We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misquote” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claramount Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #18 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Courtice
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misquote”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and i stayed in the Carriage house over the Thanksgiving weekend. I was sent a quote for 3 nights $518 ( still have the e-mail), when we got our bill we were charged an extra $174 for the extra night. I shot them off an e-mail and asked if they would honour what they had quoted us and the answer was no. We definately won't be returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranCourtice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Owner at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear FranCourtice.

I am sorry that you did not feel good about your stay at the Inn and unfortunately I am not aware of your experience. Sometimes it does happen that one makes a mistake but I feel that our Inn justifies our rates.

We do hope you will return again one day.

Norah Rogers
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    94
    42
    31
    14
See reviews for
33
188
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have to echo what m3g4n2013 noted about poor communication. The only time they appear to answer the phone is at check-in time. Messages left by phone may or may not get a response. They passed up the opportunity for a reservation for 20 for breakfast. Silly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adg13G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Owner at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear ADG from Kingston,

I like to apologize to you for responding to this post only today.. you might say that is consistent with your experience.. I only started responding to reviews today and I promise, I will do this from now on daily..
I am so sorry that we did not return your call immediately, yes, it is our loss and I fully understand that you were disappointed but I also hope, that you try us again..

So sorry,

Norah Rogers
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Last summer we rented the Claramount for our wedding party and close family to stay in, for the weekend of our wedding. I have never seen such poor communication between staff in my life.

We called to book an appointment months before to see if we could rent the Claramount and have our rehersal dinner and morning after brunch there as well. The manager and the head chef agreed to meet with us on a Saturday afternoon so we could discuss the menu and renting the rooms and spa. When we arrived that day, neither the manager or the chef were there (we had driven from 3 hours away). We had to wait another 2 hours for them to show. During the meeting we agreed to rent some of the rooms Friday night (the others would be available for other patrons), all of the rooms Saturday night, a buffet style rehersal dinner for ~$35 on Friday night and a buffet for Sunday morning.

A few weeks before the wedding the chef was unreachable. My mother in law phoned and emailed several times (either he wasn't there, or he didn't respond). Three days before the wedding the chef emails my mother in law to tell her that the dinner now needs to cost $75/pp (instead of the original $35/pp) to make up for the lack of patrons who would otherwise come to the restaurant for dinner. We simply could not afford that and had to find another restaurant for the rehersal dinner. (We had a delicious dinner at Pomodoro's in Wellington. They were kind enough to book us a private room and host our entire rehersal dinner with 3 days notice. It was delicious and we had wonderful service!).

Friday night, when we came back to the Claramount we were told there would be no cots available for those sharing rooms. Even though I had offered to show which guests would be staying in which rooms earlier and what cots would be needed. I insisted, at the minimum, that my 88 year old grandfather and 60 year old aunt could not share a bed, the clerk at the desk insisted they had no cots and that was "too bad".

The next morning (the day of our wedding), the clerk pulls one of my bridesmaids (BRIDESMAID!) aside and tells her that there WERE cots available last night, but we will have to pay for ALL of the rooms (including the ones we did not rent). Excuse me? We were more than willing to rent the other rooms out on Friday night and we asked to show the desk clerk what rooms would need cots. My bridesmaid excused herself and the desk clerk and my mom had to discuss why we would not be paying for the unused rooms. If the Claramount is going to charge us for all the rooms, but not give us cots, at least let the guests each have their own rooms. It made no sense to me and I thought it was unexcusable that they brought this up right before we were about to leave for my wedding ceremony and to one of my bridesmaids, who has nothing to do with it.

That morning the spa staff were wonderful and completely organized. They did a great job with our nails and makeup before the wedding and we were all ready on time. When we returned home late that night, from our wedding, we were taken care of by a friendly security guard before we all went to bed.

The next morning we were surprised to see there was no brunch laid out. I suppose the cancelled rehersal dinner meant the chef cancelled our brunch as well. Approximately 30-40 guests and wedding party members had to order off the menu and it was extremely slow. My husband and I (the bride and groom) were the last to eat. The waitress was rude and complained to us that the kitchen had "no idea" there were this many people coming for breakfast. When I asked to have eggs benedict without the asparagus I was told "no, that's too confusing". Our guests felt uncomfortable.

Finally, when we were paying our bills that morning, my family still had to negotiate extra fees the Claramount was asking us to pay. We were told that the owner would be contacting us because of all the trouble we had. We never got a phone call or an email. By this time we were too frustrated to pursue it, we'd had enough.

Perhaps the Claramount is a good place to stay as an individual or a couple. They simply could not handle a large party like ourselves and I was shocked at the lack of communication between the staff. Not once did we see the manager or head chef, who we originally negotiated with. I am assuming they booked the rooms for us and nothing else, because none of the staff seemed to be aware of the previous arrangements we had made. I would not recommend the Claramount because they are so disorganized, rude and overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m3g4n2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Guest Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
While I am just reviewing the comments on Trip Advisor for the Claramount, I like to respond first to this particular comment. Yes, there were some serious mistakes made at the time of this event, and I know the Management apologized sincerely for this.
I like to point out, that this did happen in October of 2012!! therefore I am a little surprised that this was posted again.

Norah Rogers,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Claramount Inn. We used this beautiful hotel as our base for some vineyard tours. The hotel is very charming, clean and elegant. We stayed in room 1 and it was lovely, very clean and spacious. We had a wonderful dinner at their restaurant, highly recommend, and used the outdoor hot tub afterwards. To improve the Inn's outdoor space, they need to update the hot tub and area around it. The tub is too small, the area is too dark, and the ambient lighting contained mostly burnt out light bulbs. Nevertheless, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Owner at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Scott,

thank you very much for your visit and for writing about it.. I am glad you did enjoy your stay with us.
I noted your comments about the hot tub and the lights etc.. and we will try to address this soon.

thank you again and we hope you will visit us again

Norah Rogers
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Suite 1 and 2. I start my review by giving the two suite numbers which were occupied, as I was dismayed by the state of these two suites and perhaps other suites may are in better shape. All other things considered, I would like to assign a 4.5 rating to this hotel given the architecture, grounds, facilities, food and helpful staff - BUT - The rugs in both suites were filthy, I repeat very dirty. The state was reported to the staff who informed us that they were cleaned once a year as if that explanation justified the rooms' condition. In addition, all upholstered furniture was in a sorry state. Two easy chairs in suite 1 showed foam rubber through worn material and arm covers which had 2 inch holes in the totally worn material. Dirt is not acceptable for 200 dollars per night or 95 for that matter. The bathroom was spotless but light fixtures were covered in thick dust and upholstery was very dusty when beaten gently. The mattress was not exceptional but linens were very high quality. The food was excellent and well served. Such a pity to have to report as I must.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilot82267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had dined at the restaurant a few years ago, and was quite impressed. Thus when in Picton on the Labour Day long week-end, I decided to see if I could get a last minute booking and try out their accommodations. There was a room available in the Carriage House, and we took it.

On check-in, I was told that it was a "smoke-free environment". To me, that meant no smoking on the grounds. This worked for us.

We entered the room and I must say, I was quite overwhelmed by all the curtains. Okay, so there are lots of windows, and curtains are a good thing. But what was missing were the sheer curtains so that you could appreciate the light, but get a little privacy. Just felt claustrophobic with all that dark, heavy fabric.

On the whole, not a big deal though. What was a big deal was the fact that the people in the next room were pretty much chain-smoking on the balcony - next door to us - and unless you wanted to close all windows and stay holed up inside, you just couldn't get away from it. So I guess it wasn't a smoke-free "environment". Next thing we experienced was what I can only guess was our next door neighbours taking a 30 minute shower. The noise through the pipes and walls was hideous.

Moving on, upon using our bathroom I had the toilet paper holder fall off the wall, and then found frayed, threadbare towels on the rack.

So now with windows locked shut in order to keep the smoke out (so much for experiencing the relaxing sound of crickets in the night air), there begins an aggravating, droning noise, still painfully audible through the closed windows. An air conditioning unit nearby? The laundry room? Who knows. Never stopped though.

Next morning came the obvious check out time for our next door neighbours. I could all but make out every word they uttered as they prepared to leave, so thin the walls.

When we checked out ourselves, I mentioned a few of the issues. The girl on the desk couldn't have cared less. She didn't even understand the property's rules regarding smoking. Apparently people weren't supposed to smoke in their rooms or on their balconies. It had nothing to do with courtesy, though, but rather was because of the age of the building and the fire hazard, as I understand it.

So there you have it. 200 dollars spent, nothing but bad memories.

I highly recommend the Devonshire (which is under renovation and promises to be even better than before) ... or even Lake on the Mountain Resort.

All this said, this was the Carriage House, and perhaps the rooms in the main house are better! Don't think I want to drop another $200 to find out though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We made a reservation on short notice and had no particular expectations other than that it be clean and quiet. It was far more than that and we were instantly enchanted by the spaciousness and comfort of our room. Truly was a delight and we started planning a near-future re-visit. On checkout though, we were asked "Have you left a gratuity for the chambermaid?" Perhaps they thought they were providing a service, i.e. providing the convenience of simply adding this to our checkout total, but frankly, I was shocked. While this is something we almost always normally do, I consider it a private matter and of no business with the front desk. This was pushy and unnecessary. I'm not sure we'll go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VideoTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Property: Claramount Inn & Spa
Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay.Claramount offers seven suites in the main house, and additional suites in adjacent buildings. Clara's restaurant is located on the ground floor of the main house, with its dining room and patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a number of indoor treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, as well as an outdoor hot tub and heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing