We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Stately and Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #21 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Claramount! The Inn and grounds are breathtakingly beautiful and did not disappoint. They have done a wonderful job in changing this home into an Inn while maintaining it's original grace. We stayed in room 1. It is well appointed and quite large. You can hear footsteps above but we did not find it intrusive; it just added to the character of the Inn. There is a lovely patio outside the side door and it is cordoned off so you don't have other guests passing through.Another nice feature of this room is that you can go out the side door of the room to access the pool and hot tub. The bed was a little uncomfortable; I think the additional pad over the mattress could use a remake. The room could have also used a couple of coasters; we did not want to put drinks down on the bedside furniture. The bevelled glass is beautiful and the wonderful light flooding into the room highlights it but also shows that it could do with a cleaning. None of this detracted from an overall wonderful experience.

We had breakfast and a dinner at the Inn and the food and service was excellent.

We enjoyed strolling around Picton. It has a Niagara on the Lake feel without the commercialism.

This is a great place to come if you want to just kick back and relax. We hope to come back again to do some bike riding in the area.

We would definitely not hesitate in staying at the Claramount again. I would ,however, stay in a different room; not because I didn't love Room #1 but because I'd just like to experience another part of the Inn - maybe an upper room with a water view! I would have loved to seen this place when it was a private home.

Room Tip: the 2 rooms on the 2nd floor are ideal for people travelling together needing 2 rooms as there is a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We're so glad you found your stay with us pleasant and relaxing. We also hope you can visit us again and experience different rooms. They all have their individual charms.

The home does have quite a bit of history to it. You might be interested to know that when we renovated the inn, we were able to find the original architectural plans and the inn was restored as closely to the architects vision as possible. We even completed a section of the house that had been included in the original drawings and never built. The result is a house that has a true feeling of turn of the (20th) century elegance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Claramount Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a peaceful 2 night stay with the good folks from the Claramount. Our rooms were large and spacious. We had to stay in 2 different rooms because of booking issues. Not an issue for us as we got to see different sides of the hotel. This majestic older hotel is full of charm and grandeur. It is within walking distance of the downtown area. Our deal with the Inn also included breakfast, evening supper and tastings at the local winery's. All the meals were very high end - very stunning visual presentations and great taste. Service was also very friendly and courteous. The reception staff was also very helpful and friendly. We look forward to a return visit especially since we missed out on a round of golf!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy a peaceful stay and that their rooms and dining are to their satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a nice stay at the Claramount Inn and Spa. Pros: food at Clara's for both breakfast and dinner was delicious. Location was convenient and picturesque. Service was very good. Our room (5) was large and lovely. Cons: broken curtain rod in room, falling off the wall. Towel bar fell off wall during stay. Cleaning products and pile of bathrobes inadvertently left on our table by cleaning staff, no chairs on balcony. As you can see the cons are quite minor. We had a discount offer for our stay so we really didn't care about those small details, however if we had paid full price, which is a substantial sum, these things would have bothered us, that's why I mention them. All in all we had a great stay and would consider returning when in the area again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal with us, and we do apologize for the minor problems you experienced in with your room. We will look at procedures to understand how they happened. We hope that during your next stay with us the room will be 100% to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Once again we dined at the Claramount and once again we were not disappointed. this time the menu was inclined toward seafood, which was fine by us. we started with the smoked salmon appetizer, which was a slab of salmon that had been locally smoked. nicely paired with a local Huff Estates chardonnay. I would have chosen a different type of cracker to serve with it, but that is a very minor quibble. the main was the walleye, simply breaded and panfried, with vegetables and rice and a very good light sauce. Dessert was cheesecake; chocolate for me and turtle (like the confection) for my companion.

A very good meal put together by chef Lyndon Johnson and as suggested by Ricky, our attentive and professional waiter.

Alas, this visit did not include local morels, which we lucked in to last year. it may be too early in the season.

The Claramount dining room has always left us satiated and satisfied.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pjt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I'm sure chef Lyndon will be pleased to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us. You're keen to notice that we do adapt our menu to the high quality ingredients that are locally available to make sure that our guests enjoy the freshest food possible. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

exterior and interior of building both offer flash to the eye. my wife and I along with another couple were there for a few days of well deserved and needed relaxation. We drove up to a large beautiful old house whose grounds and location were very pleasing to the eye and allowed for preconcieved notions.
Our friends had just returned from a trip to england, scotland and geneva, from the pictures we had seen of the claramount we were both expecting a " 5 STAR " stay instead it turned out to be a )*&^)&^^)@^^$^(^ stay.
as they say " buyer be ware !!! " with this place this is definately the rule

Room Tip: This is a }}}}}}}}}} ONE STAR {{{{{{{{{{ FIVE STAR WANT-TO-BE do not allow yo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ntlineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We take customer feedback very seriously. Your comments, however, are not at all helpful in correcting what you feel went wrong. Giving concrete examples of the ways in which we could improve would be more valuable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We know this area well as we have cycled almost every road over the years. There are so many wonderful places to stay in P.E.C. but the Claramount Inn tops all. The building is beautiful, in excellent repair with lovely furniture and decor. The dining room was so good and I had a lovely day at the Spa. The staff was accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher floors are so spacious [rm.6] but all rooms that I saw had something wonderful about them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the beautiful Claramount Inn. We have passed the Inn often and were pleased to finally have a chance to stay. Having read some of the negative reviews I wasn't sure what we would find. Well, all I can say is that we hope to make this a yearly visit. The Inn is beautiful and considering it's age it is in remarkable condition. Yes, there is some peeling paint but unless you have a fulltime painter on staff it is to be expected in a home of this age. I only make reference to this because some people have commented about the peeling paint.

We stayed in room 7 and 2 as they didn't have one room available for 2 nights. Room 7 is very roomy with a nautical theme and beautiful water views. Room 2 is gorgeous with fine antiques and beautiful upholstered furniture. The innkeepers have spared no expense on the draperies and bedding and it was a treat to stay in such a beautiful room.

Our stay included dinner. The dining room is very English in feel and the service was wonderful. Again, the attention to details is something you don't often find today. Linen tablecloths and napkins. Tea, coffee, cream etc. were all served using beautiful silver hotel ware. Something you don't often see these days. The meal was delicious as was the breakfast that was also included. The staff are very pleasant and accommodating. It must be beautiful to be able to sit outside overlooking the water in the warmer weather.

We didn't have a chance to use the hot tub or pool but both looked very inviting. Some have commented that the pool is run down. Yes, some of the concrete is cracking but this is to be expected with concrete and is not something that can easily be fixed. It's just one of those things but the pool was clean and well maintained. When we were leaving early morning there were several people out and about sweeping, emptying the hot tub and refilling and maintaining the property.

If I were to find any criticism it would be that yes, the front doors should be painted and wiped of fingerprints as it is your first impression of the Inn. There were a few very minor housekeeping issues. Drips on the walls around the sink and some gunk that should be cleaned after each stay. I only say this because I wanted this to be an honest review based on some of the other negative comments.

Brenda is also very helpful and went out of her way to accommodate us.

It's not very often one has an opportunity to stay in such a beautiful historic home.

We loved the Claramount and look forward to our future stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return. Perhaps next time you'll get to try the pool and the hot tub. I'll pass on your kind words to Brenda as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
144 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edwardian House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
8.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: £129 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing