We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn Ever”
Review of The Queen's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queen's Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Inn was so very clean and smelled so nice. Very private. Tons of towels. We were celebrating a special family event and they made it special for us. There was eight of us and we were treated great. Made our celebration even nicer! Would go back again and again. Decorated very nicely lots of very clean fresh towels! Thanks Queens Inn!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferguson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

A very convenient location directly on the Main Street. If you are a light sleeper, there is some street noise, and the walls are thin. Earplugs are provided however, and we used them. On night #1 the unoccupied room beside ours had left the buzzer set on the alarm clock to go off at midnight. Not having desk staff at that hour, we were helpless, and no it didn't shut off after a few minutes. After about 15 minutes, we remembered that earplugs were within reach. A trip to the office the next morning was met with apologies, and when we arrived back that evening a refund for one day was slipped under our door. Many Thanks to Debbie for this generosity, and also enjoyed chatting with the kind lady at the desk who steered us so well with her Restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Stairs may impede some. Street noise was minimal, its a small town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The room was extremely clean and had good air conditioning. Plenty of towels and toiletries. We never saw hotel staff. Picked up our keys and were on our own. Room had helpful magazines, maps and pamphlets. Excellent location. Was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucinator_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Have stayed at this Inn several times while fishing and cannot say enough good things about it! Excellent location for launching the boat in Picton Harbour, and for shops & restaurants.

The rooms are clean, pleasant and always inviting with very comfortable beds & bedding.

Will always choose this Inn when in the Picton area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We had to travel to Picton for a relatives birthday. I had been going there for over 40 years and was well aware there were no nice hotels in the Picton area at a reasonable price. I was checking out the internet when I saw the Queen's Inn and took a chance and booked it for 2 nights. There is no reception we had to pick up the keys in a lock box in back of the hotel. I was great, very nice room, quite clean and quiet. There are 8 rooms in total. There are no usual room service type attractions but if you want a great room at a good value don't look at any further - stay at the Queen's Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Went to Picton for a wedding on September 25 through 27th 2009.
Our hosts gave a list of places with pros and cons and we chose the Queens for it's no frills simplicity.

You go to the business next door to register and pick up your room key and you won't see the staff until you check out.

It's up to the traveler to lear about where they are going and what the rules of the game are so for those prone to snivelling or who require mollycoddling do us all a favour and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OMMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I stayed here with my mother on a road trip around Prince Edward County this summer. This hotel was perfect for us - small, clean and simple. The location couldn't have been better in downtown Picton - there is a Tim Horton's down the street, as well as two large grocery stores and several restaurants in the blocks around. Though the hotel is located in a replica of a historic building, it has been recently renovated and gives the impression of a brand new building inside. Check-in is at the home renovation store beside the hotel (call ahead if you're arriving late in the day - as it may be out side their business hours). When we arrived, staff were very friendly - we just picked up our keys, confirmed our bill... and went to our room. Parking is free and in a lot beside the hotel - I believe the lot is shared with the Reno store.

We were in room 3 - up a single flight of stairs (don't stay here if you can't climb stairs - there are only a few, but you have to climb them). The room was small and simple, but very comfortable. Again, it looked recently renovated and the place was spotless (couldn't find a single mark on anything!). The room had a shower only, which had plenty of water pressure - a good thing! The room had a single window that overlooked the parking lot and toward Main St. Unlike some other reviewers, we found it very quiet at night. There was no internet (that I was aware of), but they provide plenty of tourist info, which is a good thing, because there's so much to do in the county!

Some local recommendations:
-Buddha dog - 172 Picton Main St. is a must stop at if you've never tried them. Voted best hot dogs in Canada by Reader's Digest
- Schooner's fish & Chips - 72 Picton Main St. - some of the best fish& chips I've had!
- Sugarbush and Lacey Estates wineries - both small wineries that use only the grapes grown in their backyards! Great local wines!
-Sandbanks National Park - best beach in Ontario (IMO)!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#2 of 8 in Belleville
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
7.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Inn

Address: 145 Main Street, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: £103 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen`s Hotel Picton
The Queens Hotel
The Queen's Inn Picton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing