We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just one night but everything was perfect. Irene and Bill have a lovely home with a beautiful view. We were extremely comfortable and enjoyed our delicious breakfast in the morning with the other guests. I highly recommend this b&b! Thanks for the wonderful although short stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Duck and Loon. As first-time B and B-ers, we weren't sure what to expect, but ended up having a fantastic experience - thank you, Irene and Bill!

Rooms were well-kept, beds comfy and our view from the "Bayview room" was spectacular. The deck overlooking the bay is a great place to unwind after a long day out and about, or in the morning, to sip coffee and take in the calm beauty of the lake.

Breakfasts were delicious with a great variety of options - we were treated to a hashbrown frittata one day, and french toast the next. Ample fruit, homemade muffins and jam and coffee were a great complement to the main meal. While we stuck to the main menu both days, Irene and Bill were very flexible with other guests, catering to dietary restrictions with ease and much consideration.

As we hadn't decided our itinerary for the trip, Irene was very kind and offered to help us plan our day out, with useful tips on wineries, restaurants and other local gems. We came away with some delicious wines and cheeses and did quite a bit of sampling thanks to coupons Irene provided.

In all - a fantastic experience that has two "newbie" B and B-ers wanting to come back to visit ASAP!

Room Tip: Bayview room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingKat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A dear friend & I just spent 2 wonderful nights at the Duck & Loon, and we wished we had been able to stay longer! Irene & Bill have a lovely, immaculate home, in a beautiful setting. We appreciated their careful attention to detail, delicious food, and helpful suggestions about local places of interest, wineries, shopping, and restaurants. We were able to put our 'picnic perishables' in their frig, which we really appreciated. The Duck room was very comfortable, & our private bathroom was spotless. Irene & Bill are perfect B & B hosts, & I'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Duck and Loon for a night while checking out Prince Edward County. The owners are very friendly and their hospitality was second to none - they booked us a reservation for dinner and recommended a couple of 'must see' places while we were in the area. Their balcony overlooking Lake Ontario was probably my favorite aspect of the place - looking over the water while sipping on my coffee in the morning was absolute heaven. I still think of that morning often and wish I was back there! My only (minor) complaint is that I would have liked a bigger breakfast as it's my most important and sometimes largest meal of the day, especially since we were going to visit a couple of wineries that day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyblues33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I just spent the weekend at the Duck and Loon and had a wonderful time. The place is kept imaculate, both inside and outside. The view from the back porch overlooking the water is beautiful and peaceful. Irene's breakfasts were outstanding. Irene and Bill were also very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go in the area. We can't wait to go back next year. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just spent the weekend at the Duck and Loon and everything was perfect. As all the other reviews have stated, it is spotless. Decorated in a cozy country fashion, you feel as though you are staying with family. Irene and Bill are a big part of the comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. Although at first, breakfast at 8:45 may seem early, it is well worth waking up for! Irene is a fantastic cook! On top of it all the B&B has a stunning view that almost makes you want to put your days plans aside to sit on the deck and enjoy a relaxing afternoon in the sun.

We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our third year with Irene and Bill, for the National Cheese Festival. Great place to stay -- comfortable and easy going -- you always feel welcome. Beautiful views from the deck overlooking the water. And Irene's breakfasts are superb.

This is our go to place in Picton! And do talk with Bill about Miss Vickie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
1.5 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing