We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an elegant suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claramount Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #18 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“an elegant suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

a very pleasant stay. good three course dinner in the countylicious promotion, $35 prix fixe. very nice seared maple scallops and bacon wrapped pork loin medallions. outstanding professional waiter very attentive and knowledgeable. our suite (#2) rivals the suite we had last fall at the waldorf for elegant furnishings.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    94
    42
    31
    14
See reviews for
33
187
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Hotel is in a good central area of Prince Edward County. Staff was nice, restaurant and pub had good food with the pub having live music on the weekends. Rooms were big and bed was extremely comfortable. Got a good deal on Jaunt which was excellent value. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbpackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Claramount Inn is indeed a very special and memorable place. We did a mid week winter getaway and felt we had been away a week. We enjoyed the treatments at the spa, and also made good use of the outdoor heated pool. The room was spacious, beautifully furnished, and quiet with a pleasant view. It could not have been nicer.
We had dinner at the on site restaurant, where only one other couple was dining.
Our meal was a disappointment, compared to that which we had last year, but perhaps there is a new chef, or it was because there were just four during this quiet season.
We hope to go back again next year, and will probably give the restaurant one more chance.
All the service and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

just spent another fabulous weekend at the Claramount Inn - and great news - the new chef used to be at Currahs and the food is amazing! Picton and area of Prince Edward County is a great place to visit even in the winter - lots to do and great food with friendly attitude everywhere

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I am reluctant to share this gem because it may become difficult to book if the word spreads, so let's keep it our little secret.

We stayed in suite 9 which occupied the top floor of the carriage house. A beautiful room with a sitting/living room, full kitchen, excellent bathroom. Beautiful view of the woods on the property.

The staff were very friendly, the dining room staff especially.

Definitely worth a stay whether short or long term.

Room Tip: Carriage house room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Myself and 3 other female friends spent the past weekend at the Claramount. We had planned to go two weeks previously but had to postpone at the last minute because of weather, and they were very very accommodating and made it all work for us. The front desk was always helpful when we had questions as well.

We were given the two rooms (6 and 7) that take up the entire top floor and they were huge. The pictures on their site don't do the size of the space justice. Both had sitting areas (more than one in each room), enormous bathrooms, comfy beds, lots of windows, and being on the top floor alone was perfect for us, it felt incredibly private.

We ate dinner and breakfast on site and both meals were delicious and the service was great. I really need to commend our server, Lesley, she was the best and we had a great time with her for both meals.

We also all booked spa services and used the pool/sauna. Everyone enjoyed their spa treatments and it was really relaxing to just check in and never have to leave the property - especially in winter. The salt water pool is relaxing to float around in (use the pool noodles for this!), but it's not deep enough for diving etc, if that's what you are expecting.

Tip - if you are nearby in Wellington, make sure to visit Tall Poppies Cafe, and if you there in summer, I recommend a trip to the The County Cider Company - have a cider and admire the best view in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Appearances can be deceiving. This is a nicely appointed and stately old home-type inn but pretty much all aspects of my experience there didn't love up to the visuals. The massage in the spa was disappointing and the service at breakfast horrendous.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
11.6 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
17.8 mi away
Montrose Inn & Tea Room
Montrose Inn & Tea Room
#1 of 13 in Belleville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Property: Claramount Inn & Spa
Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay.Claramount offers seven suites in the main house, and additional suites in adjacent buildings. Clara's restaurant is located on the ground floor of the main house, with its dining room and patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a number of indoor treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, as well as an outdoor hot tub and heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing