We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Portabella

Portabella
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: portabella is a CASUAL restaurant in Picton. portabella offers everything from burgers to pickerel and pasta, portabella is not a fine dining restaurant but somewhere to get a good lunch or dinner at a reasonable price.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Portabella's last week. Spur of the moment decision as we had just docked our boat and were too tired to cook. We had very attentive service. I had the pickerel which was excellent. My husband really enjoyed the pecan chicken. Add a bottle of wine from the Sandbanks region and it was a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    129
    31
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Live in Belleville but have not been to Picton for a meal. Amazing meal !! Atmosphere was very comfortable ! Margaret our server was a gem ! Pasta with an amazing amount of shrimp. A great dining experience !! Compliments to this great restaurant !! Will be back in a heart beat !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Great Gem in Picton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our usual foodie we like to hit is Blumen,

After asking our hosts at the BnB we stayed at (Avanti BnB), it was recommended we give this one a try.

Reservations we made and off we went.

This little restaurant is really a gem. It's cozy and the staff are like family. You are very well received, great recommendations made while browsing the wine list or the food menu.

Three of us selected the Portabella pasta dish which was one of the best pasta dishes I've had. The rose sauce was great, and the foodstayed hot throughout the meal. the last person in our party of four took the burger (served with extra think bacon). He really enjoyed his burger as well.

Deserts were fresh and tasty.

Prices are really reasonable

This is another great place to eat and enjoy the county.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavictl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at Portabella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Several lady friends and I regularly lunch at Portabella and we are never disappointed! The food is always excellent and the service is attentive and knowledgeable without being intrusive. We have a B&B at Lake on the Mountain (Ard Macha B&B) and never hesitate to recommend Portabella to our guests. They too have never been disappointed and return with rave reviews of the meals and service they have received.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect end to a great day !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a game of golf, where better to go than to Portabella. Another fantastic meal. We had the cranberry goat cheese salad and shrimp stir fry. Presentation was appealing and both were delicious. In most restaurants you have to look for the shrimp, but not at Portabella. Lots of shrimp and a light sauce with a touch of heat. The perfect combination of flavours. The service is great and the owners take time to visit your table and ensure you are enjoying your meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing