoming and stayed that way the entire weekend. Glen was a superb host, the breakfasts were delicious, he even picked flowers from their garden for our table. Susan was away, and we would have loved to have met her - it will have to be next time, definitely going to visit AWAY in the Country again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you Tanya for your lovely review. We try and pay attention to those little things, like fresh picked flowers each day. We both look forward to welcoming you back one day soon. Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Fiancee and I needed a relaxing weekend and Away in the County was perfect. The B&B is beautiful, filled with character and Susan & Glen are the perfect hosts. Delicious breakfast too. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our time with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Do book early! All the best, Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed for a second time at Away in the County. Again, it was perfect. As hosts, Susan and Glenn will stop at nothing to ensure that your stay is just as you would wish. A great restaurant either fancy or cheap? They know one. A quirky place to visit? They have a great recommendation. An up and coming winery? They've been there. Of course, the b&b itself is spotlessly clean and impeccably decorated. It's a great place to hang out. There's a nice stroll to the lake and the sunset is well worth coming "home" for. If you have purchased food and drink during the day, there is a shared fridge to keep it fresh and cool or you can eat in the screened in porch or on the balcony (while watching the sunset). And speaking of food, the breakfasts are memorable. They always start with Glenn's muffins, still warm from the oven, and are followed by your choice of either a savoury main (often with eggs from Susan and Glenn's chickens) or a sweet main. It's hard to say no to seconds. And it is impossible for us to contemplate staying anywhere else in Prince Edward County.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review.
We make an effort to stay on top of what is new and exciting in the County from restaurants to wineries. Festivals to new shopping experiences. We do the research for you so that you can spend your precious time enjoying all the County has to offer. We are happy to hear that this enhanced your time with us. All the best, Susan and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
404 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
105 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
101 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
440 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing