We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful escape adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waring House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waring House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visited here for a two night stay during the weekdays. Accommodation has been recently renovated to a very high standard. Had purchased this as a package from another on-line travel company and not disappointed. Two night stay including two breakfast. Bottle of wine or package of beer at check-in, $30 coupon for dinner at the on site restaurant, cooking class which provided your 3 course meal for one night and a wealth of coupons for various local attractions / offerings (free wine tasting, free beer tasting, etc.)

The hotel provides the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The food at breakfast offers several selection of freshly made choices rather than the usual continental fare. The food at the restaurant is excellent for any meal and reasonably priced. good selection of local wines.

Will definitely stay here again whether with a coupon or not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your stay with us. We appreciate the recommendation.

If you enjoyed the bed in your room, you may be interested to know that we sell the feather mattress toppers and pillows in our gift shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    116
    60
    48
    26
See reviews for
52
242
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel consists of a few buildings scattered on a very large property. We stayed in one of the newer buildings. Room was huge with a very comfortable bed, large sitting room and large bathroom. Large sitting area in the lobby of each building. Decoration was sort of reproduction of an older era, lots of floral and a few fake flowers.
The office, restaurant, bars and cooking school are across the parking lot. Not much else on the property, which seemed a shame for such a large property; no pool or gym or even nice gardens with sitting areas outside. There was a sitting area outside our room, some nice chairs looking out to open grass.
Pub was busy each night, obviously a popular spot with locals and sounded like some good bands. Food was ok, not much we liked from the pup menu. Restaurant was better, and while the breakfast menu was good, the service was very slow. Very polite waiter, but a few waitresses standing around so we had to get up and ask them for coffee.
Nice place, just seemed like something is lacking.

Room Tip: Newer buildings seem nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequenttravelerw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Owner at The Waring House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. We're sorry to hear that your service in the dining room was not to your liking. We are constantly striving to make the experience better. We hope that you'll return and see that we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned home from a 2 night stay at the Waring House. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed! Purchased a 2 night deal through Travelzoo for $259 which included a $30 meal credit, 6 bottles of the local beer, cooking classes for 2 and a few discount coupons. Breakfast every morning was also included. We stayed in a 2 room suite with king size bed and balcony (room 110) in the Heritage building. Bed was very comfortable with a featherbed. Room was spotless and very quiet. Fridge was included (bring water, cold drinks, etc. with you as you can't purchase anything on-site).Breakfast was delicious especially the French toast with strawberries, bananas and yogurt. Heather was very friendly and efficient serving us breakfast every morning as were the rest of the staff.
The cooking class with Chef Jordan McGuinness was fun and informative with a great group
of 18 participating. Chef Jordan was happy to answer any questions we had and stayed after
our dinner was finished to answer more questions!
The only thing I would change would be a bigger couch in the living room and a larger shower but that certainly would not stop be returning to the Waring House!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We're gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you come again, you may be interested to know that, since your stay, we have added vending machines with soft drinks to both the Quaker and Heritage Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our family stayed at the Waring House for my daughter's wedding on site. Exceptional! Thanks to Henriette the wedding consultant everything ran smoothly. She had given us a lot of great advice. Heather was delightful in the restaurant. Wonderful greetings every morning! The rooms were charming, very comfortable and clean. Thank you housekeeping! The food at the dinner , in fact all meals was wonderful . We found all the staff helpful and accommodating . Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and greatly appreciate you sharing your experience. Henriette sends her regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a Travelzoo deal for The Waring House which we decided to use on the Easter long Weekend. Since it was a long weekend, we thought we'd upgrade our 1-night stay to a 2-night stay which included a Cooking Class for 2 people. So we called the Front Desk and requested the upgrade to the 2-night package and were told "no problem". The additional cost was $109 and I even received an email confirmation showing the 2 nights, the additional cost, and details of the cooking class, which we managed to secure the last 2 spots for Sunday morning.

Well, when we arrived on Friday to check in, we were told that we have to pay an additional $95 per person for the cooking class because it was not included with our package. I explained that we purchased the upgrade to the 2-night package and even showed them the email confirmation, but that did not seem to matter. We were told that the person we spoke to only gave us an additional night, but our Travelzoo voucher was only good for 1 night, and that does not include the cooking class, so we have to pay for it.

Again, I explained that I called, upgraded to the 2-night package, showed them the email confirmation which clearly shows that it "includes" a cooking class for 2 people. It did not say we had to pay extra, it said it was included. The person behind the desk (I neglected to get her name) simply said NO, the person who we spoke to "did it wrong" so we could not get the cooking classes for free, we have to pay for them. She said that the person will be spoken to, told what they did wrong, and make sure that it never happens again. Fine, but I was promises something, and they refused to make good on it. They have no concept of customer service, just kept telling me no, they can't honour it because it was a mistake. Too bad!

Then we asked if we can upgrade now, and what that would involve. She said that she could do it, but it would cost an additional $119 plus a "service charge" of $20. I asked what the extra $20 is for, and she told us that it was because we booked directly through The Waring House, and it is their customary service charge when booking directly through them. On what planet does this even make sense? Why on earth would we have to pay them for the privilege of doing a booking for us? What a scam! Arrggggh!

At this point, we were tired after our long drive getting there, it was getting late, and we were arguing with a brick wall who has no concept of customer service and had no intention of doing the right thing. So we just said FINE as we really wanted to attend the cooking class, even though it is costing us more than we were originally promised. We left the front desk feeling totally scammed and ripped off! How can they treat us like that? We will never be going back to The Waring House, just because of that horrible experience the front desk staff, even though the rest of our stay was quite nice, we tried not to let that bad experience spoil our long weekend away, with beautiful weather to match. It was just not worth it.

So, fair warning to other travelers: you may be charged an extra $20 by booking directly with them, so try to find an alternative on-line method and save yourself some money. Also, don't worry about getting a confirmation email as proof of what you are entitled to, as apparently it does not matter, it will not be honoured. We had previously upgraded a stay at another establishment over the Family Day weekend and they were wonderful, no problem at all and even said they would give us the same deal if we called direct any time before high season.
Good luck!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DandD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Owner at The Waring House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
In our opinion, not a scam!


Dear D. G. from North York,

I like to respond to your comments on Trip Advisor
We offered through Travelzoo a 2 night package and 1 night package.
These are very special rates negotiated with Travelzoo and can only be purchased through them.
You had purchased a one night package for $ 139, that package included your guest room, 1 btl of wine, a $ 30 voucher towards your meal in the dining room, tickets for a tour of a brewery and winery and breakfast for 2. Also some discounts were offered for purchases in our gift shop.
The regular rate for this stay in the room you occupied would have been $ 250.
I would suggest that this is not a scam...
with regards to the rate for the second night... I apologize if there was a misunderstanding, there is no surcharge for booking directly but under our agreement with travelzoo we cannot offer the same rates at the Inn. Therefore our 2nd night rate was $ 140.
again, I am sorry if you felt " scammed" but we do feel we charged you fairly.

Norah Rogers,
Owner, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room we stayed in was huge and well appointed a couple water damaged ceiling tiles if you want to be picky but very nice, comfortable beds and pillows with nice linens. I don't know why they don't have a bigger couch with a pullout bed in the living room they definitely have the space. IF YOU GET BREAKFAST INCLUDED YOU CAN HAVE BRUNCH FOR $5 MORE WE FOUND THIS OUT ON OUR LAST DAY TOO LATE FOR US BUT MAYBE IT WILL HELP SOMEONE SLEEP IN A LITTLE LONGER. My only complaint is that we were never told this my wife asked the manager on our last day if there was a discount on brunch if we didn't make breakfast. The staff is top notch and very friendly I guess they are treated well and it shows, my biggest compliment goes to them. DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED, Adios amigos!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senior_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Senior V from Toronto,

thank you very much for staying with us and writing about your experience.
Comments are shared with all here at the Inn and I am delighted to post your posting.
We will look at the maintenance issue in your room and correct it.
If you like us on facebook you will be kept up to date with happenings in the County and specials at the Inn.. or you can subscribe to our e-blasts on our website.

thank you again and please do spread the word.

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We came for the Cookery Class and stayed for a night. Wonderful experience! Website pictures are excellent. Room was very cosy. Supper in the pub was very good! Cookery class was outstanding!!! Jordan really knew his stuff and was terrific! Gave lots of good advice. Class was good for beginners and pros! Would highly recommend a package that includes the cookery class!

Bob and Lynn Belbeck
Chatham On.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Lynn and Bob,

thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about youre experience.. I will share your comments with all and specially Jordon... hopefully you can make use of some of his tips..
Please like us on FB... and you will find out about happenings in the County and at the Inn.

Thank you again,

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
17.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waring House

Property: The Waring House
Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing