We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be great, needs some investment and better management.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #19 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“could be great, needs some investment and better management.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here over the July long weekend, the only option offered was a 3 night package with dinner and spa package. We booked early so when we checked in expected a refresher of what was included, didn't happen. When arriving in the room and using the toilet we noticed it had not been cleaned appropriately...we left for the day and it was taken care of immediately. The room was massive, had a lovely view and had a great bed, on the downside it was an extremely hot weekend so the air conditioning unit was running constantly and was quite loud, at least it did keep the room cool. One evening we asked if there was a public area to enjoy a glass of wine, we were told we could order one on the deck of the restaurant and if we really pressed we could bring our own, but that was the only option, on the third day I finally found my way down to the water where there are lovely chairs and a pick nik table, after asking if it was part of the property I was told it was, I can't believe they don't point this out to guests as it really isn't that obvious as there is a marina. If they renovate or have a special, I would go back, otherwise we will try something different the next time. Staff in the restaurant are great...they need more people like the guys in there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SlipperyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and your dining experience at the Claramount. As for the consumption of wine on the property, there seems to have been some confusion among our staff about the areas where alcohol can and can't be served. For obvious reasons, the pool and hot tub areas are off limits, but the grounds (including the picnic area down to the marina are fair game).

You are also right to suggest we do a better job of informing guests about the picnic area down by the bay. We've added a description and photo of the area to our website.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    97
    45
    34
    14
See reviews for
35
196
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the inn and spa for two nights in May. As one of the previous reviews stated “our first (and now only) experience with this inn was a negative one and now I have no desire to ever come back”.

The food, breakfast and dinner, were very good however the “service” we received by Julie, Spa Director was less than desired.

Picton is a beautiful town with lots to see but next time we intend spending our hard earned cash at another establishment in the area.

I would also like to mention that in reading other reviews of the Claramount Inn & Spa the owners appear to enjoy and appreciate any positive feedback however are not very gracious of anything else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loy_kls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We've very sorry to hear that the level of service you received in our spa fell short of your expectations. We value feedback from our customers, so thank you for your frank assessment. However, without a specific understanding of the way your experience fell short, it's not possible for us to improve. Please feel free to e-mail us specifics about the way the service fell short, then we can take steps to correct it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a great night at the claramount. We were in room#1 which was beautiful and very spacious as was the lovely en suite. We were luckly to have a beautiful night and sat ouside on the veranda to watch the sunset. Breakfast was absoutely delicious and great service. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling in PEC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayakkouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that if you're in the area, you'd consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Claramount for three nights, with another couple with whom we were traveling. There is something to be said for staying in an historic house. The house and grounds are beautiful. Our rooms were spacious, and the beds are comfortable. We reserved Rooms 3 & 4 on the second floor. Both rooms have their own sitting area, but the second floor of the main inn also includes a nice sitting area in the middle of the house, between the two rooms. This is an ideal location for two couples traveling together. Aside from the occasional couple traversing the stairs to get to their third floor room, we had the space entirely to ourselves. Both rooms also included a small balcony - two chairs, a small round table, and not much space to move about, but a private balcony nonetheless. Our bathroom was very large, and we had everything we needed. We did not avail ourselves of the spa, hot tub, or pool during our stay. Photos on the inn's web site accurately portray what you can expect. Our quibbles with this inn are really minor. The two robes that were placed on our bed for our use (and that went unused during our stay) were seriously frayed. We loved that the breakfast (included with the price of the room) was a sit-down, order-off-the-menu type of breakfast, and not a buffet that might be typical of other places. We worked our way around the menu during our stay, ordering everything except for the granola. All of the breakfast entrees were great. Service was generally very good, although there were a few times that the coffee drinkers in our group were searching for someone to give them a refill. I, personally, would have appreciated a fruit course to start. Fruit seems to be absent from the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the meals you had in our dining room. We'll pass on your request for a fruit plate for breakfast to Lyndon, our chef. We hope to see you again. Perhaps you might get an opportunity to discover the charm of our spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Claramount! The Inn and grounds are breathtakingly beautiful and did not disappoint. They have done a wonderful job in changing this home into an Inn while maintaining it's original grace. We stayed in room 1. It is well appointed and quite large. You can hear footsteps above but we did not find it intrusive; it just added to the character of the Inn. There is a lovely patio outside the side door and it is cordoned off so you don't have other guests passing through.Another nice feature of this room is that you can go out the side door of the room to access the pool and hot tub. The bed was a little uncomfortable; I think the additional pad over the mattress could use a remake. The room could have also used a couple of coasters; we did not want to put drinks down on the bedside furniture. The bevelled glass is beautiful and the wonderful light flooding into the room highlights it but also shows that it could do with a cleaning. None of this detracted from an overall wonderful experience.

We had breakfast and a dinner at the Inn and the food and service was excellent.

We enjoyed strolling around Picton. It has a Niagara on the Lake feel without the commercialism.

This is a great place to come if you want to just kick back and relax. We hope to come back again to do some bike riding in the area.

We would definitely not hesitate in staying at the Claramount again. I would ,however, stay in a different room; not because I didn't love Room #1 but because I'd just like to experience another part of the Inn - maybe an upper room with a water view! I would have loved to seen this place when it was a private home.

Room Tip: the 2 rooms on the 2nd floor are ideal for people travelling together needing 2 rooms as there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We're so glad you found your stay with us pleasant and relaxing. We also hope you can visit us again and experience different rooms. They all have their individual charms.

The home does have quite a bit of history to it. You might be interested to know that when we renovated the inn, we were able to find the original architectural plans and the inn was restored as closely to the architects vision as possible. We even completed a section of the house that had been included in the original drawings and never built. The result is a house that has a true feeling of turn of the (20th) century elegance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martintown
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a peaceful 2 night stay with the good folks from the Claramount. Our rooms were large and spacious. We had to stay in 2 different rooms because of booking issues. Not an issue for us as we got to see different sides of the hotel. This majestic older hotel is full of charm and grandeur. It is within walking distance of the downtown area. Our deal with the Inn also included breakfast, evening supper and tastings at the local winery's. All the meals were very high end - very stunning visual presentations and great taste. Service was also very friendly and courteous. The reception staff was also very helpful and friendly. We look forward to a return visit especially since we missed out on a round of golf!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy a peaceful stay and that their rooms and dining are to their satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the Claramount Inn and Spa. Pros: food at Clara's for both breakfast and dinner was delicious. Location was convenient and picturesque. Service was very good. Our room (5) was large and lovely. Cons: broken curtain rod in room, falling off the wall. Towel bar fell off wall during stay. Cleaning products and pile of bathrobes inadvertently left on our table by cleaning staff, no chairs on balcony. As you can see the cons are quite minor. We had a discount offer for our stay so we really didn't care about those small details, however if we had paid full price, which is a substantial sum, these things would have bothered us, that's why I mention them. All in all we had a great stay and would consider returning when in the area again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal with us, and we do apologize for the minor problems you experienced in with your room. We will look at procedures to understand how they happened. We hope that during your next stay with us the room will be 100% to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.7 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
458 reviews
11.0 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Property: Claramount Inn & Spa
Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing