We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
“This is a great B&B”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent last weekend at this B&B. Irene and Bill are excellent hosts. Their B&B is very comfortable and set up really well for guests. They have a beautiful deck with a great view
of the bay. This was a cycling weekend and Irene picked out each day's routes on a provided map. She has brochures and free sample cards for many of the wineries and other points of interest. Breakfasts were terrific. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclists_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
149
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in a number of B&Bs both within and outside Canada and frankly, this one tops the list. We were three couples on a cycling tour of the region and stayed two nights. Bill and Irene were outstanding hosts and exceeded our expectations in all respects. Bill happily secured our bicycles overnight in his shed and offered us a secondary fridge to store food and beverages. The residence is extremely clean and well appointed. The view of the lake from their spacious back yard deck is spectacular. Breakfast was varied, wholesome and overall decadent. My spouse was especially delighted to have received special attention with respect to her numerous food intolerances. One of the best restaurants in the area is located directly across the street. Overall, this well manicured waterfront property is well located in a quiet suburb of Picton, close to all amenities. Most highly recommended... You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent two days at Bill and Irene's B&B while on our three day bicycling excursion. The food, service and facilities were excellent. Irene and Bill were awesome hosts and continually went the extra mile to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. They provided us excellent advise on biking routes and ensured we had sufficient free passes to the many wineries the populate the region. The beautiful view from the deck of their B&B overlooking the bay offered us a most relaxing way to cap off our days touring this beautiful region. Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie5528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed a single night in this little waterfront oasis, marveled at how quiet and serene it was. A good getaway from Toronto to de-stress, and close to restaurants and downtown. Lots to see, beautiful location, comfy beds. The owners pay great attention to detail, and to your comfort. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our stay with the Dobinsons was excellent in every way and we highly recommend their B&B as a splendid choice to be in the County, especially in or near Picton, overlooking the water. The room choices are excellent and the breakfasts generous, healthy and from Irene's family recipes. Having lived in the County I personally have a feel for the needs of visitors. Great choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a couple of days with friends from Toronto at this modern and charming B&B. The view from the deck of the house overlooking Picton Bay is beautiful. The first day in the late afternoon I caught sight of an osprey gliding over the water. The hosts Bill and Irene were gracious and very accomodating. Breakfasts were excellent served in a beautiful dinning room overlooking the bay.
We highly recommended to those who want a tranquil, clean and beautiful place in the County.
Stayed October 16 & 17 2013, travelled with friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGUSTIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Duck & Loon more than 6 times in the last 12 years and have always thoroughly enjoyed it (the latest stay was Aug 5-13,2013). We usually stay 8 to 10 nights, the longest being 12 nights. Irene and Bill are just wonderful hosts and are so friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and spotless and the breakfasts are hearty, delicious and suitably varied from day to day. Irene will help you plan your trips to the many points of interset in Picton and the county and can also provide good advice on dining in and around town, to the point of making reservations. The deck at the rear of the house is a great place to admire Picton Bay from the elevated view there and there is a comfortable sitting room inside to relax before bed. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.1 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
420 reviews
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
132 reviews
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
468 reviews
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing