We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Waring House Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #16 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Room was adequate, nothing special. Service at restaurant was poor..pub was better. Not great value for the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
We're sorry to hear that you didn't find your experience with us as fun and relaxing as what we try to provide for our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    99
    49
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Prefer the pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

More intimate and live music on a Sunday evening without the loud crowd. Food was yummy and would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks so much for your recommendation. We're glad to hear you enjoy your experience at The Barley Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, service and evening out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I visited the Restaurant on July 14th with family. We all had different starters and mains and were pleased with everything. The fish and the Lamb was excellent. The Peanut Butter and banana dessert was super. I must also say that the server worked very hard to make it a great evening. His name was Miles. You will enjoy eating at the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I'll pass on your compliment to Miles. I'm sure he'll be pleased. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary gift”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went to the Waring House Barley Pub last Sunday evening. We have been to this establishment a few times in the past and we were happy with both the food and service. Well not this time. The food was not good, example I ordered lamb and I'm not sure what was served to me as it did not taste or resemble lamb in any way, my potatoes were only slightly warm. The other 4 people who were with me were not impressed one bit. They had heard through the grape vine that the food was not as good as it had been in the past. The sad part was this was a 50th wedding anniversary gift to our friends so it was very disappointing to say the least

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knorval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We're so sorry to hear that your dinner was not to your liking, especially when it was for such a special occasion. We can assure you that our lamb is, in fact, lamb. If you'd like to speak about the specifics of your meal with our innkeeper, Wolfgang, he would be pleased to discuss it further. He can be reached through our front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, country charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My Mom, sister, and I stopped here twice while staying nearby. We enjoyed the food, service, and live music.
The prices are also reasonable.
They didn't take reservations are were quite busy both nights.
Try the Wapoose County Cider on tap.

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for dining with us and for sharing your experience. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing