We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are many better options in Picton”

Gus's Family Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are many better options in Picton”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I went here because they were one of the few places that were still open late one Wednesday evening in August. The decor is very tacky and is full of kitsch that you would expect to see in a thrift store or your eccentric second cousin's dining room out in the sticks. A sign that says "Tonight's menu: Take it or leave it" and another reading "Eat it or starve". I find this kind of thing very off-putting in a restaurant of all places. They also have paper notices taped to the wall asking you to take your bill and pay at the counter and not leave cash on the table for the waitress. These same notices also tell you to go see Gus or Sylvia if you're not happy about something. I guess they don't trust their staff?

I asked for Italian dressing for my salad and the waitress brought a bottle of Kraft Italian dressing to the table. Apparently this place can't even be bothered to disguise the fact that they're just using cheap old Kraft dressing for the salads. I thought it was pretty obvious that the salad was just from a salad mix in a bag like you get from the produce section.

Picton is in the heart of wine country and the wine they serve is bottom-the-barrel "l'Ambiance" (similar in price and quality to D'omaine D'or, Hochtaler or Baby Duck) Soft drinks are over $2 for a CAN. Why doesn't have this place have a soda fountain or a bar gun which would allow them to give free refills like any other diner on a town's main street?

We were seated directly across from the kitchen window and got to hear one particularly loud cook bark orders in a rude and condescending matter to other staff, not exactly what you want to hear in a restaurant.

The food is nothing to write home about by any stretch of the imagination and the place wouldn't get any review from me were it not for the issues which made this dining experience a dreadful one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve8222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    29
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We showed up. Had to seat ourselves at a dirty table that took them almost 10 min to even clear off! The service was horrible and the silverware was dirty! We couldn't even get a waitresses attention long enought to tell them about it, so we went and got ourselves new ones! The eggs were not cooked to what we had ordered and the home fries weren't cooked long enough! We will never be coming back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantellebrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Creek, On
Level Contributor
162 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We went to Gus for breakfast after mass on a Sunday - the place was packed. It took quite a long time to get our food but it sure was worth the wait. I have never tasted homefries like that before - not deep fried but cooked in a pan. Definitely want to go there again and try more stuff off the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMFMooseCreek_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This restaurant is really the best in town, their breakfast is excellent and a great way to start your day. The service is out of this world and the place is so clean. If your looking for a place for breakfast Gus's Family Restaurant is a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DragonLily76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great meal for great price”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were visiting the area as tourist and decided to go to Gus's for lunch. The decor looked little kitschy and outdated, but we like Greek food, so took a chance. We had bean soup, souvlaki, veggie pita and rice pudding. It was done very tasty and without much waiting. The price was great . Apparently they have a meal deal every day - 3 course meal for set price. The stuff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gus's Family Restaurant also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Gus's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing