We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I just spent the weekend at the Duck and Loon and had a wonderful time. The place is kept imaculate, both inside and outside. The view from the back porch overlooking the water is beautiful and peaceful. Irene's breakfasts were outstanding. Irene and Bill were also very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go in the area. We can't wait to go back next year. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just spent the weekend at the Duck and Loon and everything was perfect. As all the other reviews have stated, it is spotless. Decorated in a cozy country fashion, you feel as though you are staying with family. Irene and Bill are a big part of the comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. Although at first, breakfast at 8:45 may seem early, it is well worth waking up for! Irene is a fantastic cook! On top of it all the B&B has a stunning view that almost makes you want to put your days plans aside to sit on the deck and enjoy a relaxing afternoon in the sun.

We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our third year with Irene and Bill, for the National Cheese Festival. Great place to stay -- comfortable and easy going -- you always feel welcome. Beautiful views from the deck overlooking the water. And Irene's breakfasts are superb.

This is our go to place in Picton! And do talk with Bill about Miss Vickie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just spent a few days last week in this spotless, charming and welcoming B&B. We had the Bayview room (named for its amazing view), It is roomy, well appointed and... did I say spotless? You could eat on the floors anywhere in this place. Both Irene and Bill are very warm people that make you feel at home immediately. Can't imagine more attentive and personalized service. We had delicious breakfast every morning looking out on the lake. The B&B is very well located (across from the best eatery in Picton... Blumen Bistro), and just a 2 minute drive from downtown Picton. It is also about midway, between the famous wineries of west PEC (Huff, Grange, Closson, etc.) and the wineries of south PEC (Lighthall, Exultant, Long Dog, Waupoos, etc.). We personally prefered the wines from south PEC. We will definitely be back on a regular basis... Gotta see what those wineries are up to :-)

Room Tip: You can't beat the view in the Bayview... and it is spacious, with beautiful furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was lucky enough I enjoy my first B&B experience at the Duck and Loon this past weekend. The B&B is in an excellent location, right on the water, and is very picturesque and lovely! The rooms are very large, comfortable and clean. The service was exceptional and Irene makes an outstanding breakfast! The B&B is also located across the street from the resturant Blumen, which I also highly recommend. Overall-if your looking for a place to stay in Prince Edward County-this is your spot! Amazing visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsKings24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Irene and Bill take great pride in making sure you have absolutely everything you need to feel at home. The Duck and Loon is perfectly situated on the water well back from the road. We had a fantastic dinner at Blumen Garden Bistro (#1 Picton Restaurant on TripAdvisor) which is right across the street from the Duck and Loon. Right on the water, across the street from best restaurant in town and hosts taking care of your every need.... hard to beat that!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We just returned from another lovely vacation at the Duck and Loon. My husband and I have been vacationing in Prince Edward County for more than 20 years. For the last nine years, we have stayed at the Duck and Loon. The reasons for this are simple: Irene and Bill Dobinson are very kind and knowledgeable hosts; the location is perfect; the house is spotlessly clean; the home cooked gourmet breakfasts are delicious. Need I say more?
The house is located well back from the road, with a winding laneway that leads through a park-like setting before you reach the house. As usual, we stayed in the “Bayview Room”, which is located at the back of the house and has a lovely view of the water. We spent most of our time touring around the County, eating at lovely restaurants recommended by Irene, and checking out the latest tourist attractions. After a day of exploring, it is such a relief to return to the quiet sanctuary of the Duck and Loon, where we can relax and recuperate out on the back deck, sip lemonade, and watch the boats and the loons traverse the Bay.
I always recommend the Duck and Loon to friends who are planning a visit to Prince Edward County. That way I can rest assured they are in good hands.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a good size and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.2 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
9.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing