We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of The Waring House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waring House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a premium room in one of the two recently constructed buildings. The room and bathroom were both large and well appointed. We even had our own hot tub which was nice. The hotel is located slghtly to the West of Picton at the junction of Highway 33 (the Loyalist Parkway) and Municipal Road 1. It has both a formal restaurant and a pub which also serves most of the food on the menu in the restaurant. We ate in the pub both nights that we stayed at the hotel and were very pleased with the quality of the food. Breakfast was also delicious with ample quantities of bacon, eggs, sausages, pancakes and french toast available. The french toast was particularily good as was the home made jam. The location of the hotel is very convenient for visiting Sandbanks Provincial Park and also as a pickup spot for a wine tour. We took the hotels recommendation of Sandbanks Vacations and Tours and enjoyed a very pleasant half day tour in the company of a very efficient and knowledgeable host called Heather during which we sampled 25 wines in five wineries. Altogether a very pleasant trip that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    124
    67
    49
    29
See reviews for
59
257
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We recently held our wedding reception at the Waring House and had an amazing day. Henriette LaBelle-Campbelle was extremely helpful to help plan our special day and gave us good recommendations for a photographer and DJ. The grounds at the Waring House are beautiful for pictures and the reception hall is elegant and easy to decorate. We couldn't have asked for a better experience and would recommend this place to anyone looking to hold a nice gathering.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing recommendation. I've forwarded your review to Henriette and she's was so pleased with what you said that she printed off a copy to keep.

Thanks so much for sharing your special day with us and for taking the time to tell others about it. We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked the Superior room months in advance as I knew this is what I wanted in a hotel room. I had it booked for july but had to make last minute changes and moved it to the 1st week of august.

we had been working for 8 week at 80 hrs a week and were realllly looking forward to our holiday! once I got there we parked over were the Superior rooms are and I went to check in....once I checked in she pointed me in the other direction so I was a bit confused but went to Room 8...once I went inside I knew there was a huge problem! this was NOT the room I book or wanted. there was floor to wall wallpaper (which I could live with if the rest wasn't awful), dirty carpet, a small bed, very small tv, no closet space, NO SHOWER..just a tub where you couldn't even stand in, & no vanity. I went back to the front desk and asked if I could upgrade the room...but they were fully booked. I went back to the truck knowing we couldn't stay here because it would ruin our whole holiday! I went back to the front desk and double checked there was nothing else we could do. Melissa (who was AMAZING and super helpful) tried to do everything for me and was really disappointed that I didn't get the room I originally booked. after almost 2 hours of us waiting in the truck and trying to decide what we were going to do I, we decided to go home. it was that bad. Melissa said she would cancel the reservation without penalty, but the other girl there was demanding that we get charged a night's stay. Melissa faught for us and in the end we didn't get charged. I was happy I got to deal with Melissa otherwise this review would have been a lot worse.

Hoping to go back one day...but I will only deal with Melissa.

Room Tip: do not get room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shell_2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us. I know that when your expectations aren't met on a vacation, it can be quite unsettling.

While I'm not familiar with the specific details of your case, I can say that August is always our busiest month. We strive to accommodate all of our guests needs, but when bookings are changed at that time of year, often there is nothing we can do as all of our other rooms are spoken for. If the change in room was not communicated to you at the time of rebooking your stay, we apologize. You should have been informed that there would be change to your room. I'll bring this up with our guest services staff to ensure something like this doesn't happen again.

Our sincere apologies. We hope you can come back and give us another try,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you plan on staying here....don't bother. We expressed our concerns of noise from the traffic circle and the Bar parking lot upon arrival SOLUTION ........upgrade our roon with 3 moves for the 3 night stay. At an increase in cost of course! The House Next Door is the building we're in. It's a dump! Our standard room is musty, old and dated. The common sitting area in this building has a water leak. The bath tub in our room needs a good scrubbing.We just left the Gananoque Inn and loved it. The rooms were clean and well maintained. This building clearly has not been maintained.
This facility looks lovely online. Perhaps the upgraded rooms are nice but can't do much about it now when there's nothing available. If you must stay ....upgrade. We would have been better to stay in a chain hotel in Piction for half the price.
The owner might consider educating staff on informing guests what a standard room is.
Buyer beware.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
I'm very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Summer is a very time, and so it's most unfortunate that there was not a room better suited to your needs available for your stay. In all the time I've dealt with customer feedback, I've never heard anyone complain about traffic nose before, so since we've never encountered the problem. Still, we're very sorry you didn't enjoy yours stay with us, and that your tub wasn't properly cleaned.

We try to offer our guests a variety of possible room types. Some guests really love the authentic historical experience, while others want rooms that are more modern and spacious, and that's why we have the older rooms. As you can imagine, 150 year old buildings require constant maintenance, and it seems our team may have fallen a bit behind, as it is the absolute busiest time of the year. We appologize for your unsatisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been to The Waring House several times. The rooms are lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Have never had a bad stay. Had heard that in the past, noise from adjoining rooms was a problem, but we never had an issue with this. Also, we understand that they have recently finished soundproofing the rooms, so this issue some people experienced should be resolved. Make sure you eat in the dining room and their pub, excellent food in both. Lots to see and do in the Picton and nearby Bloomfield.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We're so glad to hear that you have enjoyed several stays at our inn, and we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

You were correct in your review about the soundproofing. In the early spring we completed an upgrade to the sound proofing in both the Quaker and Heritage lodges. We know that this has been an area of concern among other guests in the past and hope that this upgrade enhances our guests experiences going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was my 4th visit to PEC in the last 5 years, we spent the weekend there August 15-17 during the Jazz Festival. We changed pace this year and decided to stay at the Waring House Restaurant and Inn. We booked a standard room and ate at Amelia’s Restaurant on the Saturday as well as enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast both Friday and Saturday mornings.
We’ll start with the Pro’s.
-The restaurant served a delicious meal in an elegant dining experience.
-The wait staff was excellent, which is a lot more than I can say than the front desk staff.
-Amenities are close by in the town of Picton
-Beautiful location and was a great spot for the Jazz festival as we listened to live music on Saturday night

The Con’s
-The standard room as depicted in all brochures and media is not what you actually get (warning false advertising). What you do get is an attic room that is smaller than the smallest room we stayed at while vacationing in Europe, this should say a lot for those that have travelled in Europe.
- DIRTY! The bathroom was disgusting upon arrival. The shower curtain was stained pink half way up from soap scum from what must be years without cleaning. The walls were dirty in the bathroom shower area.
-The carpets were stained and old, much older carpet than what you see in the media and brochures, bleach stains on carpets amongst other unknown stains

Overall:
We were very disappointed with the Waring House Inn, and unfortunately the excellent restaurant could not make up for the deficiencies we experienced while staying at the Inn. We addressed our concerns with the front desk staff immediately upon arrival and were told “we have no other rooms available” and they simply offered us nothing in return, not even a sorry to validate our concerns. Oh yea, they did say, yea the standard rooms are small and agreed that this is not what is advertised. That said, they had no solutions are remediation available.

Room Tip: Do not get a standard room , you have to upgrade if you want a decent/average room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KanataKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, and we're sorry to hear that your room was not to your satisfaction. We're also so sorry to hear that the room cleanliness was not up to the proper standard and we have forwarded your concerns to our housekeeping department.

However, we do find your accusation of false advertising distressing. While we're not sure which picture you're referring to in our brochures, we can assure you that we never label our more upscale rooms as standard rooms.

Each of our standard, deluxe and superior rooms is unique, so we have put photos of each one on the rooms and rates page of our website so that travellers can make informed decisions before booking with us. Some of the rooms are small, but we feel they are a good value and they reflect the Old Ontario rural lifestyle as closely as possible. We recognize that this is not necessarily the experience every traveller is after, so we also offer larger rooms with more modern amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our Canadian cousins wanted all their guests to enjoy the beautiful countryside in Prince Edward County and suggested guests stay at the Waring House Inn as is was convenient to the "farmhouse" wedding venue they selected. The property is spacious, well tended, with several different building types dotting the landscape. The prices were fair and our room was quite large. Our elderly relatives stayed in a room with a lovely bed that was so high off the ground that they could not climb in. The office said they could do nothing to help and we were quite lucky to find a most helpful fellow at the bar who lent us his 2 step mini ladder for the remainder of our trip. Our room opened to a large field and had a patio with chairs. There is a good restaurant on premises, with an excellent breakfast, and a more casual bar restaurant that had music the night we ate there.
The reception before the night before the wedding was held at the County Cider Company in Waupoos, a casual beautifully scenic spot to sit outdoors and sample cider.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our inn.

We're sorry to hear about your relatives who had difficulty getting in and out of their bed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We'll work with our guest services staff to ensure that there is a plan in place if any guest encounters a similar problem in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
132 reviews
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
17.3 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#1 of 7 in Belleville
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
17.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
6.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waring House

Property: The Waring House
Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing