We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited the lake on the Mountain and as it was lunch time, we stopped and had lunch. What a wonderful experience! The house wine was excellent, the food fabulous and the service was great. We sat outside but inside looked great as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    105
    48
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Food is just ok, it is a lovely spot so worth a stop for a drink but that's about it..we have been a few times with family and the food was disappointing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You may get food another guest has refused!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had the same type of experience as countyfolk – a problem with the restaurant and owners who were very unapologetic (in fact the problems were all in our minds!). I was staying at one of the cottages with 3 friends – and we were returning customers who were planning on booking again for the same weekend next year. Not now. Approx. 2 weeks ago one we made the reservation at the restaurant. We did ask for outdoors IF the weather was nice. We arrived on a cool evening and were surprised to find that we were seated outdoors. The hostess made a rude comment to us “We think this is nice”. We accepted the outdoor table and the wind died down a bit so it was okay. We arrived at 7:05 and ordered water and a bottle of wine. It took quite a bit of time for this to come. The waitress did apologize for the wait as she had to clean the wine glasses – they were out of glasses. That was fine with us and our orders were taken when the wine arrived. We then waited again for the appetizers, which 3 of us had ordered. They were good but I have had better mussels. Then we waited and waited for our main courses. Most of the orders were not complicated – two of us ordered the Asian noodle salad (a cold dish), one person ordered spring rolls and the person who did not have appetizers ordered short ribs. Before our meal came they moved all the patio guests to the dining room as it was quite cool by that time. We went into the dining room but decided we were going to ask for our bill and leave. Right then our food came. It was 8:55 = almost 2 hours from when we arrived and one of our party had nothing to eat yet. We told the hostess that we were not hungry any longer, did not want to eat at 9 pm but we would pay for our wine and appetizers. She told us that was unacceptable and we would be charged for the main courses, although at a discount. We reiterated our position and we were told the same thing again. The hostess did make some rude comments to us during this time. When we pointed out that we were returning customers, she asked if we remembered her from last year – we had. Then she made a comment about her being ‘family’ – like it was a threat that we weren’t going to ‘win this fight’ because her family owned the place. We then said that we were going back to our cottage and would deal with this in the morning.
When we arrived in the morning the owner ushered us into the dining room and said that he’d heard we’d “caused a scene” the night before. We countered that we had, in fact, left so we would not be causing a scene. We then gave our side of the story, telling him that we did offer to pay for the appetizers and wine that we had consumed. The owner then told us that we had been served that food within an hour as their computer tracks all of the orders. We asked what time the computer said we were served and the response was that he couldn’t tell us because he hadn’t written it down. We called him on what he said and he couldn’t back up what he said with facts. We also pointed out that the table beside us ordered at the same time and had finished eating and left before we were even moved inside. The owner made comments like “if you want fast food, you should go to McDonald’s” and “What was your rush”. He then said we had to pay the bill and gave us a bill – with the appetizers and wine only on it. We once again (the third time in the conversation) pointed out that we offered to pay that bill the previous evening but were told that we were going to be charged for the main course. The owner then came up with this story that they were now willing to change the bill because they were able to give our food to other customers so it wouldn’t go to waste. Now, I think that may be against food safety rules. For all they knew, when the waitress and the hostess were not at the table, I may have sneezed all over that food (it didn’t happen but it could have). And they are now telling us that they served it to other customers! Three of us left after paying the bill but one of my friends made a stop at the restroom. When she came out she said the owner and the hostess (who we think was the owner’s daughter) was laughing about the entire situation. I urge others not to eat there as your food may have come from another customer who refused it – and maybe that customer sneezed all over it. What ever happened to the old business adage that “the customer is always right”. At this restaurant the customer is never right and they will rudely let you know it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank travellover084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No Attempt to Resolve Problem with Meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Two of our group ordered the wild boar special and were unable to eat most of the meat as there was disproportionately more fat and gristle than meat on three slices of the meat. Each of our specials had five slices of wild boar meat. One piece was all fat and gristle and absolutely unpalatable. Neither of us touched it. The other two pieces of meat were at least 50% fat and gristle and we spent a lot of effort cutting off the fat and gristle. Of the remaining two slices we only had to cut off the fat around the edge and we were able to eat it. It was frustrating to have to spend so much effort slicing around fat and gristle to find some small bits of meat to eat! We informed our server who empathized with us and went back to the kitchen to tell them how disappointed we were with the special. She returned and repeated the story from the kitchen "that is the way boar is". This is not good customer service. The manager should have come to our table and attempted to resolve the issue. We were not expecting a free meal but perhaps a complimentary dessert or a small reduction in our bill since we couldn't eat a large portion of our meat. The couple sitting beside us both ordered the special and they had the exact same experience with a huge pile of fat left on their plates that went back to the kitchen. Obviously this was not a random mistake but all diners were being served very fatty portions. People are generally health conscious and do not eat the fat and gristle on meat and it should have been trimmed. I resented paying $29 for a meal when I left hungry! I live in the area and will definitely not be returning to Lake on the Mountain for dinner. The pretty setting doesn't compensate for the arrogance of the kitchen and unwillingness to satisfy the customer. Spend your hard earned dollars elsewhere and dine at Blumen, Portobello or Merrill Inn where the food is excellent and customer service is exceptional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank countyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the Best Lunches I've ever had!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We decided to do a spontaneous road trip and wanted to explore Lake on the Mountain. We explored the lake then decided to have lunch. The service, food, beer (locally done in the brewery) and the house red wine was incredible. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysdreamin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing